We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recomended (if you are staying in Lucy's Mansion)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recomended (if you are staying in Lucy's Mansion)”
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Having just returned after spending 14 nights at the Gold River (with my wife, daughter 12yrs and son 8yrs) and been slightly anxious before we went due to some of the reviews and especially after reading the latest reviews posted while we were away, I felt it only right to give praise to the hotel where it's due.

We stayed in Lucy's Mansion and it easily rates at 4*. It has it's own reception and they cannot do enough for you. Breakfast is taken in the restaurant in the mansion and cooked to order and served at your table, either inside or out. The maid visited our room twice a day often replacing the towels as often and the floor was cleaned at least once in the time we where there. We were given hotel premier express wristbands which entitled us to 'jump the queue' as often as we liked with no restrictions at all on all the big rides, except Hurakan Condor. This part of the hotel has it's own (smallish) pool with no lifeguard and plenty of luxury sunbeds with shade. They even serve aperitif's and hors d'oevures at 7pm every day and often had complimentary english papers to borrow at reception.

The buffet dinner arrangements in City Hall were ,I felt acceptable for a 4*, with the choice and quality on offer, but the dine around option is easy to use (well, it is in Lucy's Mansion anyway as there was never a queue at reception) and we found the Hacienda and Marco Polo restaurants in the park to be good.

I would agree that the rooms would benefit from having balconies but I can see why they have stuck rigidly to the authentic 'wild west' feel as the attention to detail is excellent (although I sympathise with anyone over looking the 'graveyard').

The only main criticism I have is the range of bars and their location as well as the service and cost. The service will improve I suspect as it did in our second week as the hotel was less busy. We stayed at the Caribe a few years ago and the bars there have a better outlook over the water and I don't remember the kids disco being so intrusive as it is at the Gold River. Also the on site mini market has very limited stock and would be pretty useless if you are staying on a self catering basis.

If you want to go to Salou, which I wouldn't recomend, other than for a change of scenery and cheaper water, snacks etc then you either have to get a taxi or walk through the park to the main entrance and get the local tourist bus (it's blue and made to look like a train) or you could catch the green hotel 'train' to the Caribe hotel and walk from there.

The water park is ok and I believe you get unlimited complimentary access if you stay in Lucy's Mansion but, given the queues at the water park we only went once and the beach club is worth a visit as well.

Overall we had a great time and if you are due to stay in the mansion you should enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekfamilyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    759
    335
    124
    85
See reviews for
1,344
311
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Gold River hotel just a month after it opened, having stayed at the El Paso hotel last year. Both are part of the PortAventura complex hotels.

The theme park was excellent as usual. We had our Express passes (one for each ride) but they now offer unlimited Express acess to hotel guests after 9pm. This was great but did mean the rides were very busy from 9pm until midnight when the park closed. Because the Gold River is new, the access is poor for public transport so a taxi to Salou was cost prohibitive (around 15 euros each way) but there was no other way to get off the hotel complex. This meant we were a captive audience for all our food and drinks so were unable to purchase the usual things like crisps, bottled water etc. unless it came from the hotel bar. Although there is a "shop" the prices are the same as the bar prices making it no better value and the stock was all but non-existent..

The Gold River hotel was spacious; bedrooms have 2 double beds, plenty of floor space, public areas open and wide with loads of space for the children to run around and make friends. The staff were very tolerant of children running around playing cowboys and didn't ever complain.

The half board was OK, but not great. Restaurant staff were mostly inexperienced and standards of service varied from day to day. Food was always plentiful and varied but always warm and never hot and was rarely labelled so you didn't always know what you were eating. There was always "children's food" available but it was always hotdogs or burgers. When you only offer that sort of food, it's all you'll ever get them to eat. On day 9 of our 14 day stay, we worked out that bottled water was free with dinner but no-one ever told us that.

The 3 pools were a good size (1 shallow pool for children and 2 deeper ones) and were never busy but with a new swimmer who didn't want to be in the children's pool but the other pools had no shallow end, we were limited. The kids pool also has a concrete base so every child suffered from abrasions to their feet. Also, because the 3 pools are on different levels, if you have a family with a range of ages, you can't effective supervise them all in the pool if you have swimmers and non-swimmers. There were plenty of sunbeds available but very few parasols so you couldn't get any shade and as it was a new site, there were no established trees for shade. This kept us away from the pool area

Cleanliness was poor other than the ground floor. In the two weeks we stayed, the floor in our room (a wooden floor) wasn't swept once and neither were the bedroom corridors or lift lobby areas. There were sweets dropped outside the lifts on our third day and they were still there the morning we departed.

I think overall, the hotel says it offers a wide variety of services but most of them are sparse, don't work at all or don't work well. There's free wi-fi but it rarely works and is very slow, you can hire towels but they're often closed when you want to change / refund, you can dine out instead of in the hotel but the menus are only available from guest services whose queues are usually 6 deep and VERY slow...then you have to go back and queue again to book...the rooms are spacious but only 4 coat hangers for a family of 4 for 14 nights, rooms cleaned every day but it could be 9am or 7pm and they weren't exactly "cleaned", more the beds made and the towels replaced.

Having said all this, we'd still return because of the park but we'd get a hire car so that we could get to the beach and be more independent and not tied to the hotel and we'd go B&B so that we could eat out instead of it the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CawreyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Hotel Gold River is a 3 star hotel. The hotel complex is in quite a cramped space, that I couldn't even get a 1km staright run out of. All you can do at the hotel itself is eat, sleep, drink and swim. There is an small alcove with 2 pc's and a playstation though why parents would want their children sitting in front of a computer game after over paying for their stay I don't know!).

THERE IS NO SAFE DIRECT PEDESTRIAN ACCES OUT IF THE HOTEL! You either have to bustle through the park - adding at least 2kms to your journey, not to mention the time OR pay for a taxi into Salou (11 euros!) Of course if you walk through the park, you are restricted by the hours of park operation!

The other way to avoid hoofing miles out of your way - walking along a dual carriage way, to the main street down to Salou is to play chicken amongst cars and buses that go in and out of the park through thte car park. There is no pavement/sidewalk, just a narrow hard shoulder. No buses come to the hotel - they all pass it as they come to the theme park car park - the hotels drive joins the MULTI lane park entry and exit road. Again this adds nearly 2 kms to your journey. It's ridiculous - you can see wher you want ot be, The main street to Salou is maximum 50m from the end of the Hotel's drive. You can't get there though - you are fenced in!

The rooms do NOT have balconies and drying space is severely limited in the room. I stayed in a standard twin room, where there was nowhere near enough cupboard/drawer space to unpack all our clothes and knick naks. Everything is hidden behind closed doors. There is no atmosphere. The different accomodation blocks and table service in the bar make it very difficult to strike up conversation with other people! At the Gold river's sister hotels they have gyms, saunas, jacuzzis, table games for children like air hockey and pool, a running circuit around the grounds of the Caribe!

The food in the buffet got progressively worse throughout the stay; the buffet was served in a room with just two windows and an emergency exit door. These were around the corner and obsured to most. There was no hand sanitiser on entry to the restaurant - despite the pandemic of swine flu! Flies were not abundant, but there were a fair few few on the food and hassling at tables. No fly deterents were visible anywhere!

The reps argued we had direct access to the park and use of the beach resort. I pointed out that I'd stayed in the Port aventura hotel and it had all that and the things that Hotel Gold River was missing!

Hotel Gold River is fine for people staying NO LONGER than a week; who want to use the park, and the beach club and who don't want to see anything more of the Costa Dorada than that.

The Hotel Gold River would be ideal for school groups, as the students would cack themselves at the end of the drive if they even tried to escape the compound.

Given the compund style wooden perimeter fencing around the hotel isn't finished. There's no work going on, but there sure is alot to do.

If you are going to Salou and want to stay in a Port Aventura Hotel choose the Hotel Port aventura or the Caribe - at least then, you will get the 4* you will be asked to pay for!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockAria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

When we rolled up to the hotel we were impressed by overall it's appearance and thought wow this looks great. After one and a half hours stood in a line to check in with only 2 staff on reception are views quickly changed. I have never in my life experianced a check in that took so long with the staff tollerating the spanish pushing in frount without intervening!
After finally checking in at 11.30 ( we have been up since 3am) we were told that we would get our keys at 3pm and we would have to come back and queue again ! We were told we could get dressed in a courtesy room that turned to be a toliet ! We then had to wait around for 3.5 hours for our keys so we decided to sit around the pool.
At 3 I then had to join the stampide of every single person that had checked in that day to get the key with yet again a massive queue. Infact queue was what we did the majority of the time for a drink, for a taxi, for customer services the lack of staff was a huge problem along with the langauge barrier. Do not get me wrong we have been to salou and other areas of spain on numerous occasions but the staff must of come from a hillbillie town as hardly any of them understood a word of english. It really was a chore trying to commuicate at any level with the barstaff, resturant or shop staff. The Reception and customer services were good as they were bi-ligual.
The cleanliness of the public area's were great but what a different story in the corridors by your rooms and in the rooms. The carpets in the corridors still had the off-cutting and pile as if they have just been laid the were not hovered in 7 days infact I never once saw or heard a hover. The rooms had a layer of dust and the floors were never cleaned all the did was make the beds and change the towels . The windows were filthy covered in dust from when the hotel was constructed . By the way there is no balconies as advertised.
The only saving grace for this place was the proximity to the themes parks and the free access that my boy enjoyed the pools were lovely but the jobsworth lifeguards were whistle happy kids were not aloud top play ball , inflatables or dive in. The music will drive you bonkers after a day the have the same CD on constant loop all day I know is if a country and western theme but after hearing the good , the bad and the ugly about 40 times in a day is like japenese water torture !
Food was repeatitive and luke warm we did try the dinearound and found this to be of a bit better.
Overall the hotel could be fantastic if they had the right staff and enough of them .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey_HCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I travelled here with husband and 2 kids, aged 6 and 8. We stayed in the "bungalows", which were described as two adjoining rooms sleeping 2-4 people. They do not in fact have two separate rooms, but one room which is partially divided by a wardrobe and quite cramped for four people. There is very little space for clothes and only 4 hangers provided for 4 people.

During our stay, housekeeping accidentally removed my son's teddy when changing the bed linen. This was never recovered so be careful if bringing favourite sleeping toys!!!
It was very difficult to communicate the problem to the cleaning staff as they have no english. In general, the standard of cleaning in the bungalows was dreadful. Under the beds was full of dust and fluff and I saw no evidence of floors being cleaned at any stage. As there was no brush provided in the room, ants were a problem as they came in to pick up crumbs so bring some ant spray if planning a stay.

Children could not go on a lot of the rides as most have a height restriction of 1.4 metres.
Theme park was extremely busy which is to be expected for the time of the year.

Pool areas were lovely with lots of sun loungers and lifeguards on duty at all of the pools.

Lunch is only available at the bar where the food is really bad quality and overpriced (bad fish and chips 11 euro). In the evening, choices are Tex-Mex (serving no Mexican food) and the Opera. Food ranges from average to raw so I would not recommend either.

The childrens entertainers could not be faulted and were really friendly and good with all the children. The kids club was very quiet so boring for the children, but that was not the fault of the people working there. Kids club also very secure with sign in and out and contact numbers taken.

Overall, nice grounds, overpriced bad food and poor cleaning. Accomodation should be rated 3 star at best.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaobha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

had a great time and that included my 11yr old son who isn't easily pleased! service at check in can be painfully slow but all questions are answered fully with few language problems. fast track doesn't include the latest furious baco ride and the queues are big so you will have to wait but other rides are covered. half board was great and the dine around option allows further choice if you want and its very easy to use. donna the hotel rep was very informative and honest with it. exchange rate means drinks are expensive -3.25 euro for a pint 2.85 for coke etc. accomodation in the main city hall was good two double beds and plenty of storage space for us three - true that only four hangers provided but free safe and small fridge and tv. service was fast in the dining hall with plenty to choose from. pools were great but the usual shortage of loungers made worse by the early bird towel brigade who never reappear until late afternoon! getting into salou isn't cheap but we only went a couple of times and to be honest we didn't really need to if we didn't want to as everything was available on site if you had the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#22 of 93 in Salou
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Property: PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing