We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable, highlight of our trip”

Salou Downhill Bikes
Ranked #1 of 21 Outdoor Activities in Salou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get out of the resort and into the real Spain. This beautiful National park is only 25 mins from Salou, but with no public transport so many people miss out on the stunning scenery. Free-wheel down quite tarmac roads through rustic villages, see cliff top monasteries, olive groves, vineyards and majestic eagles soaring above your head. Join us for a half day trip or the full day event to enjoy a unique fun & exhilarating day out. Anyone who's ever ridden a bike can do it - for the fit and the unfit. Come and join us for something different and take home some special memories of this fabulous region. Please NOTE: our excursion run from 1st May - 31 Oct each year.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed December 23, 2013

very nice staff, the journey was easy, no effort required to ride the bikes as it was all downhill, beautiful scenery, loads of fresh air, suitable for all age groups from the young to the elderly, not traffic, fully supervised and safe, very enjoyable

Thank DOB1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downhillbikes, Owner at Salou Downhill Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - it really is important to us. We also appreciate the 5 star review - it's always great to know we are still achieving the high standards we set ourselves and that that you had a great time. We hope to see you again if you return to the area for more fun. Thanks from the DHB team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bike ride"
in 96 reviews
"down hill"
in 55 reviews
"half day trip"
in 37 reviews
"real spain"
in 35 reviews
"great morning"
in 31 reviews
"great fun"
in 98 reviews
"practice area"
in 18 reviews
"stunning scenery"
in 17 reviews
"local history"
in 16 reviews
"quiet roads"
in 13 reviews
"morning ride"
in 10 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 22 reviews
"guys were great"
in 14 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 11 reviews
"usb stick"
in 15 reviews
"these guys"
in 32 reviews
"own pace"
in 17 reviews
Filter

500 - 504 of 938 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was picked up outside of my hotel by the company exactly on time.He was very informative and spoke multiple languages as we picked up other people for the trip. We then had some practice and instruction in how to use the mountain bikes.After this we were driven up in to the hills of Salou and given our bikes. There was a full instruction and guide on our downhill decent through the quite picturesque villages and we stopped and were given local history notes. It was facinating to learn what had happened here during world war two and all about General Franco's regime.The roads were of a very high quality and certainly better maintained than anything in the U.K. and I felt perfectly safe travelling down them at about twenty five MPH. The guys who were organising it took photo's at various stops and these could be purchased at the end on a handy usb stick. All in all a very enjoyable half day out.

Thank dominic o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downhillbikes, Owner at Salou Downhill Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for your excellent review- we appreciate you taking the time to share this. The scenery is spectacular - and the history fascinating. Hope to see you again for another ride, with a different route. Thanks from the DHB team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Best way to finish our holiday- fantastic views plenty of local knowledge and we felt well looked after thank you guy's 33k ride down two mountain's can't be bad.

Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downhillbikes, Owner at Salou Downhill Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Love the title of your review! Thanks for taking the time to share this and really glad you had a "blast" Come and see us again for more fun on the all day event. Thanks from the DHB team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Only regret we had was that we could only make the half day rather than the full. Great way to get out from the tourists areas and see the hills around Salou. Enjoyed it as experienced cyclists but they really do cater for all abilities. Rob is a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. If you are in Salou this is a must do.

Thank atgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downhillbikes, Owner at Salou Downhill Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write you review - they are important to us. Great to hear how much you enjoyed it and e always love to see the Title" Excellent " and 5 stars. As a more experience cyclist we hope you'll join us on the full day event when you're next in the area. Thanks again from the DHB team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Did the half day bike ride, not only did we cover 20+ KM on the bike, but we covered years of history. Rob + Jelle were not only a great laugh and kept us entertained but demonstrated a great passion for the area which was demonstrated through a huge knowledge of the area. Its a great activity for all ages, they keep it incredibly safe and adapt their circuit to the competence of the riders.

Not only that but they give back to the to the area by giving the used bikes to the community and they also sell the nuts for the farmers.

Its a great, exhilarating and fun packed few hours, I just wish I could have done the full day cycle.

10/10 the highlight of the Holiday! Especially with the unbelievable views.

Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downhillbikes, Owner at Salou Downhill Bikes, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Great to hear how much you enjoyed it. We are passionate about the area and want to give something back to the local community. This approach has provided us with a number of awards for sustainability which we work hard to achieve and maintain. Great to hear how much you appreciated this and thanks for taking to the time to share your experience. We really hope you return to the area because we have so much more to show you. Thanks from the DHB team xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salou Downhill Bikes also viewed

 
Salou, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Salou Downhill Bikes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing