We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2012”
Review of Sahara Sunset Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sahara Sunset Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hello to you all at Sahara Sunset Club, have been a member since 1997, returned 29th December, thankyou for a lovely Christmas, appartment H1 perfect, for 4 of us, my partner, son & grandson, overlooking the pool and the bar, the couple of meals we had were lovely and not too expensive, the staff second to none, cleaning almost every-day, some days we said no as we were not making that much mess, I guess we had an appartment that had not been up dated, but who wants a washing/dish washer, the weather was a mixture of sun rain & clouds but it was December, so who cares, its a break from the normal stuff at home, So thankyou once again see you some time. Check out no problems. Taxis outside waiting for you. Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pig857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable time here with us – thank you for your review! It is very important to us to ensure that our guests can celebrate moments important to them in a homelike atmosphere and therefore we are happy to hear that you have spent your Christmas surrounded by welcoming team members and in good quality apartments. We hope that you may be returning for another visit - we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards
Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for Sahara Sunset Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 828 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at Sahara Sunset. Check in was quick and efficient. We had requested an apartment which got sun all day and were allocated Royal Palms D1 which was ideal.The apartment was not one of the refurbished ones but was fine. The bed was a double - could have done with a bigger one as we have a king size at home. Cleaning was well done. We were quite happy with our stay and had the bonus of a week of excellent weather.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you managed to escape the winter blues and enjoyed a week of sunshine here at Sahara Sunset Club! We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards
Salvatore Di Caro
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We where so positive surprised by the visit. Great service, apartments that has everything you need and a lovely pool area, indoor pool, jacuzzi, and SPA for free. (you have to pay for massage) Great situated close to fantastic walking area by the ocean beach.

The only tiny bad bart is that they will reserve 200 Euro as a deposit for the room. No info about that when we made the reservation. And please remember to ask the to give it back when you check out. We will soon go back again...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pe0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Sahara Sunset Club!

We’re very concerned that you weren’t notified in advance that a security deposit was required, however. This is standard procedure at all our European resorts, and should have been noted on your booking confirmation. This deposit is reversed upon check-out.

We really hope that this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we’re delighted that you’re planning to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Salvatore DiCaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sahara Sunset Club over the Christmas period, and although we did not have a refurbished apartment the standard of accommodation was still very good. This meant we did not have the dish washer or washing machine; did not miss either as spend plenty of time with both when I am at home, and we were only two people. The staff are the best thing about the resort being both friendly and polite at all times., Would highly recommend the Sahara as a place to stay for anyone of any age.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main facilities.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TinaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from taking my wife on a 60th birthday treat. We really enjoyed our week at the Sahara Sunset. We were given one of the refurbished apartments which was excellent in all ways. It had all mod cons - dishwasher, washing machine, large flat screen televisions in both the lounge and bedroom, ipod docking units in lounge and bedroom, DVD player as well as quality furniture throughout. The Casbah offered up quality food with very pleasant staff to serve you. As well as two outside pools, there is also a heated indoor pool with jacuzzi. There is also a gym and spa which guests can use free of charge. Massages are available at a charge. All basics can be bought at the resort shop or from the supermarket just round the corner. Like others, I felt the wi-fi should have been free for a quality resort such as this. Maybe the management can consider this for future guests? Will return in the future. Thanks.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from Sahara Sunset on 28th Dec. where we spent Christmas with our family. We had a wonderful time and as we had two children with us, the resort had arranged for Santa Claus (Father Christmas) to visit us. Spotlessly clean, well equiped apartments. Only one thing wrong was wifi, which we had to pay for, so we went to McDonalds to get it free. Will be back there sometime in the future. Well done Sahara.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bootsyboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that your stay at the Sahara Sunset Club the Christmas was a memorable and enjoyable one!

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the Wi-Fi, however. As Sahara Sunset is primarily a holiday ownership property, we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer free Wi-Fi to guests. Most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those guests who didn’t use the internet.

We really hope this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we’re delighted that you’d like to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Salvatore DiCaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

As we are RCI members, not Diamond Resort members, we were handed a room that was not yet refurbished, although we did request a pool view room, which was much appreciated. Check in was superb, and earlier than the advertised check in time. The bed however was awful! Don't get me wrong, the room was plenty sizeable, and comfortable enough for our needs. The Wifi cost is a rip off, surely in this day and age free Wifi should be a given, as it is in many resorts around the world, or, at least a reasonable cost, I feel 30euros is to much for 7 day, especially if you are catering for more than 1 device. The Casbah Cafe was pleasant enough, with friendly staff, and the meals nice. Lots of activities on site, to keep most amused. All in all, decent enough for our weeks requirements.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank D.N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Sahara Sunset Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We’re sorry to read that there were aspects of your recent stay at the Sahara Sunset Club that caused you dissatisfaction. The resort is undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment, and we’re sorry that it wasn’t possible to allocate a refurbished apartment for you on this occasion. We encourage our guests to speak to the front desk team if they have any concerns about their accommodation, as we’ll do everything we can to find a satisfactory resolution.

Please allow us to explain that we aren’t currently able to provide free Wi-Fi to exchange guests, as the cost for this service would have to be incorporated into the resort’s maintenance fees, thus charging the timeshare owners here for a service that they themselves weren’t using. We’ve noted your concerns about the cost of this service, and this is something that we’re reviewing for the future.

We really hope this issue didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay. We’d love for you to give this resort another try, and we hope we’ll see you again!

Resort Manager
Salvatore DiCaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.0 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Sunset Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Sunset Club

Address: Avenida Rocio Jurado S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range: $62 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sahara Sunset Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish inspired architecture is not the only distinctive feature of Sahara Sunset. This year round resort is built around a large and beautifully landscaped pool with a bridge spanning over to its own island.Sahara Sunset has everything required for a superb family stay. Each of the beautifully furnished accommodations benefits from its own private balcony or terrace, while leisure facilities include outdoor and indoor pools and a relaxing whirlpool.You will also find a warm welcome at the Casbah Café where you can enjoy a casual meal and sip exotic delights on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahara Sunset Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Sunset Club Hotel Benalmadena
Sahara Sunset Club Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing