We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blaumar hotel”
Review of Blaumar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blaumar Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Hotels in Salou
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“blaumar hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

returned october 17th room very clean ,infact the whole hotel was spotless.pool was very cold ,food good but could have been hotter .I am coeliac and was given a menu to choose my food for the week ,which was ok. would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    298
    133
    35
    37
See reviews for
418
187
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Blaumar Hotel 12th - 19th October 2013 with my husband and 4 children. The hotel is in a quieter part of Salou although it's only a 5 minute walk to the shops and bars. When we arrived at the hotel at 10am we were aware that check in was not until 1:30pm however the receptionist let us leave our bags in a room downstairs and told us our room would be ready at 11:30am which was a bonus. All the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and we couldn't fault them one bit. They even booked our Portaventura tickets for us at the discounted rate rather than us having to pay full price at the park.

When we got to our rooms we noticed how very large and spacious they were (much larger than any other hotel we have stayed in when visiting Salou) there was a fridge, cooker, table and chairs, 2 sofa beds and a double balcony. The bathroom was also very modern. The rooms were cleaned every morning and we always had nice fresh towels. The only thing we didn't have was a travel cot for our infant and we were not aware that we would have to pay 50 euros for one when we booked however since our infant is 19 months old we chose to take the bed guard instead which was free. Just be aware of this if you are staying here with a small baby.

We chose to stay half board at the Blaumar and on entering the restaurant each morning and evening we were always greeted by a member of staff and taken to a table. There was plenty of food to choose from however there was a lot of seafood on offer and not much choice of other food. We do not like seafood and although we really enjoyed the food we did have we found there was not much meat on the bone. The desserts were absolutely delicious though, loved every single one of them.

The childrens food was different every night but our children struggled to find anything they liked. They love pizza and after having it on the first night were looking forward to having it again but pizza wasn't on the menu for the rest of the week. The same thing with the chips they only had chips maybe 2 out of the 7 nights we were there. In saying this our children are very fussy eaters so if your children are adventurous with their food then there is definitely plenty to choose from........ Lasagne, spaghetti bolognese and lots of different fish things.

The pool area is brilliant and has a large pool with a childrens pool right next to it with water fountains and a slide. There is also a small play park beside it along with table tennis.Our children had hours of fun here. Poolside was very clean and tidy and always had a lifeguard on duty. As someone has said before me, the lifeguard was always more than happy to keep the place clean. We saw him cleaning the windows, the showers and even giving the speakers a dust.

The lady who done the childrens mini disco in the evening was great with the kids. I don't know her name but she was very friendly and our little boy loved her. The hotel was very quiet in the evenings but this might be because it was the end of the season. We watched a Polynesian show, a Flamenco show and a circus magician all of which were very entertaining. The other nights we had free bingo and a music quiz.

We had a fantastic week here at the Blaumar and although we have stayed in 4 different hotels in the area this is one of our favourites. We are already looking at booking up again for June 2014!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Blaumar hotel yesterday.
Hotel is situated in a quiet area close to the marina and straight across from the beach. We stayed here for 5 nights mainly to visit the theme park which is within a 20 min walking distance.
Reception:
is very clean and tidy and the lady could speak many languages which was nice.
Room:
We were shown to our room which was 2506 right next to the elevator which i initially had reservations about but proved to be very quiet as the entire area was not busy .. Dont think it would be an ideal room if hotel was full due to traffic in and out of elevators. Rooms are ideal clean and tidy and offer kitchen utensils and a fridge. Air conditioning works well and could either be cool or heat which was ideal at night. My only concerns was the bathroom, a modern bathroom which has a bad set up. Shower is good but floods the floor as the screen isn't wide enough and the position of the toilet and door is very tight causing you to be hit with the door is someone else comes in. There is a lot of storage areas, a tv which needs retuned as most channels are fuzzy but we were on holiday and tv wasn't an issue.
Dining:
We were half board as we had planned to spend most of the time at the theme park or on the beach so breakfast & dinner was our best option but i wished i had just opted for room only.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special Lived on toast and pate which might i add was yum. It caters more for the Scandic & east Europeans pallet of squishy scrambled egg, spicy sausage and a strange looking 'bacon' ,fruit and the usual pastries.
Dinner was another matter, again for the same pallet, it consisted of tuna steaks, prawns,shrimps, rabbit loads of veal in the disguise of hamburgers meatballs, fillets and stews. Vegetarians would struggle as even the salad items like coleslaw was mixed with ham or seafood items. We are anything but fussy eaters but we struggled to find anything other than bread, pate and salad.
Pool area is lovely with a pool bar and table tennis and play area for the kids. Dont know if it was the time of year but has got to be the coldest pool I have ever put my toe into and by saying my toe that is all i got in the water. It was kept very clean by the life guard who was more than willing to help with anything.
Entertainment:
Virtually nonexistent but this may have been due to it being end of season at 2 bingo nights a quiz night and a kids disco is a little poor considering it was a positive listing on the hotel description when we booked.
Would we return ... Yes but not take the dining option and not for longer than a week

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lainemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed in the Blaumar in April 2013. Just myself and my daughter aged 15. We requested a particular room based on advice from reviews and tips on Trip Advisor and were very happy to be allocated that room on arrival. Our room was located just under the suites (2nd to top floor) at the front of the hotel facing the beach. Due to it being a corner room, we had amazing views both to the front and to the side towards Cambrils. The room itself was very nice - bathroom was large, clean and modern. There was a separate bedroom with twin beds and a nice lounge with a sofa bed.
The location was excellent - not too far from the centre of Salou, yet far enough to not hear the noise. The food was good for this area and compared to comparable hotels, eg H10 Med Village, although I would say more suited to adults than children (eg, lots of fish dishes).
Staff were helpful and polite, and overall it was a good stay - hopefully we will return in the future!

Room Tip: Corner rooms/suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmhughes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the blaumar 22nd - 27th

THE HOTEL ROOM
When we arrived we were upgraded from a superior room to an exclusive roof top room, these rooms are brilliant, the massive balcony has 2 large sun loungers and 2 large easy chairs with a remote control canopy covering the balcony, "very nice", the room itself was very spacious and spotless too, the shower room had a large shower, much better than your average hotel room.

THE RECEPTION & STAFF
The reception area is small but ok for the number of people checking in off our coach, they might struggle if a large number of people wanted to check in, you might have to wait outside.
The staff are very polite and nothing was too much trouble, always welcoming every time we entered the hotel.

THE RESTAURANT & FOOD
A nice clean restaurant with plenty of tables, we were always showed to a table by a member of staff, The food ISN'T I'm sorry to say 4 star quality, at best we would say 3 star, in our opinion there wasn't a large selection of food, most evenings it was very much the same and breakfast wasn't much better either, Having stayed in 4 & 5 star hotels in the past, the food in the blaumar isn't in the same class, out of the 5 nights we stayed there we ate out 2 full days (breakfast & evening meal). Oliver's steakhouse in the town centre is the place to eat, excellent food

THE POOL AREA
The pool and surrounding area looked very inviting but 1 big fault it had was it was in the shade a lot of the time so we never used the pool, we went to the very nice beach everyday which is just across the road from the hotel,

The hotel is in the quieter part of salou, it was 5 minutes walk in to the town centre were most of the shops are you'll find the more livelier bars too, if you don't like it lively then it's in a great position with just about everything around the hotel closed by midnight.

Overall it's a nice hotel but in our opinion it's a 3 star hotel not a 4 star.




Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Everything was close to perfect - great location (between bus and train stations, next to the beach, close to the city center, yet away from all of the noise), clean facilities, friendly and helpful staff, great variety in food for dinner, fun shows and activities for both kids and adults.

Just a few negatives that I would like to point out:

* Variety for breakfast food could have been better. We started skipping breakfast close to the end of our two week stay because the same old food started getting annoying. Dinner variety was excellent though.
* All drinks (even plain water) are extra at dinner. Very unpleasant surprise.
* Water in the pool was extremely cold. Kids' pool was even colder than adults' (presumably, because it was always in the shade). Made it impossible for kids to use it.
* A few of the russian-speaking "children activities" staff members showed lack of professionalism by using rude language with children, sitting chatting with each other ignoring children, etc.
* Provided parking was 15 EUR per night per vehicle. Really??? However, it was possible to park for free just a block away on the street. Assuming you found a free spot. But in the end, we could have gotten away without a car altogether. Public transportation in the region is quite good. Both for getting from/to Barcelona to local travel (within Salou itself and to nearby cities).

Room Tip: If you want to go to bed early, make sure you don't get a room facing the pool. Loud music and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fyodor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvarela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blaumar Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Fyodor G
thank you for your kind words and we have taken note of your comments, which will be transmitted to our staff to improve our service. We regret that you couldn’t enjoy at all our swimming pool because of the weather, but hope you could enjoy the rest of our facilities. We trust to welcome you in the future, and thank you again for your attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

On arriving at The Balumar in Salou I was disgusted to be staying in a private block of flats around the corner of the hotel.

Some of the apartments are for rent and some privately owned and I was told 25 are family rooms and belong to the hotel.

The hotel block I stayed in was called Las Acacias, to get to breakfast you go out to the street and round the corner to the front entrance of our hotel.

Would never book a family room again although the hotel was very nice if you stay there!

I did complain straight to the manger but he said you are not allowed a family of 5 in the hotel bedrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvarela, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Blaumar Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Heidi L,
thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your holidays at our hotel, and we are sorry about your bad experience. Right, our family rooms are located in a different building, and those are the ones with capacity for 5 persons, so we regret that we couldn’t lodge you in the main building.
Thank you again for your opinion. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.2 mi away
Regente Aragon
Regente Aragon
#16 of 93 in Salou
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnolia Hotel
Magnolia Hotel
#18 of 93 in Salou
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel CYE Holiday Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Vintage Salou
H10 Vintage Salou
#10 of 93 in Salou
1,325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Best Da Vinci Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaumar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaumar Hotel

Property: Blaumar Hotel
Address: Passeig Jaume I, s/n | cantonada C/ Joan Miarnau Ciurana, 4, 43840 Salou, Spain (Formerly Occidental)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Salou
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Salou
#18 Luxury Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blaumar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blaumar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salou Blaumar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing