We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 1:30 PM, 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Review Highlights
A 1 hr visit

It is very surprising so close to Benalmadena Pueblo, a mere 10 minute walk downhill. We got a Taxi... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
billyr442018
,
Wigan, United Kingdom
Total wow factor

Notice this on the way back from supermarket in Benalmàdena Pueblo. Later realised it was a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kevincousins66
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,089 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Benalmadena
Dolphin Trip
160 Reviews
from $18.19
More Info
from $14.78
More Info
from $11.37
More Info
from $13.65
More Info
Reviews (1,089)
Filter reviews
1,089 results
Traveler rating
611
326
123
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
611
326
123
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christopher columbus fairy tale cheap entry small castle worth a visit entrance fee steep hill opening times little gem by accident old village walk around couple of hours great place to visit fantastic views monument folly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,089 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

just a fantastic sight .Affordable entrance fee. it's worth taking a taxi here if you don't have your own car. funny and interesting history on site.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank siljakiuttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

we visited the castle and found it something different to see, on the day we went the temp was 43 degrees so could have done with a cafe there so we could get a drink as it was boiling hot, one tip we looked at walking back up the steep hill or going downhill to fenigerola, take my advice go back up the hill we walked for miles down the hill and all there was at the bottom was the hotels at the end of fuenigerola so we couldnt still get a cold drink and ended up getting the bus back to Benalmedana

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank isseycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019 via mobile

Great place to spend 1h and make beautiful photos. Go there at golden hour. It's a miniature castle dedicated to Cristofor Columb. 2,5 euros entrance fee.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank AlinaGoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

On our way from Granada to Ronda, we made a stop at Benalmádena Pueblo to visit the "Castillo Monumento Colomares". Built between 1987 and 1994, it honors the memory of Christopher Columbus and all brave sea navigators of the 15th century. The Castle's name - "Colomares" mixes the Spanish words "Colón" (for Columbus) and "Mares" (the seas), as well as mixes some of the most important archictecutal styles of those times - Byzantine, Romanesque, Arabic and Gothic. The result couldn't be more tacky! If you are passing by, ok - but I wouldn't recommend anyone to drive all the way to Benalmádena Pueblo to visit such a fake and disappointing "castle". But, many travelers seem to have liked it. Give it try, at your own risk ... Enjoy!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank LuizDutraNeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

We were staying only 15 min walk away so decided to wander along. It was very reasonable and we spent about an hour there looking around. Stunning place.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank hendojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews