We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gold river cowboy town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Ranked #19 of 93 Hotels in Salou
Middlesex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gold river cowboy town”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed at the gold river for 3 nights from 1st nov with family and friends, arrived 11am to find hotel very busy and quite a que to check-in. Turned out it was a spainish bank holiday so was 1 of the most busy weekends on calendar.
Hotel is very impressive with lots of attention to detail and you feel like you are on a wild west film set. Our room was in the main city hall building and was big, very clean and a lovely bathroom, it had a real feel of wild west luxury.We stayed half board, breakfast was manic probably due to bank holiday but the choice was superb, evening dinner was a lot less manic and due to the fact the spainish like to eat quite late, again a great choice of food for everyone.
The hotel was either very busy or strangley very quiet depending on time of day, the hotel has a very large bar area and was never over busy , price of drinks were not bad for hotel, 2.50 euro for glass of wine and 3.50 euros for large beer, after first day the waiter rememberd us and would bring drinks to our table when ever we needed refill ( nice touch).
The hotel is in a great location for theme park, while we were there it was halloween celebrations which were fantastic , with lots of shows and very scarey horror walks. Would definatley recommend coming in hallowen time as was better than anything we have seen in U.K.
Overal a very nice hotel set in tons of authentic grounds, very clean, and good food the only downside for us was the huge amount of people staying over the bank holiday made it a bit manic at times but we would definatley return and would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sipearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    776
    344
    132
    94
See reviews for
1,391
317
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived at 9 am in the morning and parked the car . Booked in and left our luggage in the car. We were given our passes to the theme park and entered through the special gate at 10 am . Room was ready at 3 pm and was large and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style and one of the best we have ever had. Dinner was good . On the day we checked out we again left our luggage in the car and spent the day in the theme park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our first two nights here were spent at Lucy's Mansion, a separate building from the main hotel. We could not have been happier with the rooms! They were beautifully decorated, extremely spacious, clean, lovely bathrooms and the building itself is lovely, inside and out. You really do feel as if you are staying in a mansion. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially at reception. An added bonus is that fast passes are included in the room price which, as they are 49€ per person makes paying the extra for the room well worth the benefit.

Our one disappointment that there were no bar facilities on site, you had to walk to the Hotel Gold River for all meals or a drink except for breakfast. Also, they have expensive Lavazza coffee makers in the rooms, but despite asking we could not get any coffee capsules! Seems strange to spend so much on the machines but not provide any coffee! Overall though it was an extremely pleasant experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the Hotel Gold River itself. Even bearing in mind that we had to move from the opulence of Lucy's Mansion as they were fully booked for our last two nights, the disappointment we felt was enormous! It was like walking into two sparsely furnished prison cells! Basic at most. Tiny room with barely enough room to swing a cat, not enough space to even unpack the most basic of clothing, with only four coat hangars, so definitely not good for longer stays.

I see from other reviewers that there are family suites available, but even though we booked directly with Port Aventura we were not given this option but assigned two standard doubles. However, all the standard rooms inter-connect with one other room and even though we had booked two rooms as a family (we went with two teenagers) we were not given connecting rooms. The walls are paper thin and with the door at the end of your bed you can hear every sound coming from the other room. Not pleasant, who wants to hear other people snoring or their babies waking in the night.

Even though we were there over some of the busiest nights of the year (the whole resort was fully booked) the hotel lacked atmosphere. The rooms are also spread over several different buildings so unless you are in the main building it's rather like staying in a cramped block of flats and you have to walk to the bars and restaurants.

Food...absolutely disgraceful, not just in the Hotel, but in the park itself too. For the prices they charge it is just not acceptable to churn out such sub standard rubbish. 26€ per person for the evening buffet, should in my book give you a reasonably good variety of quality food, in this case it was far from it. The restaurant Opera next door was equally dire. In the park a 'menu' including a salad, main course of chicken, ribs or a burger with fries and a drink cost 15€ and was quite frankly inedible. The wine bar next to Furious Baco was however very nice.

The park itself though was excellent. The rides were varied, something for everyone but on busy times it is essential to buy fast passes as some rides had waiting times of up to 3 hours! The fast pass however cuts this time down dramatically. The atmosphere is great and the themed areas are really well set out, but be prepared for a lot of walking!

All in all we did have a great time though. This was our fourth visit to Port Aventura and on previous occasions have stayed at the Hotel Port Aventura which I would recommend without hesitation over Hotel Gold River, unless of course as I said you book a room at Lucy's Mansion, but even this is a little further away from the main attractions. If you are just happy with somewhere to lay your head at the end of the day, then I suppose it's ok.

Room Tip: The rooms are located in separate buildings so I don't know if the standard rooms are all the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank expatSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel with a Halloween special (hotel + breakfast + tickets to the amusement park for a very good price). Generally I try to stay away from resorts but this was such a good deal that we could not resist, though I admit I was skeptical. Well, I am happy to report that we had a great stay and found everything extremely pleasant. We occupied one of the rooms at Cascade Alley (not the fanciest of the various buildings in which the hotel is divided). The room was pleasant, silent, clean and well-equipped and the buffet breakfast was excellent (lots of choices, good quality and very well-organized). The staff, both at the reception desk and in the restaurant, was professional and helpful. Everything is clean and well tended to. The private access to the park is extremely convenient. I would stay there again for sure.
(Note however that there is no reason to stay here unless you plan to visit the amusement park).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickyinbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1week spanning last few days of August going into September. We enjoyed our time at this hotel.
We had an evening flight so arrived late around 10pm and after a 15min transfer from airport we were at Hotel Gold River. Checked in straight away, as only people arriving. (there were ques at check-in most mornings from 10am until midday) Receptionist spoke very good english and we found her very friendly and helpful.
We found out we were in main town hall building, and the large lobby is nice,air conditioned with sofa's and free wifi. Found out we were on 5th floor, a little disappointed at first being so high, with the open internal lobby, but once in the room we had a lovely view of the theme park all the way to the sea and could see the fireworks each night during august at 23.15. Room was nice, basic style headboards, but this is meant to be 1800s in the wild west. Nice bathroom and large enough. The rooms were cleaned every day, clean towels, and the sheets were changed.
You have to chose a time slot for the buffet breakfast, so everyone do not turn up at once. We varied the slots and found the busy time to be the mid slot, had to wait 10mins to get into the dinning hall to be seated. Food was nice and a good selection, cooked, cereal, fruit, ham/cheese, toast, just help yourself to as much as you want.
We visited for evening meal once, found it quiet, great selection, but expensive €25pp+drinks.
There are 4 restaurants around the hotel, only ever saw one open at a time though, again the others were expensive so never bothered.
The hotel has a lovely pool area with guards on duty, water looks dark from a distance, but its a black pool coating, water is un-heated, but once your in it's nice. We stayed at the pool during afternoons and also twice to Hotel Caribe's pool (very nice), rather than go the water park which was free in September (tells you how good the water park is, see other review) Easy access to the park from this hotel. We enjoyed our time here, but we did not think there were very good places to eat. Anyway, twice we went into Salou in the evening at eat.
Due to the Hotels location it is bit of a slog to get into Salou, the hotel offers a free bus from 20.30, but this is late with children so reception called a taxi, took around 10mins to arrive, cost €12 each way.
Nice British pub (Titanic) to eat, just across road from bus stop/information centre on roundabout. You have to walk the last bit to the sea front if travelling by bus. We caught the return bus back at 21.40 still time to visit the park for last rides and less people.
Travel tip: walk through park (15mins) to main entrance, catch road-train to Hotel Caribe, use the lovely pool area, it's walkable to Salou from here (15mins), then wait at bus stop to go back to Hotel Gold River. Reception will tell you bus times and location only if you ask. Do not walk back with water from the supermarket via the park, as they will refuse entry, catch the bus or taxi with own supplies.
Everything is geared up so you spend your money on their property, and will not advertise any other way.
Would recommend this hotel, it was nice and clean and convenient for the park and may suit families more than couples. Other PortAventura hotels are closer to town, but not just a short walk to the park. As a family, if we were out late at night, it was in the park as rides are alot shorter, if at all, so just wanted to be able to walk back to room.
Your choice, weigh up what you want, theme park or town ? Other hotels are nice but i don't think we would have been in and out of the park so often if it was not on our doorstep, and we only really came here for the theme park.
Luggage room was available on check out, with lockers.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our 3 night stay had plenty of good points but...

I booked one of the log cabins as I liked the sound of them. We arrived early & were lucky enough to be checked in & given a nice welcome 2 hours before the 3pm listed check in time, no drama, great start.

The cabin itself was cute & beautifully themed, way better than I'd expected especially as we've rented a large cabin in the USA before which was a dream.

Everything was fine & we were very happy until later that day, a family of 4 checked into the cabin next door. They themselves did nothing wrong other than be a little loud when talking, the problem was that there is an interconnecting door between the cabins with little or no sound proofing. It felt as though we had an extra 4 guests actually in our room.

Every time we'd had enough of the park, went back to our cabin to chill out or went back to change, we could hear banging, crashing & constant 4 way conversatioms (they clearly liked to self cater in style & why shouldn't they)!

We couldn't sleep, they went to bed eventually & we were left stressed, uptight & disappointed.

Now this is where PA could have redeemed themselves, but...

I asked to be moved to a different cabin, preferably one without the interconnecting door, or an attached unoccupied cabin, neither were an option, OK, accepted given they're all full but...

We can move you to the main hotel, but you'll have to pay an extra €20 per night!!!!! So we move into the main building at extra cost? I don't think so.

To be fair Judit who was trying to provide a solution was very understanding & sympathetic but still, you expect to be able to sleep or is that too much to ak?

Anyway, to save oing on, the amusement park itself is lovely, the theming etc brilliantly done, some of the rides are great, most are just what you'd expect, water rides, mine train, kiddie area, infact I'd go as far as to say that the park is at leat as good as Busch Gardens, on a par with Islands of Adventure & many aspects almost Disney quality.

There are some aspects that will not please some, families in particular my be upset by he amount of flithy graffatti in the queue lines (there seems to be a fondness for drawing lewd images everywhere??? (the kind of tuff you'd see in a public lavatory) If you can laugh at that kind of stuff & ignore the blatant rule breaking, smoking in the queue lines for example, then you'll probnly have a lot of fun.

Be sure to take lots of money with you, the food, drink & souvenirs in the park are ridiculously expensive - be warned!

So, all in all, PA has some great points but some serious flaws too.

Back to the hotel & the log cabins themselves, if you were renting 2 cabins so that some of you were in one hal, the res of you in the other I think you'd really enjoy them, other thn that, I'd stay well clear of the.

Sorry to say, I couldn't possibly recommend the log cabins, unless you are deaf perhaps!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HumanoidSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Firstly theme park hotels only have 1 usage, run in drop bags, run to theme park, return when theme parks closes, shower, bed.
On this basis the room had 2 king size beds which were comfortable, good shower and enough space for 1-2 nights stay and enough space for us all to get around.
Any hotel where breakfast you have a time slot you know will be busy, and this was, but unlike Disneyland Paris, there was hot or cold food, good selection of UK style cereals, continental meats and cheeses and cakes and churros, and even the coffee was fairly OK, (juice was still UHT rubbish). Tables were cleaned quickly and the staff were OK.
Overall it's not Florida standard but it is 2 hours away and we all slept really well and the breakfast was really good for the type of hotel.
The theming was really good, but quiet as everyone was in the park, and we ate in Salou as like all theme parks the food is expensive and OK.

Only query is the rubbish turnstiles they use to get into the park from the hotel, which are so slow.

We would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.5 mi away
PortAventura Hotel El Paso
0.9 mi away
Sol Costa Daurada
Sol Costa Daurada
#21 of 93 in Salou
2,017 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Salauris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
H10 Mediterranean Village
0.1 mi away
PortAventura Hotel Mansion de Lucy
1.0 mi away
Ohtels Vil.la Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortAventura Hotel Gold River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortAventura Hotel Gold River

Property: PortAventura Hotel Gold River
Address: Avenida Alcalde Pere Molas s/n | PortAventura Resort, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Salou
#14 Family Hotel in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortAventura Hotel Gold River 4*
Number of rooms: 549
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an hour from Barcelona, with direct access to the Far West area in PortAventura, this hotel is the perfect destination for family holidays. It recreates a Far West town in the grip of gold fever, where water is the protagonist with immense swimming pools simulating the twists and turns of a river. Journey back more than 200 years and visit Sullivan, the most flourishing city in the Far West, and enter 1803 when Lucy Callaghan found the gold nugget next to the Gold River. Designed to amaze visitors and provide them with a totally new experience, the exclusive facilities of Hotel Gold River combine history with cutting-edge technology, all aimed at maximum comfort for our guests. With unlimited admission to the park throughout the entire stay! The rooms, divided over different buildings, form a reconstruction of the most important parts of the town: Main Street with wooden bungalows on the outskirts, the main hotel The City Hall, abandoned railway wagons and Lucy's Mansion, a 5***** hotel inside Hotel Gold River itself. In 2015 the 20th anniversary of the opening of doors PortAventura is met and to celebrate in style with family, friends or partner, we expect you to live unforgettable moments. This year PortAventura presents the new how will offer its Soleil Cirque in the Resort, Amaluna. Furthermore, in 2016 Ferrari Land will open in Europe PortAventura resot to offer a real race track, the highest and most rapid vertical accelerator in Europe and the first luxury hotel themed for the first time in the history of the Ferrari brand, including other surprises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortAventura Hotel Gold River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing