We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous show - don't miss it.”

Garden of Eagles (Jardin de Las Aguilas)
Ranked #12 of 64 things to do in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Birds of Prey center
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous show - don't miss it.”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We took the cable car trip and timed the visit to coincide with the bird of prey show. We walked around the top of Monte Calmorro before the show started - there were various birds of prey flying around. We took our seats in the little arena shortly before 1 pm. The show was excellent and commentary was in spanish, english and german - it was a family run show (father and son) and it was evident that they are very passionate about the work they do with these birds. My son volunteered to be part of the act and he loved it and he was given some eagle feathers as a momento of his visit - we thought it was fab - don't miss it

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    43
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Why cant you have wings to fly with?”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The bird show was spectacular and it was great to see at least some of the birds get to experience flight. The vast majority are held chained and tethered to stakes in the ground or else confined to crowded cages. These are all creatures that require more space than can be adequately provided in captivity and despite being surrounded by open sky, their sad lives will eventually come to an end on top of that terrible mountain.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Norwood53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“birds of prey : Benelmadena”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went on the "teleferico" cable cars to the top of mount calamorro. It is a fantastic journey, with such stunning views of Malaga to the east and Fuenguirola to the west . A video camera is a must for the trip, the birds of prey were a once in a lifetime experience. Only video footage can do these birds agility and skill justice, the show is very educational. It is presented by a very enthusiastic team in a very professional manner, they are deeply involved in the conservation of birds of prey. And they have supplied birds for re-introduction to the wild where they were once native but were wiped out. We went in July, it is very hot with no natural shade. So take plenty of water to drink and be prepared to get up close and personal with the birds. All in all a fantastic time

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where eagles dare!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Really good birds of prey show, up close and personal (well harris hawk did land on my head!). Also saw some wild eagles in the area and a mountain goat, well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank clacks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“interesting if you like birds”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

go up the cable car (you get it by aroyas train station) a very good bird show very hot up there during the day so dont forget you sun cream

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bev m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Eagles (Jardin de Las Aguilas) also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Garden of Eagles (Jardin de Las Aguilas)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing