We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical 3* hotel…really not that bad!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Betania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Betania
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical 3* hotel…really not that bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked the Hotel Betania for a 5 night stay as a treat for my 11 year old niece. There was just the two of us and it was her first time abroad so I was really nervous about what I had got us both in to after reading the reviews on here but, I have to say, I breathed a HUGE sigh of relief when I walked in and saw that Basil Fawlty wasn't behind reception, Manuel was nowhere to be seen and that the place looked, well, fine!!

The location is excellent and the view from most of the patios/balconies is of the sea. It literally is a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach. Luckily we discovered the marina on our first night and am so glad we did otherwise our options for evening meals and drinks would have been pretty limited so make it a must to find that! It is about a 20 minute walk but there are so many restaurants and bars on the way that you don't really notice the walk.

The staff on reception were friendly but not overly helpful. One didn't even know how we could get to aqualand using public transport, despite displaying leaflets for it which said 'ask at your hotel for details'. It wasn't too much of a problem as she did call a taxi for us which cost €11 which wasn't too bad.

We stayed room only which I was pleased about as there are so many cafe's/restaurants nearby where you can get great food from.

Our main issues with the room itself was the fact that it was so hot and had no air con. It made it unbearable some nights! There is a ceiling fan in the rooms but unless we slept with the balcony door open, it didn't offer much relief from the heat. We seemed to get used to it tho! The second issue was the fact that everytime one of us had a shower, the bathroom would flood which would flood into the bedroom. After 2 showers we would have to use the bath mat and a towel to mop the floor up!

Having said all this, it was better than what I was expecting! At the end of the day, it's not a luxury hotel and it therefore doesn't charge luxury prices. It was cheap and cheerful and, for the amount of time we spent in it, ideal!! The location is the best thing about this hotel and, for that reason alone, I would rate it a 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    72
    73
    35
    78
See reviews for
25
152
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

3 couples on a weeks break in February .We chose this place for location & price.On arrival we were given keys to rooms which were small but clean & perfectly adequate,requested extra pillows &immediately brought to us. Although breakfast at this time of year is bread &jam &tea or coffee for what we had paid no complaints.Nice coffee/hot chocolate machine & also snacks machine in reception,replenished everyday,nice touch.Round the corner a bar called The Belfry,very nice staff a fun quiz good atmosphere.Would also recommend the eating places on the front starting with a place I think was called Bar 76,lovely food and the staff were great when one of our group took poorly one night,they really looked after her. All in all a very good week for the whole group.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed about the same ,some with twin beds & others with doub Es.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madge113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenaventura O, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Betania, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear customer thank you very much for your critical opinion about our hotel. We,d like you return to hotel Betania. thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Booked Betina last minute as our flights to egypt were postponed due to unrest last feb. I have stayed in many hotels but this one has to rank as the worst. The breakfast, if you can call it that was self toasted awful bread through a single machine that was designed to stop anyone eating to much as it took ages to toast the bread with staff watching to make sure you didnt pinch any for later (some hope) plus tea or coffee. Rooms were tiny and although we had a decent balcony (shared) this is the exception as most were tiny almost window boxes or straight onto public areas. The shower leaked so badly it flooded the room. Bar was a waste of time as always closed. Staff could'nt care less. The lift arrangement is a bit weird but this is because the place is built into the side of a hill so the ground floor at the front is several floors beneath the ground floor at the rear where the pool is situated. Only saving grace is its close to the huge local park which is home to all sorts of unwanted pets running free, well worth a visit but take some lettuce for the rabbits they are everywhere.

Room Tip: Best avoid unless you like a challenge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

to echo andrews from 22feb12review . my wife and i stayed here 21feb to 28th 2012. where to start room 2 single beds table between had to squeeze between them to move round room. shower cubicle 4 inch high 2 sides other 2 sides tiled walls no bath but heard from other guests had to sit knees under chin for bath.shower curtain only on two open sides floor flooded when showering .balcony about 6 inches wide just window box size could jut stand 1 at a time on it.2 lifts to reach 4 floor along corridor past so called dining room breakfast nov to april 2stale bead to toast 1 tub butter 1 pot jam 1 tea or coffee each after that if you wanted it i think? tea 1 euro slice of bread 50 cents same jam and butter.no water in very small pool in feb 3 sunbeds round it roof ok when you walk thro maze of corridors and locked door roof great views 12 sunbeds weged door to roof open with plant pot pot.very noisey even tho only part if that full.full breakfast 1 each bacon egg etc start april bet thats good.dont stay here camp if need be

Room Tip: dont go but if you do ask for family room even if only 2 of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ang321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Betania by Taxi from Malaga airport, which only took 20 minutes. Our passports were scanned on arrival and we were asked for a 20 Euro deposit for the key and remote control for the TV. This seemed a little strange but it didn't bother us at all and we were refunded the 20 Euros at the end of our stay.

Our room was on the 5th floor but instead of getting into the lift up to the 5th floor (which seemed quite logical), we had to get the first lift to the second floor then walk across a kind of lounge area (next to the entrance to the dining room) and enter a second lift to the 5th floor, this seemed quite bizarre but we certainly got used to it after a day or two.

The room was basic. Although we were a couple they gave us 2 single beds, OK we could have asked for a double and I am sure they would have been able to change the room for us, but we decided to put up with it. The room was fairly small (12 feet x 12 feet; 4m x 4m) but was adequate (just!). It had a safe, TV, table, built-in mirrored wardrobe and a very small balcony, which was nothing more than a rail outside of the room (i.e. you could sit outside and admire the sea view, you had to stand!)

The bathroom was again adequate, a shower inside a small bath (the bath was only small enough to sit in). The shower head needed renewing as the head wasn't attached properly. It meant that to get a shower you had to stand directly under it as there was little power in it. There was also a strange smell in the bathroom which was probably from the drains. There were three sockets in total in the rooms which we used for charging up phones and camera batteries.

The breakfast was the most disappointing part of our visit, 2 pieces of stale bread, butter and marmalade or jam and the choice of tea or coffee. The coffee had a nasty taste to it. You had to grill the toast yourself which took around 5 minutes each side. Surely they could have done much better than that, even some ham and cheese would have been welcome - you don't need a chef to produce ham and cheese. I was expecting a continental breakfast not 2 pieces of stale bread. This has to be the worst breakfast I have ever had in any hotel ever. In fact I wouldn't even call it breakfast!

The breakfast service was usually fairly good except for one morning, the waiter decided to make a long phone call, he let us in after 3 minutes of knocking and continued with his phone call, which we could both hear. He even had assistance in the kitchen! Assistance! To serve 2 pieces of bread and a hot drink to a maximum of 6 guests at a time!!! It took us 15 minutes to eventually receive our 2 slices of bread. We were due to visit Gibraltar on a trip so we didn't have much time. I nearly walked into the kitchen and helped myself.

On the last night, Saturday, the couple next door came in a 4:00am and kept us awake until 5:30, the walls were so thin and the rooms echoed you could even hear the next door guests pissing in the bathroom! The hotel had around 8 rooms let, so could you imagine the noise resonating around the hotel when it's full in the Summer (if it ever gets full!)

Overall, we put up with a fairly poor hotel. It was clean but they could have done much more to make our stay more pleasurable and a breakfast we will never forget! Many of the doors leading to the outdoor areas, such as the roof terrace were locked.

Please don't stay at this hotel, there are much more impressive ones in the area.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel for a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Hurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We decided to go to Spain for Christmas,and looked at lots of different Hotels and area's,and when we decided on Hotel Betania,we looked at the reviews which were not very good at all.
The breakfast for example was continental over the winter period,as they don't have a chef at this time of year.We booked room only[take a kettle ] as there was ample bars and cafe's with-in 2 mins walk from the hotel,who serve full english at 5 euros which was 2eggs,2bacon,2sausage tomatoes, beans and Hash brownsblack pud,toast and a drink which is a great price and cooked lovely.It is 2 mins walk to the beach and the main road,so slept well,as there were no traffic noise.
The Hotel was immaculate though basic and our room spotless,and staying for a month was great [weather brill too ].There is a little shop around the corner where you can buy papers and a few supermarkets in walking distance,there is even a Lidl .The staff were warm and friendley including the receptionist Michaila,who told us of all the things happening in the area and beyond.She is a lovely person and helped in any way she could,even down to using the computer and Skype.All in all a great hol and we will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Don't stay here !!!!!!! I stayed here with my neice and although the place was reasonably clean as the week went on I noticed all you got were clean towels every day. A £20 deposit was requested when we arrived for the remote and any damage done to the room during our stay. Needless to say the curtains in our room fell down and we did not get our deposit back (surprise, surprise)even though it wasnt our fault. When i complained all I got was the Managers dont speak english HA!!!! Not good. I would not stay there again if it was the last place on earth,the shower was broken and the towel holders were falling off the wall. The rooms are very small and no balconies. The only saving grace was the receptionist's they were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast consisted off 2 slices of stale bread which if you needed toasting you had to do it yourself and marmalade. The pool wasn't available. So we went to a nearby hotel and used theirs. A hotel I would recomend would be the Los Arenos the staff are so freindly and the hotel is lovely right opposite the beach we went there in the evenings for entertainment .

Room Tip: Dont choose one, dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SubaruDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#36 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#37 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Betania

Property: Hotel Betania
Address: Calle Contreras 12 | Benalmadena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Betania 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Betania Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Betania Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing