We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best san diego, salou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Best San Diego
Ranked #47 of 94 Hotels in Salou
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Best san diego, salou”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have just returned from here after booking a last minute break in the sun, half board for £500 for the week for 3 of us.
Given the price we were not expecting much but were pleasantly suprised given that we were going on the cheap for a bit of cheap sun and a base to explore that part of Spain.
The buffet food supplied salads and plenty of fish during the evening meals along with the more favoured fried food some seem to like. There were paellas every night and a healthy supply of fruit and sweet desserts, along with soup.
Breakfast was both salad, continental and fried, (chips for those who miss them)
It should be noted that the evening meal, half board, didnt include drinks.
There are 2 pools, one for tots and a bigger one for the older guests. These were clean.
The rooms were clean but in need of maintenance and the service was ok.
There is a kids club open for a few hours a day too for tots.
Dont get ripped off with transfers if you're considering booking in Salou, you can get from Reus airport into town to your hotel for 10eu Return using the Plana buses (keep your ticket for the return) and do not book the tours via your rep as the Plana buses generally under cut these by 20 eu per adult on average, you can buy a Plana 10 trip multiperson bus pass for 9.70eu which covers zone 1 ie Reus, Cambrils, Salou and Tarragona etc, a rail trip to Barcellona Sant is just 13eu return using the regional express from Salou station, its over 22eu on the bus!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keithydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    215
    182
    87
    69
See reviews for
301
196
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Me and my family went to this hotel,but before we went we read the reviews which was saying eveything was bad,when we got there we didnt know what they was on about.

Me and my family like the bar staff especially Raul and Elvis they made are holiday awesome they are so kind and friendly.

The food and entertainment got alil repeatably but thats like every holiday we have been too,and if you ever get bored theres a load of bars around and about so you can have a drink.

All in all we loved with hotel everyone was friendly.

So dont read the reviews see for yourself what its like

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

just returned from a weeks stay at the san diego salou,i would like to start by saying thankyou to the thomas cook rep michael for all the info he gave us regarding the resort and trips to go on .we found is help and advice useful only downside to him his is support for oafc lol,now for the hotel only downside we found was the time of evening meal 7pm this for me is too late,the time we had finished our meal was going on 7.45 then to wait for the food to settle we found it late for going into town but thats just a personal thing ,the food its self is the norm for a basic 3 star,all in all the price we payed for our stay here wasnt too bad ,good location,local to shops bars etc ,would i stay here again yes but B/B and after ive herd its add a complete makeover

Room Tip: try asking for room 312 corner suite two king size beds plenty off room for two adults or any off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirelad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I went to this hotel in august, the food was ace can not complain about the staff they were very help full. The rooms were a bit small but where just right for whot we needed. My son really enjoyed it and made lots of friends, the water park is about 10mins away and the beachs where within walking distance. there was not alot of childrens actvities in the day time but my son did not miss out the weather was great and he used the pool most of the time.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Just got back from Salou! Went B&B. On arrival we were told that there were no double rooms left and that we would have to spend a night in a single room. Annoying but the hotel offered to upgrade us to full board with free bottles of water and wine with each meal! We thought that it was worth the hassle for one night and the receptionist was very grateful for our co operation.

Be warned - single rooms are tiny! No window and no space to move. I have a box room at home which is bigger! So try and avoid if you can and make sure you get decent compensation if you have no alternative. So that was an uncomfortable first night.

Got a double room first thing the next morning. Much better with a pool view. Room 321 is quite nice and the sun hits it very well.

Good points:

*Friendly staff / very attentive
*Fun entertainment
*Good happy hour
*Good location - right near the main strip and close to the beach

Bad points:

*Dirty towels - we had to request new towels on more than one occasion.
*Paper thin walls! We heard the full breakdown of a relationship on our last night. We heard every word and it went on all night! We should have complained and I'm sure the noisy couple would have been seen to but as it was our last night we couldn't be bothered.
*Opposite a nightclub and can get noisy late at night if you have a pool view.
*Restaurant not ventilated - you will come out smelling as if you've been in a kitchen all day!
*Food was repetitive and we personally found it a tad bland.

All in all we wanted a cheap place to stay and were out most of the time. For the price we paid and the service we received,I'd recommend it. Don't expect a luxury resort!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalpyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Me and my girlfriend (both 19) stayed in this hotel last month and loved it!

We arrived about 11pm and checked in without any problems the rooms were simple but cant complain due to the price we had paid to stay there. Also found 10 euros down the side of the bed side table which was a fine bonus!

The hotel is situated in a great location, 5 minutes away from beach and 5 minutes from the centre with many bars and shops surrounding it.

The entertainment wasnt exactly high budget but was still entertaining and pretty hilarious at times. The parrot show was really good despite having to pay 5 euros for the guy to take a photo of us with them (with our own camera)

The prices of drink in the hotel was cheap enough and from 8 30 - 10 you got 2 for 1 on drinks which meant 4 vodkas + mixer for less than 5 quid.

The food overall was excellent and there was plenty choice for the fussiest of eaters (myself being one). Even had different themed nights. The chef also cooked things like burgers,hot dogs, steaks on demand. The girls also got a rose 1 night which was a nice touch.

Salou - Park was excellent and so was the water park, House of illusions was one of the best nights ever loved every minute of it. One thing that annoyed us was all the people outside trying to get us into different bars and handing out leaflets just try and avoid them and keep saying no and youll be fine.

One of the days our safe had jammed and wouldnt open due to my girlfriends purse zip being stuck in it, the receptionist got a man to come up within 5 minutes to prize it open.

On our last day we were both gutted to have to leave the hotel and salou and would have happily stayed there forever!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hammyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Arrived at the hotel late afternoon, we were checked in and in our room with in 5 minutes. Our room was small but adequate for our needs. The patio door in the room and the aircon did not work and without fuss we were given another room. We were half board and found the meals in the hotel to be very good, there was always a good selection on the counter or you could go to the grill bar and have something cooked for you (Recommend Pancakes in the morning). Our aircon broke down one night but i reported it in the morning and it was fixed within a couple of hours. My wife asked for extra pillows and towels and again no fuss and we had them almost straight away. The evening entertainment wasn't brilliant but the team tried hard to invovle people and the young ones loved it. Salou is a beautifull place and its a lovely walk from the hotel to the town takes a few minutes. If you go to Port Adventure the hotel will book you a Taxi and it costs about 9 euros which isnt bad as your not waiting for a bus or the noddy train. We never booked with Thomas Cook however we booked our trips with the TC Rep and he was very helpfull, you have to go to Barcellona its amazing. The best San Diego is a nice hotel, cheap and cheerfull, 2* not 3*. I would go back to Salou but i would try another hotel. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed when you wanted and bedding every 4 days.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLaity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salou hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Mediterraneo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Los Angeles
Hotel Best Los Angeles
#45 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
Hotel Best Sol D'Or
#37 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oasis Park
Hotel Oasis Park
#26 of 94 in Salou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.1 mi away
4R Salou Park Resort II (Ex Playa Margarita)
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best San Diego

Property: Hotel Best San Diego
Address: Calle Penedes, 23-27, 43840 Salou, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Salou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 94 Hotels in Salou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Best San Diego 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the tourist heart of Salou, only 200m. from Playa Levante and Capellans beaches. Comfortable rooms with fully fitted bathroom, balcony, telephone, satellite TV, security door lock, heating, air conditioning and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine, bar-cafeteria with play area and TV lounge. Terrace with swimming pools (for adults and children) outdoor jacuzzi and children’s area. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: parking, internet corner, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best San Diego Hotel Salou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing