We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a Hostel Than A Hotel - Murillo Apartments Salou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Murillo Salou
Ranked #48 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More of a Hostel Than A Hotel - Murillo Apartments Salou”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Firstly do not let ANY travel site let you believe these are a 3 star apartment complex. 1 star maybe & an eternal optimist may give 2 but anything higher and I'd prescribe the reviewer medication!

Prior to our visit I looked at 'street view' on the internet so I had an idea of what landmarks to look for. Our transfer coach dropped us off close to where I recognised and then, following assistance from a very nice lady in a neighbouring hotel, found the keys at an office around the corner. Our first concern was the €150 breakage deposit you needed to pay prior to entry. On doing so we were given apartment 144 (number provided in case you have the misfortune of getting it too).

On entry there's nothing untoward, it is a part residential and part holiday block. Reasonably clean entrance hallway with lift & stairs but that's where the pleasantries stop.

The apartment was best described as functional but unclean. You walked into a small vestibule with a door leading into a living/dining area and a door into the kitchen. All tiled flooring as you expect from the Spanish.....which is not an issue if it's clean. The small kitchen had a VERY dated feel about it with broken work surfaces, sellotape holding together unit panels, missing tiles and a poor selection of cutlery/crockery. Fridge freezer was fine, reasonably clean double sink and cooker fed by a gas bottle (which wasn't secured in any way). No toaster, kettle, microwave or even matches to light the oven (which had 2 of it's three control knobs) details omitted by most travel agents!

The main room is sparse with a sofa bed, wooden table with four wooden chairs, long sideboard , patio doors to balcony & entrance to bedroom/bathroom. The room was best described as dated & shabby. No TV but with all Salou offers our five year old didn't need it for once.

One bit of good news was the bedding and ample towels were there and freshly cleaned. Not stunning quality but at least clean. There is a launderette on site should you need it.

The bedroom had a double built in robe with plenty of space, two single beds (not matching so there is a height difference with a thin mattress and then lats which have had running repairs) and roller blinds to the patio door leading to the balcony also.

The bathroom was a good size but not clean. We spent the first hour of our holiday cleaning it as best we could. The hot water was efficient and the shower worked well. Once I cleared the weeks of hair that had built up in the plug hole the drainage improved too.

As far as cleanliness goes I'd give the Murillo a 2/10 score. The floor was obviously brushed but after 10 minutes of walking on it our feet were filthy.

Room 144 is on the front of the building which is above a busy dual carriageway. The noise goes on most of the night so don't expect a restful sleep. Without air conditioning the heat doesn't add to the comfort either.

The pool is reasonably clean but cold. The surrounding buildings don't allow for a lot of sunlight to warm the area up. There are no loungers so it never seems to get used. We used it once for 30 minutes and then I needed to thaw out. It is in direct view of the back of a bar restaurant so if you have an exhibitionist streak you wont find it voyeuristic.

Don't let this review put you off Salou......it's a great family friendly resort with plenty to offer & Port Aventura is a great place to visit. The beaches are great (I wish selfish tourists wouldn't leave their cigarette ends on the beach for the kids sake but it happens in lots of European resorts but this is a personal non-smoker gripe I have).

So in conclusion a big thumbs up for Salou and a gladiatorial thumbs down for the Murillo!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGibbons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had the same problem as Monkeys_96. When you're dropped off at midnight and are wandering about, it's not a good start to the holiday. The appts did not have any reception or notification of where it was other than on the intercom outside. This definitely wasn't what was advertised. The pool was freezing, there were no loungers, you couldn't take in inflatables (try telling the kids that), you couldn't eat by the pool and any kind of fun was not allowed. There were mostly Spanish residents there, so not many kids, which means more work for Mum and Dad.....
Also in our apartment, the guy upstairs was knocking off tiles from 9am to 9pm.
Good side, it was well situated, 10 mins walk to a lovely beach (4 Euros pp pday for a lounger), so we spent most of our time there.
Very touristy / irish pub / British pub, but go up the end of the massive park (take the little train if it's too far to walk) and there's more traditional to choose from.
We had a good holiday, but this was in spite of the apartments. They definitely made us wander more.
Would I go back to Salou? Probably not.
Would I ever recommend these appts? Definitely not, don't waste your money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine73241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salou hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Having been dropped off by our transfer bus, we could not find these apartments... eventually some locals helped, but then we discovered you have to check in at the company 'Brisasol' reception which is in the next street. We then had to try to find the right entrance to our apartments, and struggle with keys in both the front door and apartment door. All in all, it took about an hour and a half to get into our apartment!

Something else we hadn't been given information about was the fact that you have to pay a deposit of 50 Euros per person upon check in. We had not allocated money for this and so had to use 100 Euros of our spending money. On checking out, we were told we had to wait to 10am to have our apartment checked so we could get our deposit money back. Our transfer was due to collect us at 10:15 and the lady said our apartment would be checked first, but after waiting a long time we had to leave... The panic and rush that followed actually caused us to get on the wrong bus (as they said they were our airport bus but we later found out it wasn't our actual transfer bus and had to get off the bus in an unknown area and get a very costly taxi to Barcelona Airport). We feel that he whole deposit issue and waiting around for our money caused us to mess up our transfer to the airport. We were given instuctions from 'Brisasol' on how to get our deposit back since we had to leave, which involved emailing out bank details to them which we did upon return to the UK. However, it is almost a week later and they haven't yet paid back the deposit or even replied to the email (despite the fact that I have emailed again asking on the status of the refund). Hopefully we will get our money and get it asap, but right now we feel like we have had to spend a lot of extra money.

The apartment was basic but had facilities such as a kitchen with cooker and fridge/freezer which is handy to store water and food or cook if desired. Bedrooms, living room and bathroom were small but adequate. Accommodation had basic facilities needed, but definitely would not say it was four star accommodation! No air conditioning (extremely warm when trying to sleep at night), freezing cold swimming pool, squeaky beds, shabby or broken furniture and drawers, old laundry from a previous guest left sitting in a plastic bag... You also have to ensure you take out your own trash, buy rubbish bags, soap, toilet rolls etc. but it's handy enough as there is a supermarket very nearby.

The apartment location is excellent as it is beside a lovely Irish bar which does fantastic food, and all the local shops, bars, clubs, restaurants, mini golf, theme park, beach etc. are within walking distance and are very handy to reach. The bus stop is just around the corner for getting buses to the theme park if desired, and for getting buses for trips booked (the 'Bus Plana' centre to book trips is also nearby as is tourist information and a cash machine). There is so so much to do in this area whatever you are looking for.

If you are planning on visiting a lot of places and not spending much time in your accommodation then this basic apartment should have all you need, however do be aware of needing to pay a deposit and also that you have to check in at 'Brisasol' in the next street to get your keys. I only wish somebody had told us this before we went!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkeys_96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

My partner and I have just got back from Murillo Apartments.We were unable to find reviews on the apartments before we travelled,so were slightly worried,however we were pleasantly surprised! The apartments are extremely basic,but perfect for us as we only needed a place to sleep.They were reasonably clean and furnished with cooking appliances if you did want to cook.We didn't have any problem with the neighbours at any stage and the pool was cleaned daily.The apartments are situated just a short walk away from salou's nightlife,restaurants,shops and the beach and also just a 15minute walk away from the Port Aventura theme park! We would defiantly visit these apartments again,however would suggest that you hire some air conditioning or buy a cheap fan from one of the shops as it gets very warm at night! We had a fantastic trip and hope that other people travel here and enjoy their trips too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank StewartMc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apartmentos Priorat
0.2 mi away
Complejo Riviera
Complejo Riviera
#73 of 93 in Salou
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Dalies Apartmentos
Les Dalies Apartmentos
#33 of 93 in Salou
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartaments CYE Salou
0.2 mi away
Zahara Rentalmar
Zahara Rentalmar
#34 of 68 in Salou
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ventura Park
Ventura Park
#24 of 68 in Salou
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Murillo Salou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Murillo Salou

Property: Apartamentos Murillo Salou
Address: Autovia de Tarragona a Salou, 4, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Murillo Salou 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Murillo Salou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing