We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHERE'S MY BREAKFAST”
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Betania
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hi, i booked bed and breakfast for 3 nights from 29/12/12. The Hotel information said it is a buffet breakfast, but on offer was only a luke warm cup of coffee, 2 slices of stale bread, a nob of butter with a bit of jam, then pointed in the direction of the toaster. Ok it was very quiet in the hotel, so understand about no buffet, but after haveing paid in advance for breakfast, i exspected a little more than what was on offer. The rooms are very small, but clean and tidy, the rooms lack only, tea or coffee makeing facilities, which would have been nice to make a hot coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 330 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Went late October 2012 as a last minute break, beach weather was glorious, the Mediterranean was freezing..lol. With the sun out it was 27-28 degrees. The Hotel is very close to the Beach, 5 minute stroll and 25 minutes brisk walk to train station through a lovely and tranquil Municipal Park with Water Fountain, Lake and free roaming animals like Chickens and Rabbits! The Beds were far too stiff (like most spanish beds), Shower was refreshing and lots of hot water. Reception Staff extremely friendly and smiling. There is a 20 euro deposit to pay on arrival but you do get this back, but please note that this is a hotel and NOT a hostel - it's too nice to be a hostel. Safe area and clean. The public areas a bit to quiet and need some attention. Breakfast was basic, but filling - I think there were only about 15-20 people in the hotel during my stay as I sneakily saw the breakfast attendance sheet..lol. Nice thing about this hotel is it is quiet, the beach is quiet and peaceful - sunbathe and just do what you want. A walk to Torremelinos is a nice 1.5 hours and then bus back. Also I took a cable car to the top of the Mountain from Benalmadena (Telefrico Cable Car) IS A MUST.. Gibraltar is a MUST.. Malaga is lovely for a half a day (afternoon). I love the Costa Del Sol - so cheap to eat out! Chinese 3 course meal (7.95 Euros!).. Coffee 1.50 Euros and All you can eat Asian Buffet with Terranaki Choices just 9.95 Euros!.. Bargain! I will return, maybe go to Fuengirola next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JetsetZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por su opinion. Esperemos vuelva a alojarse en nuestro establecimiento. Dia a dia queremos ir mejorando y agradecemos mucho su opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

myself (22year old female) and my mum (50) just came back from a 4 night stay at the hotel Betania (end of September)
The only good thing about this hotel is the location. The very small room has no kitchenette it's just a small bedroom with an en-suite shower room. There's no air con, just a very noisy fan, which doesn't keep you cool, you have to pay 20 euro deposit which you get back and get given a remote - no point if you're english, there are no english channels at all on the TV.

To give it some credit it probably is a case of ' you get what you pay for ' as it is cheap! rooms are tidied daily with clean towels every day. the location is just up a little hill (small supermarket for essentials in the next street down 2mins away) at the bottom of the hill is the main road where you can catch the bus (110 or 120) to Torremolinos left or Fuengerola right. its 1.45euros each to these areas, zoneB.
Would recommend heading towards Torremolinos, asking for Puerta Marina, once off the bus take the first right and walk down that street, there is the Marina with plenty of restaurants and shops. The buses run til about 12am.
Also if you want some night life, get off the same stop but instead of turning right down to the Marina, walk ahead and on your left is like a little square with bars!

I couldn't have stayed in this hotel more than 4 nights, the pictures look better than real life. The pool isn't all that. There's no entertainment at the hotel, don't stay if you have kids! Look for a bigger hotel.
Can't comment on food at the hotel - never ate there after seeing bad reviews about the food. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants to eat in the area!

Oh and the beach is just at the bottom of the hill too, couple of minutes walk from the hotel. It rained when we went away so didn't get to use it! it does cost 9 euros per day for 2 sun loungers on the beaches.

If you want a day out shopping, get the bus to Torremolinos, and you'll see where to get off (we followed the crowd) it's 1.45 euros again for bus. once off the bus head right and bustling with shops and cafes!

Overall, i would not stay at this hotel again, the only tidy thing was the location!
I would only recommend if it was maybe a few days stay and you didn't mind a B+B style 'hotel'.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KRees_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked the Hotel Betania for a 5 night stay as a treat for my 11 year old niece. There was just the two of us and it was her first time abroad so I was really nervous about what I had got us both in to after reading the reviews on here but, I have to say, I breathed a HUGE sigh of relief when I walked in and saw that Basil Fawlty wasn't behind reception, Manuel was nowhere to be seen and that the place looked, well, fine!!

The location is excellent and the view from most of the patios/balconies is of the sea. It literally is a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach. Luckily we discovered the marina on our first night and am so glad we did otherwise our options for evening meals and drinks would have been pretty limited so make it a must to find that! It is about a 20 minute walk but there are so many restaurants and bars on the way that you don't really notice the walk.

The staff on reception were friendly but not overly helpful. One didn't even know how we could get to aqualand using public transport, despite displaying leaflets for it which said 'ask at your hotel for details'. It wasn't too much of a problem as she did call a taxi for us which cost €11 which wasn't too bad.

We stayed room only which I was pleased about as there are so many cafe's/restaurants nearby where you can get great food from.

Our main issues with the room itself was the fact that it was so hot and had no air con. It made it unbearable some nights! There is a ceiling fan in the rooms but unless we slept with the balcony door open, it didn't offer much relief from the heat. We seemed to get used to it tho! The second issue was the fact that everytime one of us had a shower, the bathroom would flood which would flood into the bedroom. After 2 showers we would have to use the bath mat and a towel to mop the floor up!

Having said all this, it was better than what I was expecting! At the end of the day, it's not a luxury hotel and it therefore doesn't charge luxury prices. It was cheap and cheerful and, for the amount of time we spent in it, ideal!! The location is the best thing about this hotel and, for that reason alone, I would rate it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

3 couples on a weeks break in February .We chose this place for location & price.On arrival we were given keys to rooms which were small but clean & perfectly adequate,requested extra pillows &immediately brought to us. Although breakfast at this time of year is bread &jam &tea or coffee for what we had paid no complaints.Nice coffee/hot chocolate machine & also snacks machine in reception,replenished everyday,nice touch.Round the corner a bar called The Belfry,very nice staff a fun quiz good atmosphere.Would also recommend the eating places on the front starting with a place I think was called Bar 76,lovely food and the staff were great when one of our group took poorly one night,they really looked after her. All in all a very good week for the whole group.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed about the same ,some with twin beds & others with doub Es.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madge113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear customer thank you very much for your critical opinion about our hotel. We,d like you return to hotel Betania. thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Booked Betina last minute as our flights to egypt were postponed due to unrest last feb. I have stayed in many hotels but this one has to rank as the worst. The breakfast, if you can call it that was self toasted awful bread through a single machine that was designed to stop anyone eating to much as it took ages to toast the bread with staff watching to make sure you didnt pinch any for later (some hope) plus tea or coffee. Rooms were tiny and although we had a decent balcony (shared) this is the exception as most were tiny almost window boxes or straight onto public areas. The shower leaked so badly it flooded the room. Bar was a waste of time as always closed. Staff could'nt care less. The lift arrangement is a bit weird but this is because the place is built into the side of a hill so the ground floor at the front is several floors beneath the ground floor at the rear where the pool is situated. Only saving grace is its close to the huge local park which is home to all sorts of unwanted pets running free, well worth a visit but take some lettuce for the rabbits they are everywhere.

Room Tip: Best avoid unless you like a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

to echo andrews from 22feb12review . my wife and i stayed here 21feb to 28th 2012. where to start room 2 single beds table between had to squeeze between them to move round room. shower cubicle 4 inch high 2 sides other 2 sides tiled walls no bath but heard from other guests had to sit knees under chin for bath.shower curtain only on two open sides floor flooded when showering .balcony about 6 inches wide just window box size could jut stand 1 at a time on it.2 lifts to reach 4 floor along corridor past so called dining room breakfast nov to april 2stale bead to toast 1 tub butter 1 pot jam 1 tea or coffee each after that if you wanted it i think? tea 1 euro slice of bread 50 cents same jam and butter.no water in very small pool in feb 3 sunbeds round it roof ok when you walk thro maze of corridors and locked door roof great views 12 sunbeds weged door to roof open with plant pot pot.very noisey even tho only part if that full.full breakfast 1 each bacon egg etc start april bet thats good.dont stay here camp if need be

Room Tip: dont go but if you do ask for family room even if only 2 of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ang321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.1 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
472 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#7 of 45 in Benalmadena
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $29 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing