We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Betania”
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Betania
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Betania”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for three days last week 15th April 2014 and we thought it was a great little hotel. We arrived by car and there is plenty of free parking on the street outside which is very quiet,The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms, although small were clean and modern. We were in 403 which involved changing lifts at floor 2 which was a bit unusual but not a problem. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it provided you were looking for a 2 star hotel. We didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on it .If you want 5 star luxury go down the road and pay for it. What I would say is that the road from the sea front is quite steep so bear this in mind if you dont fancy getting some excercise,

Room Tip: we were in 403 nice and quiet with sea view. Remember to change lifts at floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank altaylo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Manager at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Queridos clientes muchas gracias por su amable critica..deseamos tenerles de nuevo entre nosotros, recuerden al hacer su proxima reserva que ya han sido clientes del hotel para beneficiarse de alguna oferta o descuento que tengamos para clientes que repite. Gracias e nuevo. Saludos cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    85
    82
    39
    79
See reviews for
28
170
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My Friend and I stayed here for one night in February... Rooms and Bathrooms are basic but clean, the hotel lobby is very clean and tidy also... There is one small room with two computers allowing for internet access at a cost of around 1 euro for half an hour....

The breakfast is rather small however, just 2 slices of toast with jam, glass of juice and either a Tea or Coffee...

The hotel is very cheap to stay in and great for just a night or two... Its pretty close to the main hub of Benalmadena, with its shops, bars and resturants... you're looking at around a 15 minute walk to the marina along the promenade and around 10 mins through the park to the train station, local shops and Benalmadena cable car...

I've stayed in Benalmadena before so this was perfect for a cheap little stop over before our journey onwards.

Room Tip: If wanting a nice view ask for higher floor as there is an apartment block opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammy435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Manager at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Google Translation
Estimados Sres. Muchas gracias por su amable critica. Esperamos de nuevo que nos visiten y recuerden que al hacer la reserva digan que ya han sido clientes pues podrian beneficiarse de algun tipo de descuento que se encuentre vigente segun la fecha. Muchas gracias por su estancia y saludos cordiales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

ok like other people have said this hotel is cheap,thats about the only good thing about it though.anyone who has read any of my other reviews will know i try to give an honest opinion.we got what we asked for a double bed with sea view and the view was amazing from a great big balcony.room 308.it was clean yes as the cleaners tried to get in every day,in fact 2 or 3 times a day,not much fun when your trying to have a relaxing time,i dont know where we were supposed to go when they cleaned the room itself was only 10ftx10ft square,pics to follow,the shower was lethal and the bar and restaurant werent open all the time we were there.this was a shame as we would have spent quiet a bit cash in the hotel especially as the weather wasnt that good,and to be honest we didnt really always fancy going out but had no option as the room was so cold.we always stay in low budget hotels and i always try and find something positive to stay but regarding the betania i cant come up with anything.the staff werent particulaly friendly most of the time they had their back to you and spent all their time on computers.like i say in title never again

Room Tip: ask for sea view on the balcony and double bed if your going in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank supamac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Betania in Benalmadina.
It is definately not a 4-5 star hotel. But then for £394 for flights and accomodation for a week for two, what can you expect.
I asked for a sea view but being in room 106 on first floor yes, we were facing the sea but couldnt actually see it.

Room was the smallest I have ever stayed in but then I usually do 4 or 5 star hotels and not 2 star. The bed was about a foot off the wall at the bottom.
There was a shower with a plastic curtain.

**** Note to the hotel management
Please install proper room lighting. It is far to dark with just two lamps. I could not read in bed at all! there is no central bulb.

The staff were friendly. Although some spoke less English than others.
I did wait three days to get extra pillows.

Rooms were cleaned every day and new bedding and towels given. Although not Egyptian cotton. (lol)

The hotel itself is a bit higgledy piggledy. We were on floor one, so to get to the swimming pool on three, we had to go to floor two in the lift, walk across to the next lift or stairs and go up another floor.
No idea how those on floors four or five got to the pool!

The pool area is fab. Great big terrace overlooking the sea with loads of sunbeds and the pool is round the corner with more sunbeds.
Pool is ice cold and has ladder steps and also created steps into the pool. Although I think these are dangerous. The top step is about a foot down and the rest are around half a foot.
I bet a few people have misjudged this first step and fell in...... : (
You can go to the pool via the steps at reception (see photo)

We didnt have breakfast but on second floor there was a little restaurant that did toast and jam and coffee etc.
Also there were loads of sofas and reading books and magazines if you wanted to chill

On the ground floor was another place for eating but it was closed. But also loads of sofas and an internet room. I think it was 50 cents for 15 minutes.
Also loads of leaflets on places to go and things to do.
There were three machines for cold drinks, hot drinks and snacks, including sandwiches.

There is a lovely and cheap supermarket round the corner.

Must point out the shuttle driver from Urbis dropped us at the back of the hotel which is not signed very well from there and it took us a good 20 minutes asking various people where it was. He should have dropped us on the next street.

There is a park up over from the hotel

We did a bus tour and got a free butterfly park visit thrown in, as its winter season. The butterfly park was worth a visit. Very calming.

Get yourself on the cable car and mountain bike back down.... It takes about 15 mins in the cable car
There is a falconry display at the top of the mountain and walks. Put on safe shoes.....

We also visited Gibraltar for the day. If you want cheap booze wait till you get to Gibraltar. I was amazed that you could get a bottle of whisky for as little as £4.75, even Grouse was only £8

You could have a very cheap holiday here. You could take your own food and booze out onto the sun terrace if you wanted.

I would go to the Betania again if I was booking a two star place.

Room Tip: High floor for sea view but you might need to change lifts to get up there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dreamo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

some peoples reviews on this hotel are awfull i stayed here a few weeks ago it is clean and staff were ok people should read up on places before booking if you want 4* 5* rooms then pay for them this is a 2* and i think it is a good place to stay for a cheep holiday so instead of people ripping it apart pay the extra money for all your mod cons nice staff nice hotel

Room Tip: choose a double bed if traveling as a couple and ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here in 2012. Only paid 300 for the flights and hotel so can't really complain. The rooms were small and basic but clean. The breakfast wasn't great but it was more of a party holiday. The room did have a lovely view of the sea and is quite a handy location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegalgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

On arrival we were told by the receptionist that we had been booked into a twin room but that she could change it to a double, which she kindly did.
There was no assistance to our room with our bags and no information was given to us about the facilities, or as we found out later, lack of facilities in the "hotel".
When we got to our room there were two things that hit us; firstly the heat, there is no air conditioning and the ceiling fan hadn't been switched on for our arrival. The second thing was the small size of the room.
The following morning the breakfast wasn't worth having.
Most of the staff were friendly, there was just one girl who was hostile.
The rooms would be better serving single people, and the layout of the place is bizarre. All I can think is the architect was a dwarf on acid.
I don't mind roughing it a bit, and looking back there were so many funny things about the "hotel". We didn't let the place ruin our holiday.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and don't have breakfast. Okay if you just want a crash pad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bishop69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
603 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#6 of 45 in Benalmadena
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Property: Hotel Betania
Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing