We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions not great but......”
Review of Ohtels Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohtels Belvedere
Ranked #10 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed September 21, 2011

loved it loved it loved it!!!!!!
great hotel for families and groups. happy atmosphere, good sunspot and nice staff.
good food, pancakes for breakfast, lovely!!
however we did manage to break a few things whilst staying here, eg the door and shower curtain rail. the good thing is we was not charged for this the handy man just simply fixed them, nothing was a big deal for the staff. and the pool bar was reasonable priced.
this hotel is a good location and very clean i would recommend to all who are not moaners and fussy, WE ALL HAD A GREAT TIME, BEST 2 WEEKS OF MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paige H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Travelled to Salou for the second time in in 2 years, stayed at the Villa Romana last time which is a top hotel, budget was a bit tighter this time so shopped around and found the Belvedere which is literally across the road from Villa Romana.

On arrival at the hotel the reception was clean, modern and the staff were friendly. The room was basic, no fridge, beds a bid hard but clean (and continually cleaned throughout the 2 weeks to a good standard), a good shower and a tv, air con was excellent. We had a room on the first floor looking over the pool, relieved that it was not facing the busy road on the other side though I don't know if that would have been an issue.

We were half board so breakfast and dinner, my partner is vegetarian, there was plenty on offer, hot cooked food morning and evening, salad bar, breads, meats. I thought the food was very good, tended to have chicken or veal with pasta, veg and salad at dinnertime, omellette in the morning. Plenty of protein and nutrients on offer! My partner had a decent offering of pasta, pizza, salads, veg etc. however be careful that the pasta does not have labels of what they contain, she ate a bit of fish in the pasta, not a happy camper!

The guests were mostly spanish, families in the first week and then older holiday makers in the second, good to get away from the english screaming kids. Entertainment was nothing special, we did spend about half of our evenings at the hotel but otherwise down at the beachfront drinking cocktails and enjoying the evening heat.

Pool was not the biggest and no deep end but good for a swim to cool down as it was blistering hot some days. The beach isn't far off, a 10min walk to a golden but busy beach, spent a good few days lazing by the sea. There is a decent gym on the beachfront for those interested, not for cardio but good weight training facilites.

We took the train from Porta Ventura to Barcelona and Tarragona, both fantastic places to visit and barcelona being the furthest away was only 1hr 20mins on the train.

All in all, good hotel, a 3*, no more no less, Salou is brilliant for a beach holiday and location to Barcelona.

If you can afford it go to the Villa Romana but if your budget is a bit less the the Belvedere Hotel is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Just back today from a week at this hotel and NEVER again.We were placed in room 1659 on the 6th floor overlooking the front entrance.Across the road are two other hotels one to the right and the other to the left.At 11am the disco started until 1pm then again at 3pm until 6pm then at 8pm all hell was let loose.It was as if the DJ of both hotels were seeing who could play the loudest music and wew had it in stereo.Even with the double glazed door closed the bed was bouncing off the floor and this went on until just before midnight EVERY night.
The breakfast every morning was cold unless you joined a queue for a omlette or fried egg wwere only one chef was preparing these along with pancakes.Evening meals were warm but not hot even the soup.Everday it was vegetable or chicken soup.The only difference was that the vegetable soup occasionally had vegetables in instead of noodles or pasta.The carvery is hidden round the corner opposite the pizza counter dont think they wanted people to use that.
The best bit of the holiday was the weather.Would I go back yes definately but probably stay at Best Maritime in Cambrils.It is further away from Salou but the bus service is regular and stops right outside the hotel

Room Tip: Just dont use this hotel even thomsons are pulling out next year
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank spencersgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Me, my partner and 7 year old daughter stayed in this hotel from 10th - 17th August and loved every minute. Our room was cleaned every day and the standard of the hotel was wonderful.
After reading previous reviews we were worried mainly about the food, as we had decided to stay Half Board. We could not fault the food at all for the entire stay. There was always plenty of variety at breakfast and dinner; fresh fruit, salad, soups, bread rolls, pizzas, fish, a wide variety of meats, chips, potatoes..... everything you could think of. There was also a childrens buffet area which had various choices.

We could not fault the pool area at all, although if you want a sunbed near around the edge of the pool it is best to go down by 8.30am at the lates (this was not a problem for us as we were up for breakfast anyway). Everyday there was some sort of pool entertainment for adults and children provided by the friendly hotel team. Such as aqua aerobics and also inflatable slides, etc.
The hotel is in a perfect location with the beach being a 10 minute walk to the right of the hotel and Portaventura Theme Park a ten minute walk to the left of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and shops around the area of Salou.
All in all we had a wonderful week at Hotel Belvedere and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hayley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed here in april , the weather was nice, still nice for swimwear
This hotel is a 5 min walk up the road to portaventure which is a fantastic day out with the children.
The food in this hotel is the best i have had , with a choice of carvery , fresh cooked meats/fish , pasta with fabulous accompliments
The beach is beautiful with soft sand and clear waters
The hotel entertainment is poor but its sister hotel across the road is fabulous , if only we were informed they had some befor our last day
belevedere hotel caters for the spanish elderly , villa roma has the kids club , mini disco , &
evening entertainment

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimb083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

the best 3* Spanish Hotel i have ever stayed in. Myself and Husband stayed here 19th August 2011 for two weeks and were really pleased with the whole package. the hotel is really clean the room was great again asked for more pillows they were there in minutes. the reception staff were really helpful told us exactly were to get local buses from and even what numbers to get. the dinning room main man whom greeted you was lovely always smiling and friendly . Food was great can't see any thing wrong with it at all always masses off choice fresh omelettes at breakfast with choice of fillings made whilst you waited as well as continental, fresh fruit, cereals and hot food beans english sausage and spanish sausages boiled eggs scrambled eggs toast rolls. went half board and the evening meal was just the same always a roast joint either pork, beef or chicken, grilled pork chops and chicken fillet cooked whilst you waited , chice of rice, pasta or potatoes mashed, boiled or chip. along side stewed veal and pork massive salad bar and two different soups everynight. once a week they had an international buffet one week Spanish next week italian if your looking for burger and chips forget it go somewhere else this is a mostly Spanish guest hotel. there where over 250 sunbeds the only reason people got up early was because of the lack of parasols (16) but you could still get beds at 10 oclock.. entertainment staff ok would talk to you in English if you asked no problem really fun to be with. we went out most evening after dinner so didn't really see much of the evening entertainment. This is not an all inclusive hotel so yes you do have to pay for drinks with your evening meal Fact. no problem the pool can only be used during the hours of 10am and 7pm Fact the life guard is only on duty during those hours. and yes during the busiest time of the year you can only check in at 1pm most english flights get in around 10.30 so you have a couple of hours to wait to get to your room we where told by thompson when we booked no problem got changed left our luggage in the luggage room and sat by the pool no stress. would definately go back worth every penny .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jamgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

After reading all the bad reviews on here i was a bit worried about going to stay at this hotel, especially as we were taking my partners 11 and 9 yr old children (picky eaters), however was pleasantly suprised.
Hotel room - two double beds, clean and tidy. the room furnishing could do with updating however it was fine for us as its only a place to sleep. The room was quite cosy for 4 of us, but had plenty of storage.We did need to ask for extra pillows - you get the usual 1 small pillow.

Food -
We liked the food - we only stayed half board, but there was always something different on offer each day. Admittedly the majority of food choices stayed the same each night, but there was always fresh pizzas and different things being cooked by a chef.
The breakfast food was our favourite as there was so much to choose from, pancakes, omlettes and eggs being freshly cooked while you watched, the only downside according o our 9 year old was that he did not like the spanish version of coco pops!!
Wouldn't recommend paying for full board - half boad enough, we only stayed for a week, if we had stayed for 2 weeks would have got very bored of the food.
Pool area quite small, but clean and well cared for - plenty of sunloungers but you have to get down early if you want some.
Bar areas in side hotel were really nice and drink prices not too bad.

The only downside to our stay was one certain member of the reception staff. The rest of the were staff very nice and friendly, but this one man on reception (when approached about a problem we had with our return transfer to the airport) made it very clear that he wasn't at all interested in helping us and to be honest didn't seem to know what he was talking about, he didnt seem to understand why getting picked up for a 15.45pm flight at 7am (the airport was only 20 mins away from our hotel) would be a problem - basically he was very arrogant and rude and obviously couldnt care less.
Apart from this we had a great holiday -would recommend for families, maybe not for couples though - if it had just been me and my boyfriend - i would definetly pay extra for a 4 star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemmalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#23 of 93 in Salou
2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Villa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
0.8 mi away
Ohtels Playa de Oro
Ohtels Playa de Oro
#7 of 93 in Salou
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Belvedere

Address: C/ Terrer, 7 | Alcalde Pere Molas, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $46 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohtels Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Splitty, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ohtels Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Salou
Belvedere Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing