We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what holidays are all about”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is what holidays are all about”
Reviewed September 14, 2007

We have just returned from two weeks at the holiday village. We were impressed with the hotel. It was clean and fairly large. We have 2 kids a 4 year old and a 14 year old so wanted something for them both to do and not get bored.This was the place to go. I hardly ever so my eldest wot with all the teenagers and the pools and my youngest thouroughly enjoyed the kids clubs.
Ive read some of the reviews and get the impression that all they want to do is complain.
The waiters and waitresses were all friendly but it helps if you remember to say please and thank you and smile. (Who wants to be nice to ignorant people) The maids were helpful and if you required anything they would bring up extra towels pillows etc.
The reps were friendly and couldnt do enough to help you.
Yes this is BUTLINs in the sun but we had an absolutely fab time.
The beach club is 10-15 mins walk so what!! when you get over there there is so much to do with all the different pools to swim in.
The meals at the beach side restaurant were lovely and varied. One of the negatives that I found was the bar at the beach club often only had on barman so you had to wait to be served for drinks.
The meals in the restaurant were varied and we ate well with no funny tummies betwwen the whole family. My partner even cancelled his sleep ins on a morning to indulge in the breakfast eating the cooked in front of you omelette, delicious.
The entertainment was ok the team worked hard and entertained us nightly, what do people expect west end musicals your on holiday for goodnesss sake.
The bar staff were friendly but only if you can be friendly to them so make an effort.

The few negative comments were quite a few of the sunbeds around the main pool needed to be replaced, some paving stones also needed replacing, and the pidgeons were a bit of a nuisance with their bird poos.
Overall if you have a family and want them to be able to make friends with kids their age and want a stress free holiday, ignore the moaners. come to the village.
Weve already booked for HV Turkey next year

  • Liked — it was clean, light and airy and we had a fab view over the pool and sea.
  • Disliked — plastic chairs on the balcony
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cornwallgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    918
    465
    201
    123
See reviews for
2,006
176
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

no way 4 star hotel! like an arndale shopping mall with rooms above. we arrived before 10am and had to wait over 2 hours for our room to be ready. 2 adults and 2 kids aged 10 and 12, we were left to make our way downstairs to luggage room hauling our own cases with all the other 'star class' passengers from the 6am flight, bedlam.
snack bars coulkdnt get an orfer for hot dogs correct, staff were surley apart from the manager whose ego was bigger than the resort, he enjoyed the reputation that he shouted at reps and guests, he didnt care! we were told that the mexican and the italian restaurants which we were due a meal in during our stay were fully booked! we complained...rooms werent replenished with shampoo or soap unless u asked nor was the washing up done and when it was just rinsed under tap thats all. bins not emptied, empty bottles left to collect in line by kitchen door. beach club closed at 6pm each day and youy were harried and heckled off sight like drunks after last orders. evening entertainment was worse than a joke. kids soccer school waste of money, kids stage school 45 euros to mime to greeece hit summer loving, excruciatingly bad. restaurants cleared away food before diners had even started eating as they shut at 9.30pm and not a second later! plus u are stranded! its a good 20mins by car to balamendea and theres nothing at all near the resort! the best thing was meeting 3 other brit families and developing a sense of 'dunkirk spirit'

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MiltonKeynesContract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We have just arrived back from two excellent weeks at The Holiday Village (2 adults, 16 year old and 12 year old). Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable and with a lovely view. We had no problems with the food. Our daughter is a vegan and even she put on a few pounds! There was always plenty of choice and it was always warm, plentiful and not repetitive. The beach club is fantastic - especially for children of all ages. The walk to the beach club for lunch was nowhere near as bad as people have made out. It was worth it because the lunch was always very good.

The entertainment was good (put it this way, we have seen a lot worse!) - all day activities for adults and children available if you want to take part but you are not hassled if you do not. Lunchtime quiz around the pool was good fun and not too energetic!

Yes, it is a little bit far out, but we hired a car for three days and went out and about and taxis are reasonable and there are buses running frequently so it is not really a problem - only if you want it to be.

The hotel itself is massive and very impressive. Would highly recommend it to all age groups (although perhaps a little on the boring side for teenagers). The Piano Bar was very good with excellent entertainment every evening. The Mexican and Italian restaurants are a must.

In 20 years travelling abroad this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. All Inclusive is a must as there is not much choice in the hotel shop.

Would not hesitate to return one day.

  • Liked — Clean tidy rooms and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Deedee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Just back from back from The Holiday Village Benalmadena. I was really disappointed in the whold package, The hotel at first appeared appealing but then we got our small room that overlooked the bins and service entrance which started each morning at along with the train at 6.30am. When we asked to be moved we where told it would be 15 euros extra per day if a room became available which it did not.The shop was very limited more like a gift/sweet shop which was very over priced. It would be impossible to be self catering as there is no food unless you wanted to travle by bus or taxi for 20mins to the nearest shop.

The fridge in our room did not keep food fresh for more than a day. We give up and paid 480 eurso to go all inc for 2 adults & 2 small children for 4days. Big Big mistake!! Our child was sick for there days - the food was not good and very unappealing reheated same food for 4 days. The selection of fruit was poor tinned 2 fruits and pineapple thats it for fruit. Loads of fish and sugary cakes.

NOT SUITABLE FOR WHEELCHAIRS OR BUGGIES AS THE POOLS WERE GOOD BUT TO GO TO THE OTHER POOL YOU HAD TO WALK A SPIRAL ASCENT OVER A BRIDGE ABOVE A VERY DANGEROUS AND BUSY DUAL CARRIAGE WAY AND THEN DOWN ANOTHER SPIRAL DESCENT APPROX. 15 MIN WALK. IT WAS A GOOD 20 MINS WALK TO THE NEAREST STONEY BEACH A LONG THE DUAL CARRIAGE WAY WHICH WAS ACCESSED BY AROUND 70 STONEY STEPS

BEING IRISH WE FOUND THE ENTERTAINMENT POOR AT BEST - IF YOU LIKE BUTLINS ITS FOR YOU -
I WOULD HAVE WENT HOME AFTER 2DAYS - MY 10 YEARS OLD WAS BORED RIGID AS THERE SEEMED TO BE A SELECT FEW KIDS THAT WERE DOMINEERING AND RULED THE KIDS ACTIVITIES. MY CHILD WAS NOT MADE FEEL PART OF THE GROUP AT ALL AND FELT EXCLUDED. IF I WANTED A HOLDIAY ON THE SIDE OF THE M6 BESIDE A BUILDING SITE I COULD HAVE SAVED A FORTUNE.

HOTEL 4 OUT OF 10
STAFF 4 OUT OF 10
FOOD 1 OUT OF 10
LOCATION 1OUT OF 10
OVER ALL VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED - WORST HOLIDAY RESORT EVER AND WE HAVE BEEN TO QUITE A FEW.

  • Liked — PIANO BAR
  • Disliked — FOOD
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Daisey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,470 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,831 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.k. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing