We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat for anyone who loves theme parks in the sunshine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #15 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“A real treat for anyone who loves theme parks in the sunshine”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break. The family (3 adults and 4 kids ranging 13 to 4) stayed in two family rooms which were in the main building (city hall). This was not our first time in Portaventura but was our first time staying on site.

What's great: The quality of the hotel and surrounding area is very high. The theme is well done - not tacky and you genuinely feel you are in the scene of a Western! For the size of it I expected to see a lot more people but the pools were quiet and only breakfast was busy - as a result the hotel had a laid back feel. Room was clean and reasonably sized and great that they provide pool towels in your room for use during the stay. We ate breakfast only and the food and variety was very good with plenty of fresh fruit as well as the usual cooked, continental and cereal options. Churros and pancakes were a nice treat! The side access to the park is very quick and really makes you feel you're getting ahead of the crowds!

What's not so great: Check in is slow despite the queue being short and there being plenty of staff. Our only real gripe though was the arrangements for the waterpark. Firstly you have to pay though there is a 30% discount, but you must use the tickets whilst you are a guest - i.e. you cannot come back at a later date (we were heading to another resort and the children didn't want to forego a day at the theme park for a day at the waterpark - and neither did we as we had effectively paid for the theme park in the cost of the stay already!) Why not let guests have the discount and return at a later date to use the tickets - seems greedy to us.

Be aware of: We couldn't find any English channels on the TV (not that we were in the room much!) The rides all open at various times - some 2 hours after the park has opened at 10, so although you get into the park quickly, you don't really gain an advantage queueing for those rides - which all seem to be at the back of the park where hotel guests have quicker access. The restaurants in the park close at 4 and re open around 8pm - so you need to plan ahead on eating times (we were caught out on the first night with 4 hungry children in tow!)

Nice touches: Being able to pay in the theme park with your room card is very very handy!

Overall: Excellent hotel in its own right but as our kids said 'amazing to have a theme park in your back garden too!'

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bristol062011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    740
    327
    120
    84
See reviews for
1,310
303
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just home from a fabulous week in Lucy's Mansion at Hotel Gold River, Port Adventura, Salou. What a great hotel - lovely English speaking staff, separate check in, delicious buffet breakfast with hot items such as bacon, sausage and eggs or pancakes cooked fresh to order - delicious.
The rooms are absolutely spotless - we first stayed at this hotel 4 years ago and the rooms still look brand new, lovely amenity pack in the bathrooms which include everything you could possibly need and a really cute kids amenity pack which is just delightful. Swimming pool is crystal clear and not at all busy, got sunbeds, umbrellas and tables every day with absolutely no problem. direct access to Port Adventura which is a fantastic theme park, we went into the park every single day of our holiday. Staying at Lucy's Mansion entitled us to fastpass wristbands which meant no queuing for us at all. The visitors to the hotel are mainly Spanish but that doesn't bother us - when you stay at Alton Towers Hotel the guests are predominantly English!! Go Go GO !!! and definitely pay the extra to stay in Lucy's Mansion if you can it is well worth it :)

Room Tip: Lucy's Mansion is mind blowing - everything is so well themed you really do feel like you are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACYBABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just come back from a weeks stay at Gold River.Stayed in City Hall 2 adults and 1 child aged 7.We really enjoyed our stay here,half board included breakfast and dinner.For breakfast they give you a card with a certain time you need to be there but for dinner it was more open 7-1030pm which is a good time.Plenty of food choices including English,food for kids hot dogs etc and plent for adults.My only gripe would be that you get a drink e.g orange juice included in breakfast but not at evening meal.There didn't appear to be many English families there mostly Spanish or eastern Europeans.

The park itself is fantastic but be prepared for lots of walking.Rollercoasters were excellent as where water rides which is a welcome relief in the hot weather.Kids rides were also plentiful,if you get to see any shows throughout day be sure to see Wild West Show there really is something for everyone.Ride queues vary from 5 min to 1.30 on some rides but as park is open until midnight you can go back to hotel for a bit and go back to park around 9pm when if it isn't a themed night you can go on most rides within 30 mins.

Would I return? Probably but in around 5 years time and although very pleased with our hotel choice we might stay in one of the others next time.Going to try Florida next

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzybizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013.

The Hotel was really nice, really good for kids of any age and adults alike.

The Rooms are pretty basic but they are nice. They are furnished with an old western theme. We did have to change rooms twice, the first smelt badly of cigarettes and the 2nd had some sewage issue, they were quick to change us over though with no fuss.

It is really busy with coach loads of kids at half term, this did ruin the restaurant, we tried to go at different times but could never get a quiet time and the kids were like ants.. grabbing, pushing etc any food insite.

we ended up coming home two days early as we got bored due to the weather being poor, not that this was the hotels fault but they might have put some additional enternatinment on to keep people occupied.

We would return but probably for a few days rather than a full week, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria-Twirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardee, Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

upon arriving check in took to long and staff seemed uninterested and not very helpful. the hotel is very clean as you would expect from a new hotel, breakfast and evening meals were poor and not much to choose from, no entertainment in the evenings and no holiday atmosphere at all, as with the park there seems to be a lot of cost cutting going on. we stayed with our 2 boys (11 and13) and would not recommend it to a family, value for money very poor, we stayed in june 2013 and will not return to it again, there are better hotels with night time entertainment for a lot less money out there, the park is no longer universal Europe and does not seem to have the same feel to it, over all it was over priced and disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zachjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA_PortAventura, PortAventura at PortAventura Hotel Gold River, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We have noted your comments and shall act accordingly to improve our service.

Regards, PortAventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Two families of five (ages of children ranged between 10 and 17) stayed at the Hotel Gold River for two nights from 28 June. The hotel has some excellent, average and poor features, so it comes out as average overall. I'll highlight a few of these attributes below:

Excellent:
- Location: It was a very short walk to the entrance of the Port Aventura Park. This was particularly useful when the adults and younger kids returned to the hotel, knowing that it was only a short walk back for the older kids. It was a short taxi ride to the beaches of Salou - that said, the Hotel PortAventura much closer to Salou.
- Express Pass: Our hotel package included an EXPRESS PREMIUM GOLD bracelet that allowed us unlimited access to 8 of the 10 main attractions with minimal queuing (i.e. between 0 and 5 minutes), plus one single access to the front row of the three main roller coasters. This cost us only EUR44 per person for three days - i.e. less than EUR15 per person per day. Given that the queues of the main attractions ranged between 20 minutes and 1hr 20 minutes when we were at the park, the express pass was a mammoth benefit.

Average/Good:
- The hotel layout and cleanliness were acceptable.
- The rooms were OK, but a bit tired.
- The staff were friendly and helpful.
- The breakfasts were average.
- The pool area was good.

Poor:
- The restaurant was like a boarding school canteen in both feel and and quality of food and yet the meals were very expensive. We paid EUR25 per person (kids too) for a dinner consisting of a low quality buffet that excluded drinks. My tip is to rather order a few sandwiches/tramezzinis from the area outside the bar - they were tasty and cost EUR5 each. Note that the food quality in the park is even worse than the hotel, so there is no respite there.
- There were often long queues at reception.
- The hotel was very expensive.

I thought that the nearby two of Salou was very pleasant. It might be better to stay at Salou if one could still purchase the Express pass for a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Was sooo excited for this holiday because me and my family LOVE port Aventura and have done for years!!! This was our 8th time staying at this hotel and this was the first time that I was a little disappointed.
What I was disappointed with was the cleanliness of the hotel and the rooms. The corridors look tired and unclean and when we got our rooms, there was hair all over the bathroom floor and on the bed which was rank! My mum and dad's bathroom tiles were covered in mold. The walls could do with a paint and the balcony was covered in bird poop. And this hotel is still rated as a 4 star hotel?!?! And they are still charging a lot of money to stay there, sooo bad!
That was the bad points of our stay.
The food was a lot better then last year as there was different food every night and it was really nice.
Staff really nice as always and friendly and helpful, no complaints there!

Park always amazing and gets better every year. Again no complaints!

Overall, great holiday but a few things need to be improved.

Room Tip: You now have to pay for your water park tickets but at a discounted price and the price for the fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannah_dalgarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 94 in Salou
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Property: PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing