We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great price great place”
Review of Sol Costa Daurada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Costa Daurada
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We were here last year and are back. It appears that the hotel is just waking up from a winter break. But the staff are great and helpful and it is a good break. We are half board and arrived after the evening meal had finished (we knew this would the the case) reception imeadiately said you can have lunch one day to make up. Much better than the normal hard luck.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank richarddenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

519 - 525 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have stopped here for our 2nd time now in May 12. The hotel is in a great location just a few minutes walk into town to the beach and a short walk to the theme park, there is a free bus a few times a day but we were happy to walk. The food is not brilliant but then that could just be our taste, they do have some nice food like pasta and ice cream. The hotel managed to put us in the room we requested which was nice, a few floors above the restaurant with pool view. The Irish pub is great we spent a few nights in here they are very friendly.

Room Tip: best above restaurant as the other building is above the evening entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrsmclean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had a family holiday here back in Aug 12. The hotel is in a great location, a 10 minute walk to the theme park or a 10 minute walk to the town of Salou. The hotel is clean & the staff are all very helpful. There is an excellent range of foods each day and plenty of sun beds if you want to stay round the pool all day. There are plenty of day trips/excursions, for instance Barcelona is only about 90 minutes away by coach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeesterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for our 5th visit in October 2013. We have to say all the staff were very friendly and courteous and pleased to see you return.

The hotel is clean, tidy and the staff helpful. The location is good, just a short walk into the town or the hotel does run a free bus several times a day. Often it is nice to walk down to town knowing you can catch the bus back!!

The food is good with plenty of choice. The only thing we would say is that on occasions the food could be a little warmer.

We enjoyed the Kingdom of the Pint pub and many thanks to Tony & Sergio who are always smiling and attentive barmen.

We are looking forward to our next visit this year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stonehaven-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over halloween, hotel was clean and the staff friendly, rooms clean and tidy. bathroom decent size with shower and bath, hairdryer. Maid service every day. Our room overlooked the pool, had sun on the balcony. Food was very good, best choice we have had in any hotel, Plenty of meat, fish,salads, fruit, chef cooking meat and fish. entertainment every night, also a pub style bar, to watch sports etc. Happy hour too. would return to this hotel.
Ten minutes walk to theme park, and same to resort centre. Indoor pool and spa, handy in colder months.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mitchcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 for my sons 1st Birthday with our family of 8. Can't really fault the hotel, very clean, friendly staff, good location. Only a 10 minute walk to the beach an restaurants, then another 10 minute walk to the train station for Barcelona etc, and as the train station is directly opposite the main theme park ( port adventura ) definitely ideal place to stay in salou. We had the room on the first floor overlooking the pool, directly opposite the lifts, which was no bother at all. The parents had a room on the 3rd floor which was directly above the lounge/bar which did get a little noisy into the night, so try an steer clear of those rooms if possible if you like an early night or have small children.Only thing that was a little disappointing was the childrens entertainment didn't start till about 9pm and as my children are 3 and 1 they were in bed so didn't get to have a dance with the other children. The food was a little repetitive on the evening but hey isn't that at most hotels, they did have a good variety of foods out and was always quickly replenished before the trays got empty. Overall we had a superb holiday for which none of us was ready to come home... We would definitely stay at this hotel again if visiting salou.

Room Tip: Try and steer clear of the rooms directly above the main lounge/bar as the entertainment does go on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a short break at the end of October with my family. I have been here numerous times over the last few years, and it never fails to disappoint.....perhaps because I have realistic expectations of a 4 star hotel in a Spanish tourist resort?!

Hotel:
Is started to get abit dated now and could do with a freshen up, however it is incredibly clean. The location is excellent, far enough out of the centre of Salou to avoid the noise but still just a 10min walk to the beach or Portaventura and supermarkets down the road. I have never experienced anything other than incredibly polite staff who go out of their way to help. A good example? This time whilst away, I got a text telling me of a job vacancy I really needed to apply for however the only way I could hand the app in on time was by printing off the app and handwriting it. Except I had no way of printing it off, so I asked the reception ladies (Belen and the other lady with short blonde hair) who were more than happy to print it off for me, all 30 pages, for free. It didn't print right the first time so they continued trying all with no bother. I am extremely thankful to them! Hardly the rude staff that seem to keep getting mentioned. Again all the dining staff are very friendly, I saw a lot of rude guests around though so perhaps they treat people the way they are treated. The outdoor pool is very cold, it is getting on for winter and the weather averages about 18/20 degrees a day and the sun isn't strong anymore, it would be unrealistic to expect a warm outdoor pool at this time of year! However, move 10 metres inside and you will find a heated indoor pool.......

Rooms:
Again, getting abit dated now but still very clean. Spacious and functional, however small things starting to break, such as the odd light that doesn't work, a small crack in the mirror etc. All very useable and I personally don't spend my time inspecting the room, I'm there to sleep and eat only! No sign of bed bugs, lots of flies around the pool area and beach though.

Food:
Again, no complaints. Basic but more than edible. Lots of choice, especially for those of us from England. Breakfast includes omelettes, eggs, potatoes, bacon, toms, sausages, beans, meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, cereal, fruit. Evening meal lots of meat joints, casseroles, soup, pasta, rice, sauces, potatoes and chips, veg, salads, breads and salads and puddings. Plenty of choice, it's not Michelin star but again, you don't come somewhere like this and expect that.

I'd certainly recommend Portaventura, it is a fab day out and loads for people of all ages. Try and get a bogof promotion if you can, well worth the money then! The hotel provides a free bus service to and from the park and also the beach.

I never have a bad trip when coming here, hence why I keep going back! It is a good hotel to use as a base and is probably more of a 3/3.5 star hotel now it is 10 years old but if you go expecting what you have paid for, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pool rooms can be noisier in summer until about 11pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeakyOve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#13 of 93 in Salou
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.5 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#19 of 93 in Salou
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costa Daurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costa Daurada

Address: Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#4 Spa Hotel in Salou
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Family Hotel in Salou
#17 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $58 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costa Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costa Daurada. Is located in Salou, 12 minutes walk from the beach and just 700 m from the Port Aventura Theme Park. It features a spa and 2 outdoor swimming pools, surrounded by sun terraces. All of the spacious rooms have air conditioning and a balcony. They also have satellite TV, a safe and a private bathroom. Interconnecting rooms are available on request. Free WiFi is available throughout. The spa includes an indoor swimming pool and a range of massages are available. There is also a gym, sauna and hot tub. The buffet restaurant offers a selection of Mediterranean dishes. There is a snack bar close to the swimming pool, as well as an English pub. Apart from PortAventura, local attractions include Aquopolis water park, hiking and quad excursions. Reus Airport is less than 10 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Costa Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costa Daurada Salou
Hotel Sol Costa Daurada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing