We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be the best around but isnt”

El Mero Los Mellizos
Reserve with
El Mero Los Mellizos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 723 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $117
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El marco mas elegante para gozar de la exquisita calidad de los pescados y mariscos.En el magico Puerto Deportivo de Benalmadena que subyuga a los visitantes en las noches del verano costasoleno , El Mero los Mellizos ,ofrece las mas exquisitas especialidades de la cocina espanola realizada con mimo y maestria por su chef.Todo esto junto a la amable atencion que se presta a los clientes y a su selecto ambiente le convierten en uno de los preferidos de la Costa del Sol y hace imprescindible hacerle una visita.
torremolinos
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It should be the best around but isnt”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This restaurant should be the best around, it has everything, the best pitch over the marina, fantastic interior and i think the only outdoor terrace on the marina overlooking the boats.
We have eaten here on many occasions and i do believe the staff are the worst we have encountered, they are simply there to earn money and not to look after customers.
The prices are expensive and the food just doesnt live up to it. The last time we had red mullet which was almost inedible, overcooked and tastless.

This is one of a chain and without the bigger Casa Juan and Los Mellizos wouldnt be surviving.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank roef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    197
    83
    39
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aston UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Turned up on a Sat night and got a table -local taxi driver recommended this place. Starters were pretty good, but then the nightmare started. we ordered a Paella for 4 and when it arrived it looked as dry as old bones, the 4 prawns on top looked like they had no meat in them and the paella itself was burnt top and bottom and any fish in the rice very dry. We asked to send it back and the waiters said that's what it should be like!! Well it wasn't like any other Paella any of us had ever had and it really wasn't edible. After much persuasion they let us reorder -2 of us had fish which was good but 2 of us ordered Sirloin steaks which were more like a pair of old boots -dreadful! In hindsight probably should have all had fish, but the steak really was awful. We did complain to the manager in the end who did take the steaks off the bill so well done and thank you to the manager, however the attitude of the waiters and the overall experience of the food means we would never return or even recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute must!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Abit embarrassingly we turned up at this restaurant for lunch in slightly informal holiday-wear (not swimwear, but not exactly dressed very nicely for such a nice place), we asked the waiter if our attire was acceptable and he was so friendly and responded 'absolutely' :)

We got the pick of any table so we got the best 2-seater on the terrace-it was bliss, watching the marine world go by, the people, the boats, the fish...this place is perched perfectly to see it all

The food and wine was unbelievable value (well by Britain's standards). The two of us shared a shrimp omelette for starter, both having the lobster thermador for mains and all washed down with a good bottle of white faustino Rioja- 74Euro!

Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great food and wine”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderful view over the marina and above the part of the marina where the crazy bread-loving fish can be found! The staff were a mixed bag - some very friendly and nice and some very quick to leave your table and not speak a word.

Prices are quite expensive, but the food we had was worth it! We had 6 oysters to start, a bottle of rose wine and a chateaubriand to share and the bill came to just over 80 EUR.

Would recommend this place, just for one night though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rouge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting and food. Poor service”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We got a seat out on the balcony which was just lovely. The food was absolutely delicious however we did feel the the service was very poor. We had our two year old with us which did not go down as well here as other restaurants. There was a table beside us that were spending a lot of money and we felt that we were just filling a table. We had to wait a long time to take our order and then at the end to get our bill. They never asked how the meal wasand lots of small things like that. There is no doubt that the food was some of the best we had on holidays but needed to improve on service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmilyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mero Los Mellizos also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Arroyo de la Miel, Benalmadena
 

Been to El Mero Los Mellizos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing