We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful spot”

Plaza Espana Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 63 things to do in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
241 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“wonderful spot”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Plazza Espania, is a lovely spot with 4 restaurants of which two are owned by the same family. The plaza has a great atmosphere, and in a great location to people watch :) ..... there is a lovely shop ... slightly classier than the normal tourist shop .. which sells pictures, mirrors, hand bags, china, its a gem of a shop!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mrcooljanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    81
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N IRELAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ideal spot for a lunchtime drink or an evening meal”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Plaza Espana is a beautiful Square in the heart of the Pueblo. In the centre of the square is a statue of La Nina which has become the symbol of Benalmadena. The Plaza is a sun trap during the day and there`s nothing more relaxing than sitting under the orange trees having a drink, lunch or evening meal in one of the restaurants of which there are four in the square and they are all of very good quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Level Contributor
176 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“If I lived here this bar would be my local.........”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Spain Square is a a place you could literally spend the whole day and people watch.
If I was ever talented enough to become an author I could relax and write a novel here every day!!
Great selection of bars meals and snacks and an excellent local gift shop(not tacky).
My local would be the Manaos bar but for now its my phone screensaver.
Watch for the fresh oranges dropping on your head from the surrounding trees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GAZJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Level Contributor
193 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“a wonderful find”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staying in the main resort of Benamadena we decided to take a trip to the old town. We stumbled accross this restaurant in the main square of the village and having looked at the specials on offer for lunch decided to stop for a bite. I had a tapas selection, selected by the owners, for €10. It was fabulous, i got unusual but fabulous and generous portions of food which were imaginatively executed, my husband got a small portion of mussels but they were amongst the best he has ever tasted and my sons got a variety of croquettes and spaghetti dishes. We also shared a selection of very tasty desserts. This is a brilliant restaurant, my only regret is that we didn't return for an evening meal. The setting amongst orange groves in the lovely square and the very attentive staff added to the overall enjoyment of the meal and the value for the quality of food was excellent. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank iseult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sit and People watch”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

A lovely place surrounded by orange trees and a good stopping point to have a rest and a coffee or something to eat. Three good bars and a lovely restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Espana Benalmadena also viewed

 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Plaza Espana Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing