We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for sleeping and warm shower”
Review of Sol Costa Daurada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Costa Daurada
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here. As a family of four we had a room with two double beds. Location for Port Aventura is very good. Ten minutes of walking or they have a free buss ride four times a day. The last buss leaves to the hotel after 17.00 so it was no good for us since we left the park around midnight. Taxis were very expensive. 12€ to hotel from the theme park.
You can hear all the noise from the corridor to the room. The a/c blows in a dirty bathroom-like smell. The place is also quite aged. The biggest minus was the lack of wifi. I booked this hotel Because they had breakfast and wifi included. The wifi didn't work at all during our stay. Tried with three different advices. Two phones and an ipad. First they said that there's too many people using it. Nonsense. Then they said that there was a big problem with their own computers also. Pfft. A guy in a bar was using wifi with his laptop and it worked well and fast. With phone or ipad the device did find the right network but nothing happened with it.
Breakfast was very good. Ate lunch buffet once, great also. Pool area was nice too.
Spanish people at the desk were great. Russian guys were rude.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeroOrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 2,104 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends for a stag weekend. the hotel was very clean and tidy and the rooms were of a good standard.
We did not experience any of the entertainment.
There is a pub attached to the main complex if you want to escape the noise from the main room.
Its quite a walk from the beach and its worth getting a cab.
The pools were really clean. Plenty of sunbeds. Staff were good.
We did not eat much of the food due to most of us sleeping during the day recovering from the night before "But" what we did have seemed to be of a limited range and fairly standard quality.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 10 nights at the beginning of June of this year.

Room;
Very clean and more modern than I expected. Lovely bathroom and well cleaned by the maid each day. Only slight complaint was that we did not get a double bed which we had requested upon booking, but we weren't fussed enough to complain as the two single beds were pushed right together. There was plenty of storage room for our clothes. If you prefer early nights I suggest getting a room that does not face the poolside as the entertainment at night is very loud and can go on past 11.30pm.

Location;
Great location, short 10 minute walk down two straight roads to Port Aventura theme park (definitely worth a visit) and only a 5 minute walk to the town centre through the back gate of the hotel. There is a local spar shop a few minutes down the road from the back gate which came in handy during our stay.

Food;
Not excellent if you are fussy, probably the downside to our stay at this hotel. Wouldn't particulary label the food served as 'british'. We ate out most evenings. €2.25 for a coke in the restaurant in the evening, service was okay, very friendly manager, some of the staff a little less.

Entertainment;
This was awful, they pester you whilst you are relaxing by the pool to take part in their games, slightly annoying but after saying no a few times they will leave you alone. In the evening we didn't find it great either, there was always a fair amount of people watching it but we preferred to go back up to our room. One night we heard what sounded like live music, somebody singing 'I will always love you' by Whitney Houston. I looked at my boyfriend and could not believe how excellent it sounded, we decided to go sit on our balcony to listen. Turns out it was a tape recording with people dancing on the stage, this sums up the entertainment.

All in all, for the price we paid the facilities were great, as well as being in a great location, we enjoyed our stay greatly and wanted to stay longer! The complaints we had were slight and nothing to get annoyed about.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22Chloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here with my family from the 13/6 - 24/6/13. From the 2nd day my 20 yr old son had a pair of shorts and an adidas top taken. Then within a few days they helped themselves to a fred perry top from the wardrobe. I went to reception twice about this and they could not had cared any less, she just shrugged her shoulders. My son bought 2 pairs of earrings (1 euro a pair), he put them in the drawer still in the bag and she even had the nerve to help herself to 1 pair. Alex the guy from reception came with a monitor and took a reading from my door lock, which he printed off and it showed that this maid had entered my room twice, hours apart on the days of the thefts. Speaks volumes. Manager wasnt available until I had returned home and i am still waiting for there e-mail. Disgusted,and disappointed. Dont go if you treasure your possessions

Room Tip: not pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directoracalidad, Gerente at Sol Costa Daurada, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear client,
Thank you very much for you comments.
We are really sorry for what happened during your stay. We infir you that all the corrective and necessary actions are done.
We will appreciate if you can write us to the follow email address to the manager and then you will get immediately a personal answer: reservas@solcostadaurada.com.
We hope to see you again in a near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel. It was just as good as the first time that we went. Lovely and clean, friendly, helpful staff especially Rosi in the restaurant and Tonin in the Kingdom of the Pint. This hotel is situated well for us.. Not too near the busy area but only a short walk from everything. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yellowdaffyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are lovely. The pool is lovely and the bars are very nice as well especially the Kingdom of the Pint bar. The bar staff are very nice and the majority of the people working at the reception desk were nice. Air conditioning is also very good. We often had to turn it off at night as we were too cold so couldn't fault that at all. The food is not good at all. Its a Mediterranean buffet and serves a lot of seafood. The variety of food was very poor and we felt they catered more for Spanish clients rather than Irish and English people. I think it would be difficult for parents to find food there kids would eat to be honest. We ended up just getting our breakfast and lunch there and going out for dinner. I would not recommend getting half or full board in this hotel. Furthermore, a lighter worth twenty euro which we had got engraved was taken out of our room by one of the maids among with various coins which would amount up to ten euro and when we notified staff about this they did not do anything about it. We filled up a complaints form and handed it back to them and they said they would get back to us. They never did so we went down the day were leaving to talk to the manager who never came out to us in the end but sent one of the receptionists out to deal with us which was very unprofessional. We were told they questioned the maid and she had denied it so the only comeback we had was to call the police they said and we weren't going to do that over thirty euro. Very unimpressed with how they dealt with this. There was no consequences for the maid in question and we know who she is as it was the same maid those days we noticed things had gone missing. We did not get any apology from management. They did not care. For this reason I would never go back there. If you decide to go there watch your money and jewelry etc. We had everything important in the safe so it was only a few minor things taken but its not the point. They should not have been taken in the first place. I do not think this hotel should have a four star rating. It is more like a three star hotel for sure.

Room Tip: If you don't want a noisy room ask for a room at the front of the hotel. The views aren't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank badplacetostay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
directoracalidad, Gerente at Sol Costa Daurada, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear client,

Thank you very much for your comments.

We are really sorry for what happened during your stay. We inform you that all the corrective and necessary actions are done and we will try that situations do not return to repeat themselves like wich you relate to us.

We hope to see you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel this month and we where pleasantly surprised. The hotel is spotless and the staff where nice, I can't fault them at all. The pool was kept clean and the place was well maintained.

The food isn't amazing, its the same as you get at most Spanish hotels, but it has does cater for Russians, Germans, British and Spanish visitors.

This isn't a hotel for couples though, the beds aren't very comfortable but at the price we paid we can't complain.

The worst thing about this hotel is the wifi (or lack of it), I couldn't get access to it with me or my partners phones, everytime I was at reception there was someone asking about the Internet. But there is free Wifi throughout Salou so a 5 minute walk to the beach or town centre will sort you out.

This hotel is in a good location if you plan to visit the theme park, it's better to walk than to get the train/bus thing.

Overall this hotel was good, it's definitely a family hotel because of the entertainment they get and the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaney1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel-Aparthotel Dorada Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ona Jardines Paraisol
Ona Jardines Paraisol
#43 of 93 in Salou
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costa Daurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costa Daurada

Address: Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salou
#5 Spa Hotel in Salou
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Family Hotel in Salou
#16 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $59 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costa Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costa Daurada. Is located in Salou, 12 minutes walk from the beach and just 700 m from the Port Aventura Theme Park. It features a spa and 2 outdoor swimming pools, surrounded by sun terraces. All of the spacious rooms have air conditioning and a balcony. They also have satellite TV, a safe and a private bathroom. Interconnecting rooms are available on request. Free WiFi is available throughout. The spa includes an indoor swimming pool and a range of massages are available. There is also a gym, sauna and hot tub. The buffet restaurant offers a selection of Mediterranean dishes. There is a snack bar close to the swimming pool, as well as an English pub. Apart from PortAventura, local attractions include Aquopolis water park, hiking and quad excursions. Reus Airport is less than 10 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Sol Costa Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costa Daurada Salou
Hotel Sol Costa Daurada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing