We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sahara Sunset Club by Diamond Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Hotel San Fermin(Benalmadena)
$69
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
MS Alay Apartments(Benalmadena)(Great Value!)
$96
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Holiday Hydros(Benalmadena)
$177
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Best Siroco(Benalmadena)
$101
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Playabonita Hotel(Benalmadena)
$114
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Holiday Village(Benalmadena)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
890 results
Traveler rating
486
288
77
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
288
77
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasbah restaurantdiamond resortsroyal miragerefurbished apartmentindoor poolon site restaurantnon memberstime sharewashing machinedvd playerwell equipped kitchentable tennisnice resortexcellent accommodationmini golfonsite supermarketpaloma park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 890 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked a week at the Sahara Sunset and were delighted when we arrived with the standard of accommodation - what was even better was when the staff brought us champagne for our celebration holiday.
The staff were absolutely brilliant and Sara on reception spent all week hoping to see Mark in his mankini!!! Sorry Sara we couldn't inflict that on you.
The standard of the apartment was excellent (bearing in mind it had not been part of 2013 refurbishment), everything was spotlessly clean and there was everything that you would ever need. The milk in the fridge on our arrival was a nice touch as well - cup of tea after the journey.
The complex was very clean, only niggle was the lifeguards not removing towels from sunbeds in the 1 hour time limit, but we would like to say a very big thank you to all the staff for making our honeymoon so memorable.
When we chose to eat out we found a couple of gems 1. Casa Victoria, Avda, Antonio Machado, 48 29630 where you will be assured a fantastic welcome and attentiveness by Miguel. The set menu is very good but the main menu is wonderful. We spent out last evening there and when we left it was like leaving friends.
2. Bar 76 - 200 yards from hotel on the front - brilliant breakfasts to suit all appetites served by brilliant staff.
AVOID - The Horizon Bar a bit further up the road. Food was disgusting, greasy and that was only when they actually HAD what they were advertising on their menu. Totally dis interested staff - definitely give this a wide berth!

We can say we will go back and look forward to even more good times at the Sahara

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We’re delighted that you chose to spend your honeymoon at the Sahara Sunset Club, and that you had a wonderful time here! The resort staff make every effort to ensure that guests aren’t reserving sunbeds while they’re not using them, and we’re sorry for any oversights in this regard. We’re really pleased that your stay was an otherwise lovely one, though, and that you’d like to return here – we can’t wait to see you again!

Salvatore DiCaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we stayed here last week with my mum & dad and our 2 year old who are gold members. Lovely resort, great location across road from beach, 5 minute walk to some superb beachside restaurants. 10 minutes walk to the Selwo Marina dolphin park.

we had a 2 bed apartment & a 1 bed apartment near the front of the resort on 1st floor. recently refurbished and well appointed with everything you need and more. huge balcony overlooking the pitch & putt.

staff were all great and food in restaurant was lovely. as usual people do try and hog sunbeds but the life guards are great at monitoring it and we always managed to get some.

some confusion over booking transfer back to the airport with a 2 year old who needed car seat, spanish receptionist trying to tell us to just take 2 taxis and put her on our lap, but english receptionist was great and sorted it for us. will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased to read that you had a fantastic time at the Sahara Sunset Club! We strive to provide excellent service to all our members and guests, and we’re sorry to learn that you experienced some inconvenience regarding your transfer back to the airport, but we’re glad that our team were able to sort this out for you. We’re delighted that you’re planning to return here, and we can’t wait to see you again!

Salvatore DiCaro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Arrived quite late on a Thursday evening,given a flat on a top floor(4th)on a building without a lift,the receptionist didn't even bother to ask if you need any help with our luggage,or if we can manage to climb up the stairs.
Stayed in Sierra royal wing which is a separate building behind the actual complex,which has a little pool.
Advice-don't bother to go to the pool as the over aged people leave their towels on the sun loungers so you will never get one.
The so called evening entertainment next to this little pool is something between Benidorm(Brits know what a mean)and The Shinning.some wannabes singers screaming old 80's songs.
The cleaning was done just once in 5 days.
Anyway,the nasty surprises are:the Sierra wing is suppose to be quieter,well it's not,as 2 dogs left constantly alone are barking mad until about 12 midnight.
Bear in mind I love dogs as I have one in UK too.
We were about to leave,the rooms needs vacated at 10am sharp which is quite bad,never heard of such an early check out.
At 10 sharp the Chambermaid rand the bell and burst inside the apartment,I was half naked but not too shy so nevermind that bit still...
Anyway the surprise was at last,when I went to the main reception to leave the cards,I was asked title an extra €10 as they've done a mistake into charging me less when I booked???
I booked through booking.com so what was mistake? I don't know.
Anyway,I will never come back to this resort.they basically charging at least €90 per night for a little apartment,quite dated.You can easilyfound pprivately owned apartments for half of the price,especially 2013 were the cheapest prices charged in Spain due to high unemployment.
I am leaving with a bitter taste from a country I love and perhaps want to retire to when the time comes

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We regret to read that you appear to have had a disappointing stay here at Sahara Sunset Club and we would like to respond to some of the issues mentioned by you in your review.
Firstly we would like to kindly note that we do not have a porter and although our friendly team will always try and offer to help with the luggage should there be a need for their assistance, it is not always possible. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We appreciate that you were not entirely satisfied with the apartment you were occupying, however we assure you that the ongoing refurbishment program we have has been implemented in order to bring all apartments to the unified high standard and although we are of course very sorry if your room was not to your liking, we would like to kindly note that we feel this is a spacious apartment and perfectly suitable for guest occupation. With reference to the sun beds issue, we would like to respectfully advise that we have what we believie to be a sufficient number of sun beds and when the resort is at its capacity there simply would not be enough space around the pool area to accommodate all the guests simultaneously. We would however like to mention that since we have implemented the new regulations to stop guests reserving their loungers with personal belongings, we have received hardly any complaints with regards to this matter.
As for the barking dogs-we apologise if this inconvenienced you in any way, however we need to advise that this is not a resort-related issue as there are some private apartments around the resort and we hope you will appreciate that we are not in a position to prevent our neighbours from keeping pets at their own properties.
We appreciate the fact that 10am may not be a suitable check-out time for you. This however is our official check out time and it has been scheduled to ensure that our housekeeping team is able to prepare the apartments for the arriving guests. Please be advised that, availability allowing, there is a late checkout option available, this however needs to be requested up front and is subject to the resorts discretion. Finally, we would like to once again apologise for the misunderstanding that appears to have taken place at the checkout, as you know we have now refunded 10 Euro to you.
We would like to reiterate our apologies with regards to your dissatisfaction and we are of course very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Sahara Sunset and Spain in general. We assure you we have a lot to offer and would be grateful for another chance. In the meantime however we wish you safe travels.

Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Steps from Benalmadena promenade and all that it has to offer.Beautiful well equipped apartments.Fantastic staff who go that extra mile.Small bar/restaurant on site with entertainment.Small supermarket nearby.Close to shops ,bars,bus stops etc.Indoor pool and spa on site.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are lovely,but pool view obviously the nicest.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank birdswhobrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club by Diamond Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and had a good time here with us, thank you for sharing your impressions!

Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have recently returned from this hotel and had an amazing time. My husband an I took our 2 children 9 and 2 and I have to say they loved it. The entertainment program during the day for the children and adults was excellent. The pools were also manned with lifeguards every minute every day from when it opened until it closed so i new my children were safe. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a pool view and could also see over to the sea. The room was very spacious fully equipped with TV in main living area/DVD/iPod doc. The main bedroom also had a TV with lots of English channels. Kitchen was fully equipped so was ideal if you wanted to eat in. Staff in the casbah restaurant on site were very friendly and helpful and I must mention Diego and Bradley were lovely. There is an option to go half board here for 19.95 euros pp per day which was great. Full English for breakfast and 3 course evening meal all food was delicious and good sized portions.


Indoor swimming pool is fantastic very modern with jacuzzi.

I loved this place so much I am now looking to buy a week (timeshare) here so we can return year on year. It's ideal, close to beach, harbour, lots of shops, restaurants and 20 minutes from malaga airport via taxi 25 euros

Would highly recommend

The Locke/Morrey family

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vlocke1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews