We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great position”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Ranked #38 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Hamilton,U.K
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great position”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and i had a lovely 4 night stay here begin of October.Found the hotel situated in a nice central area.Large room. Maid in everyday clean towels ect, Bar staff pleasant as the saying goes please and thank you is all thats needed. Food was ok always something we could choose drinks were ok too rose wine very nice.Would use hotel again short flight short transfer what more is needed for a short break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzieHamilton_U_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    287
    169
    105
    77
See reviews for
418
277
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here all inclusive for 9 nights. Our room was very spacious and clean. The balcony faced the pool, so it got the sun all day. The bathroom was lovely and spacious too. The fridge and air conditioning both worked great, although, the air conditioning stops automatically when you open the balcony door. We also made use of the safe deposit box.

The maids were in every day to make the bed and empty the bins. We got clean towels every day, and linen every second day.

The restaurant is very bright and spacious and the food was always good. It was a bit samey, but you expect that in these hotels. There are some lovely restaurants in the resort for a change. If you take a right out of the hotel, then take another right, you reach a Supermarket and some touristy shops. The Spaghetti House is across from the supermarket is lovely.

I was most worried about the reports of the pool area being really dirty, but it was never dirty during our stay. It was always really clean. There was a bit of litter about, but that was the fault of the guests who didn't tidy up after themselves. Most of the sun loungers were also fine. A couple were broken, but again from what we seen (literally), this was the fault of the guests!

The staff were all fantastic! We never once came across an face that was not smiling or a grumpy attitude. In fact, they were a delight to deal with and have a chat and a laugh with!

The evening entertainment was fantastic (most of the time)! The musical shows are very good and the people in them were good singers, great dancers and the men in particular are great at the comedy elements of the shows! The girls who did the daytime entertainment (and the children's mini disco) were also great. They were chatty, bubbly and funny.

The hotel staff and the entertainment staff really are a great asset to the Piramide!

After all the negative reviews on here, we were a bit worried about going on holiday here, but after our experience here, I have come yo the conclusion that some people just like to complain, can never be made happy, or just look for faults from the word go.

The only negative I have to mention doesn't have anything to do with the hotel... it is about the very blatant rudeness of the Russians. To guests and staff alike. One night, a young couple acutally pushed past an elderly couple to get out of the lift on the restaurant floor. Another man was shouting and acting aggressive to the barmaid. This same guy was also asking those who had all inclusive wrist bands to get him drinks from the bar so he didn't have to pay!!

All in all, we had a great holiday at the Med Playa Piramide. I hope we get the chance to go again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teenytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was so dreading going to this hotel after reading the reviews on here but there was so need not too. I can't fault any off the staff they can't do enough for you and never stop from the minute they get to work. The rooms was cleaned every day with clean bedding and clean towels.The food was ok always something to eat. Lots of shops as you pass to go the beach it takes around 5 mins to get there. And where do I start with the entertainment team they was amazing it's the best team I have ever seen while being abroad. The shows what was put on was really good and funny. Where do I start with daniella and vanda they are so good at there jobs and also good with the kids and adults we so enjoyed there company and would return to see them.my son loves them. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so good xxxx

Room Tip: We stayed on floor five and was good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We visited the Piramide together with my wife's mother. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel having read some scathing reviews before we arrived. Check in was quick and efficient (although we had to wait until 12:30 to get our room keys) as was check out. The rooms are large, airy and comfortable with a fridge and free safety deposit box. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily (except for Sunday) . There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Apparently a kettle in the room is a health & safety risk. All of the staff were helpful and friendly with nothing too much trouble. The first floor buffet style restaurant is a decent size with an outside dining area. Food is varied and well prepared. Although small the pool (and sunbathing area ) is clean and there is a lifeguard on duty throughout the day. There is a good standard of evening entertainment which tended to end around 11pm. We encountered one problem: our rooms (115 & 116) were directly above the patio outside the entertainment theatre. Once the show was over (and the bar closed) people congregated at the tables to continue drinking, shouting and singing (loudly) until 1 or 1:30 in the morning! On one occasion some guests returned from a night on the town around 2am and sat below our rooms eating a takeaway and being extremely noisy until well after 3am. To be fair to the hotel after we reported our problem to reception the noise stopped at around midnight.each night. All in all we enjoyed our time here

Room Tip: You may want to avoid rooms 111 to 120 (and possibly 211 to 220) owing to late night noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Piramide in Salou
We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on future occasions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I try make it a shortest as possible. Simple answer....do not go there if you seek for an 4 stars hotel!! The lifts are broken nearly everyday and forced us to uses the stair. Air conditioner are rubbish and been asked twice to repairs it, the maintenance guy who left the mess behind and he said "you can call the cleaning lady"....eh? Excuses me, I've paid 1000 euro for premium room suite for 8 days and that how they treat you. Main reception lobby roof are badly leak when it heavy rain!! The Russian people are too unfriendly even with no eyes contact at all! Stupid WiFi access is really annoyed me as you have to walk down to the reception (If the lift are broken or toooo slow) every single day to get the new password access for the WiFi. The lists go on but can't be bother to added more.

Pro: Some waiters and the staff are friendly and helpful. My son got all the attention from the hotel staff as them Spanish people love kids!!! Good location but the access to the hotel security are poor as any one like a nutcase can walk in/out anytime.

Note to the Manager: Please do not bother to answer my feedback comment as we won't come back again even for half price!! Sorry

Room Tip: Pick the top floor for best view but be careful as there are a lot air conditioner machine is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMcConnell61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Like most travellers we hit the review website prior to our holiday, and scared ourselves stupid!
We have just returned from a family holiday at Med Playa Piramide, and can honestly say we were very pleasantly surprised. So much so, that we are planning to return again.

Staff were polite and nothing was too much trouble, our rooms were cleaned daily, and the food was perfectly acceptable for even the fussy eaters.

The hotel is in an ideal location, a few minutes walk from the beach.

Most people can find faults with hotels....even at The Savoy....if you look hard enough, but in our opinion you should just relax and enjoy your much needed break!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Room Tip: We had rooms 408 & 409, room 409 had an excellent large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Piramide Salou, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at the Hotel Piramide in Salou.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our first family holiday to Spain, Salou. We had a fantastic time.Initially I was worried about the reviews I read on Tripadvisor,but put my worries aside and booked the holiday. We stayed all inclusive 2 adults and 3 children for 7 nights. Rooms were good with enough space with a balcony table and chairs towels changed daily and the beds were made even if we forgot to request it. We used the safety deposit box key coded in both rooms - free of charge for valuable items. The food was good, you could choose what you wanted eg fish, meat ,vegetarian ,vegetables ,fresh fruit and salad. The children had plenty to eat and drink especially around the pool side little cafe type / bar - where they could have pizzas, hotdogs, toasties burgers and plenty supplies of cheese/ burgers.there was plenty for the children to do eg pool games consoles, which you have to pay for for so many mins of play. Table tennis poolside games and water inflatables.
Big thank you to Daniella, isobella and the team for doing a fantastic job entertaining the children and the adults too lol Daniella we will always remember you the most because you were funny, sociable and approachable. You were the one who called my husband up who is from England!! to participate in the entertainment in the evening. So funny !! Keep up the fantastic work you are an asset to your team. Well done!! Shops and the beach are very local 10 -15 min walk . Portuventura theme park , walking 20 mins or you can catch a bus or taxi. Theme park very good but pricey! Overall we enjoyed our holiday, we will be coming back next year. To chill relax and enjoy . Thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Calypso
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
0.5 mi away
4R Regina Gran Hotel
4R Regina Gran Hotel
#25 of 93 in Salou
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Negresco
Hotel Best Negresco
#35 of 93 in Salou
1,154 reviews
0.4 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort I
4R Salou Park Resort I
#29 of 93 in Salou
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Piramide Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Piramide Salou

Property: MedPlaya Piramide Salou
Address: C/ Viladomat, 9, 43840 Salou, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#27 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — MedPlaya Piramide Salou 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Piramide Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Med Playa Piramide Salou Hotel Salou
Sol Melia Salou
Sol Piramide Hotel Salou
Sol Piramide Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing