We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great October Break”
Review of Sol Costa Daurada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Costa Daurada
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came back to this hotel for our 4th visit and yet again had another great week. We arrived mid evening and had booked/requested a room on the first floor overlooking the pool, but unfortunately the receptionist informed us that our room was on the fifth floor overlooking the front of the hotel, how does that work? I explained it was our 4th visit and had recommended many people to this hotel, so had really hoped that our request would have been honoured. However, after a few moments waiting she informed us that she had a room on the first floor overlooking the pool, but unfortunately it was above the bar where the music goes on to midnight. We told her we didn't mind that as we were "midnight people", but she assured us once midnight came the music stopped. Because of her reassurance about the music, we agreed to take the room. Well, we were disappointed. When midnight came, the music stopped and we weren't inconvenienced by the music at all. The receptionist didn't have to tell us about the music, but she did and this is just one way of showing that the staff in this hotel really do care. We even made a point of seeing this receptionist and informing her that the music stopped exactly as she had said.

We stayed half board and we have to say the food is excellent. Breakfast consists of either hot breakfast with bacon, sausages, eggs etc. If you wanted there were cold breakfasts which consisted of ham, cheese, salad etc. There were cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, bread, crossants, cakes, biscuits etc, as well as fruit juices together with tea or coffee.

In the evening there was always a good selection of hot meats, vegetables, potatoes, chips etc. as well as soup to start with. There was a chef at one end of the restuarant cooking at least one meat and one fish every evening. Cold salads were also available with plenty of choice. Desserts consisted of either various cakes, tinned fruit (i.e.g peach halves etc), fresh fruit, yogurts, ice creams etc. I have to say the choice is good and well presented, but the only fault I could find some evenings is that the meals could be just slightly warmer. Don't get me wrong they weren't cold, but I would have appreciated them just a little hotter than they were, but it won't put us off returning again. If you left the restuarant feeling hungry then it's your fault as there is plenty of choice for everyone!.

With evening meal you don't get any drinks at all, but there is a drinks chart with all they have to offer. A small bottle of water will set you back 1.50 euros. We often had water and then went in the back afterwards to have coffee, which we have to say was very reasonably priced at 2.40 euros for two coffess.

They have a bar called "The KIngdom of the Pint" which really does make you feel at home. Tony and the other staff in there, can't do enough for you and Tony certainly goes that extra mile to make you feel really welcome. In this bar they also have Sky TV, so whilst there we were able to watch some of the programmes we would have seen at home, which for us was an added bonus. X factor, darts, football just to mention a few.

The rooms are a very good size and for those who say they are small, then we have to disagree. We stayed at a hotel in Barcelona a couple of years ago, where the room was at least 50% smaller than the ones here. The rooms are spotlessly clean and are cleaned everyday to a high standard.

There is a bus from the hotel which goes to the beach and to Port Aventura several times a day for those who don't wan to walk/can't walk and proves popular with guests. We often took the bus down and then walked back, as it's only a leisurely 15 - 20 min walk at the most.

If you want to visit nearby towns, you can catch the buses at stops right near the beach, so if you take the hotel bus to the beach you are nearly at the bus stops which is incredibly convenient.

This hotel has a very useful back entrance which makes the walk to the beach/shops really easy.

Having stayed at this hotel four times over three years, we have to say that it looks after it staff well, as most of the were there the every first time we came and are still here three years later. If you speak to the staff, they all seem happy working there and they often have a smile on their face and nothing is too much trouble for them, they are most courteous and polite and a real pleasure to speak with.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and are alreay looking forward to returning again.

A big thanks for all the staff who made our holiday so enjoyable. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlook the pool and the sun is there from early morning.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stonehaven-pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,056)
There are newer reviews for Sol Costa Daurada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were originally given a room on the second floor (254), which got the full sun all morning until just after lunch-time and, as the daytime temperatures were into the 80's Fahrenheit, the room became exceedingly hot and the air-con either wasn't capable or wasn't working properly so we suffered awfully hot nights with the resultant lack of good sleep. We managed to change rooms after a couple of days to 523 (looking towards the railway) and this was cooler plus it had a decent air-con unit. The food in the hotel is quite palatable - there was plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner and one could usually find something to suit one's tastes, although we did find that the vegetables tended to be rather over-cooked. Maid service in the rooms was very good with the usual daily changing of towels, etc. and cleaning of sink and bath. There is a courtesy bus to the theme park and to the beach area 4 times a day, but we walked down to the promenade area each day in about 15 to 20 minutes ( we are 74/73 years old). It helped to keep us active and burn off some calories.
We used Resorthoppa for the airport transfers and were warned that it may take up to 45 minutes each way. We were 50 minutes going to the hotel (last but one drop-off) after going all the way to Cambrils, and 1 hour 20 minutes going back to the airport. We were 1st pick-up and the coach must have called at about 20 hotels in and around Salou. Bearing in mind that the distance from Salou to Reus airport is about 8 miles that must take some beating - and the flight time to Luton was only 1 hour 35 minutes!

Room Tip: If you prefer a cooler room then try to get one overlooking the railway. There aren't enough tr...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddyboy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned home from a week family break here. It is a nice hotel, we found the rooms to be very basic and small for a 4 star hotel. However what space you do have is kept very clean, and beds are made and towels are changed daily.
All the staff are very friendly in particular Marguerita in the food hall who is lovely with the children, and helped ours with there Spanish words and pronuncation.
The Hotel is quiet noisy as it attracts families with children for the kids clubs, which I must add are excellent. The lady who runs them is brilliant, she has lots of super idea s to keep the children enterained.
Salou itself has a nice beach front. The park at Portaventura is worth a visit,it s expensive to get in, but we arrived at 10am when it opened and we left at about 7.30 so you get a full day out for your money, and there is plenty to do. Our children loved it.
The food in brief is plentiful, there is lots of choice, it's your typical buffet style dinner. lots of it, ok quality.
My tip, don t go here if you are expecting a quiet piece of the traditional Spain. Do go here if you re a family with children as the entertainment is good,they have both indoor and outdoor pools so you can swim whatever the weather. Oh but do try to grab a swim cap for your suitcase for use in the indoor pool as we were charged 3 euros for each cap And take mosquito spray and repellents,as I did not and I have about 20 bites on my legs which are very uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms away from the entertainment as these are of course quite noisy until about 1 am...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank r33ceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A nice hotel overall. We had a room overlooking the pool (512) that got the sun from lunchtime until 6pm . Everything spotless but my sister had room 516 two doors away from us and hers had a dreadful smell in the bathroom. The cleaner put extra bleach down the toilet and it was OK for a while,but reappeared by the next morning. She kept reporting it and although reception staff were very nice, they said Salou does have some issues with drainage. Luckily she came into our room. However had she been there on her own she would have insisted on a move. As she is disabled she couldn't risk being moved too far from us. Whilst there was plenty of choice food wise it was only ever lukewarm at best. I mostly stuck to salads, but they could do with a microwave. Even the plates were cold. Quite noisy at times as the Scottish children were on half term. This didn't bother us and they kept us entertained. Might be a problem for some though. As we have some walking difficulties we found it a bit far away from the beach and other bars keeping us a bit hotel bound. We used the free courtesy bus some days. It was our first time in Salou and we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely promenade and beach. Not saying we wouldn't go back but perhaps in a hotel nearer the front.

Room Tip: If you like the sun ask for a room in the block above the dining room. Ours was 512 . We had sun fro...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimoBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

When we arrived at our hotel around lunch time we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. They checked us in with no problems and told us meal times and times of a free courtesy bus that takes us to the beach and to Port Aventura - although neither is more than a 10-15 minute walk. Room was very clean and large enough. We had a double bed, a fold out double bed, a build in wardrobe, a dressing table and a mini fridge. The buffet meals were lovely with plenty choice - we only booked breakfast and dinner and we didn't need much in between. Entertainment at night was good. The night was a kids disco followed by entertainment suitable for both adults and children. When that finished at midnight there is another bar behind - The Kingdom of the Pint - which is open til 1am. All bar staff were friendly and did everything they could to accomodate our needs. Kingdom of the Pint also has a TV with UK Sky TV and the bar tender put the X Factor on for me and my friend on the sunday night.

Tips:

Kingdom of the Pint sells Bacardi breezers, smirnoff ice and Blue WKD which isnt available anywhere else in the hotel.
Hotel seemed to have excellent wheelchair facilities. We got friendly with a man in a wheelchair who had said the room he was in had a chair to get in and out of the bath, there are ramps that can get you anywhere in the hotel and the pool has a chair lift to get people in and out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for one week half board, 13-20 Oct, 30 yr old couple.

This is a very family friendly hotel, so expect LOTS of children.

The hotel is a short walk to the sea front and very close to Port Aventurer and the Train Station.

We had a road side room facing Port Aventurer where we were able to see the fireworks on our first Saturday night which were quite impressive.

The rooms themselves have no sound proofing what so ever.. if your neighbours were on their balcony you could hear them, door closed or not.
If they were watching TV or talking.. the same.
If they were being unwell in their bathroom....
Or even just walking down the corridors.
The quiet time for us we found was pretty much between about 1am and 7am.. and the hotel was very quiet so I think would be very noisy in high season.

The beds were rock hard. If you like a hard mattress this would suite you fine, but for us we found it very uncomfortable and ended up sleeping on our spare pillows length ways. I have come home with bruised hips.

Some of the entertainment was still running even though the end of the season but it was pretty dire, it was in multiple languages! The kids seemed to enjoy it though, we're not the types to stay in the hotel but as the entertainment never started til 10pm we always caught some of it as we didn't stay out too late.

As we were half board we had dinner and breakfast. Breakfast, there was a good choice, but the hot food was mainly cold, possibly due to being end of season and not so fast turn around.

Dinner on the other hand, we had a good choice at the beginning of the week but it got less and the food worse. The hot food again was only luke warm except for things like chips and everything was VERY salty. Things weren't labelled correctly or at all so you had to guess what you were having. One evening I ended up having chicken nuggets chips and beans as that was only thing I could find that was hot and not too salty.
The drinks list was very limited and very expensive, a coke was 2.50 and was a tiny bottle. We eventually twigged most people just ordered a litre bottle of water between them, so we followed suit.
The staff were mainly very friendly and liked to help you try out a bit of Spanish although were all English speaking.


A few tips/observations:

To avoid any pre-misconceptions.. Salou is practically Blackpool, but in Spain, with a few added nice sea front bars. Do not go here thinking you are going to experience some "typical" Spanish stuff.. You won't!

You'll never miss X Factor or Coronation street and these are actually selling points of some of the local bars!!!

In some of the shops .. haggle! Maybe it was because it was end of season, but they made up prices on the spot as they were different every time. We offered a lot less in one shop and it was accepted.

At this time of year practically everything in La Pineda (a short bus ride) was closed.

Cambrills (a short bus ride or long walk in the other direction) was quieter and had a nice harbour with sea front restaurants, but again a lot was closed.

Buses are aplenty if you want to go anywhere.. the prearranged excursions with "Bus Plana" are OK but check the local buses and trains as it may work out cheaper.
If you are going to Barcelona it has an underground system like London's and is just as confusing if you don't know what you are doing, but you can get practically anywhere on it for 2 Euros for a single trip. Just grab your self a map from one of the tourist booths and all the metro stations are marked on it.

In Barcelona be careful of the "cheap" meals offered on "La Rambla". We had a meal for 8.95 each which was 2 tapas each plus a full meal. They then charged us 6 Euro each for a coke! Not as cheap as it seems!

Room Tip: A room overlooking Port Aventurer so you can see the fireworks (and not hear entertainment noise)!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BexAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stated here for a week from the 8th hotel was spotless throughout rooms were very basic for a 4 star and have to say ive been on quite a few holidays to spain and salou and the room has to be the smallest ive been in and ive stayed in 2 and 3 star before had a room that overlooked the road at the front very quiet only had my room cleaned once as the time I did have it cleaned the maid broke an item and just left it on the side with no explanation no tea or coffee facility's in the room one good tip that I seen on this and I did would be a basic white kettle and a travel adaptor for around 6 pound and just make your own at the hotel prices by the time you've made 2 cups your already saving money the fridge in the rooms dead handy found the reception staff to be some of the rudest I've ever encounterd there was a man on reception that was plesent and polite but the rest were so rude staff in the dinner area were mixed some were lovely but there was 2 that were really rude one was a small cross eyed cook with a limp who was really rude and a waitress that I have to say as I didn't catch her name looked liked a which she had long dark hair and a pointed nose who stood and attempted to ignore me while speaking Spanish to a colleague the food was good I'm not fussy but has to be one of the better full bord hotels I've stayed in but at times it was odd like chips for breakfast and random chicken meals made with what I'm assuming was left overs found the drinks very over priced like 3 200ml coke were like €7.50 I would just order a bottle of water that was still quite dear at €2.50 the free bus was only 4 times a day and stared at a quarter to 10 but you had to book at reception for the first bus at 9.15 as a previous review mentioned the Europa park and I have to say I've stayed there and would recommend it one million times over the sol costa would not stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
1.7 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.2 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#15 of 93 in Salou
444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
0.3 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#7 of 93 in Salou
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costa Daurada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costa Daurada

Address: Avenida Paisos Catalans s/n, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Salou
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#15 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#15 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range: $59 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costa Daurada 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel has located in salou, with easy access to Port Aventura and the finest beaches on the Mediterranean Coast. The hotel has sunny outdoor swimming pools for adults and a separate children´s pool with free sun longer, towel service and a snack Bar. There is also a full, profesionally-run entertainment programme incluiding live music and shows. Mini club for children, games room, etc.Our four star hotel has 300 rooms with terrace, fully equipped bathroom, hairdryer, airconditioning, heating, desk, safe, satellite television.You can enjoy moments of rest and relaxation in our indoor swimming pool and spa centre with gym, jacuzzi, sauna Turkish Bath, Uva rays and massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sol Costa Daurada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costa Daurada Salou
Hotel Sol Costa Daurada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing