We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but food not 4 star!”
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
UK
1 review
“Great hotel but food not 4 star!”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Just got back from holiday village, fantastic hotel, rooms large, everything kept really clean including pools. Beach club pools great for kids and jacuzzi beds great for cooling off. Real friendly complex made loads of friends. Downside! food was luke warm except for breakfast. Omelettes cooked fresh yummy but lunch and evening food was poor, not warm strange mix of things my 9 yr old son didnt eat hardly anything not even the nuggets! The queues in the beach club on last 2 days were awful the Spanish arrived and overtook everything. The rings at club were only available 3 days for restricted times.

As for entertainment great in day kids clubs good range of times but were they properly supervised?? def not in 9 - 15 group a friends son said he was choking and could he get a drink and the rep said no! really upset him and no apology, this lad suffers from asthma. At night appalling the worst evening entertainment ive ever seen, stuck in basement with such large pillars half the audience when there was any couldnt see! for the money I expected better and wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazzyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    905
    456
    198
    121
See reviews for
1,977
174
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2009

stayed at this hotel ai for two weeks the longest two wks of my life.check in was fine rooms clean enough,areas outside lifts bins overflowing with dirty nappies.my youngest daughter got a sickness bug which lasted for five days .spoke to the first choice reps expressing my concern as i had spoken to quite a few people and everyone i spoke to either had this or someone with them had it.told by reps not to be that concerned as more adults have got it than children how reassuring!!!!!!! .facilities good ,although for my two week stay did not once see a pool being checked if you want to lose weight this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emsandabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Now I don't want to put people off about going to the Holiday Village as the chances are you've probably already booked or made your mind up about going before reading this review. There are a number of different reviews on this web site so read them all to get a general opinion about the hotel.

We are a family of 4 - 2 adults and 2 infants and booked the Holiday Village for a 2 week all inclusive trip mid May 2009. One of the main reasons we booked the Holiday Village was because of the advert that was on TV a while back promoting this particular hotel.

We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 am and had about a 20 min check in which was great - the room was ready and we could go up straight away (during our 2 week stay I saw people who couldn't check in straight away and had to wait longer than what we did, but like I say each review will be different).

On first impressions the hotel was clean and the reception area great. Our room was on the first floor and was in the main part of the hotel where the First Choice boat resided in the lobby area.

Our room was not a sea view (we requested but didn't pay the additional £180) but it seemed to have a nice view over the mountain to the rear of the hotel which also overlooked the Thomson Polynesia hotel. Only trouble was that we also looked out on to the railway line and trains past on average every 15-20 mins from about 7:00 am to 23:00 pm!! The rooms were spacious and again seemed clean, however, when we looked under the bed there was broken glass (from previous guests) which had not been cleaned up and was not ideal considering we had 2 infants who want to get everywhere and put everything in their mouths!!! One word of advice here is regarding the tables in the room (they are made of sharp metal and glass) if you have young kids get the tables out of the room - they are dangerous!!!! Our little girl hit her head on one of the tables on our 3rd day, her head was sliced open like a tin can and she had to have 2 stitches!!! (The hotel's doctor is great but has limited opening hours and just make sure you have travel insurance - the trip to the hospital cost just a little over 500 euros)......

Going back to the hotel, the food was good and had something for everyone - don't get me wrong it wasn't like dining at the Ritz but what did you expect at a massive family resort in Spain? It was a bit like a Butlins in the sun - don't know if that's a compliment or not???? The only complaint was that there was only limited areas you could get food - breakfast was always served in La Perla restaurant, dinner you could get a snack at the bar at the pool or you had to go to the beach club over the road (but depending on your tour operator you only had a time slot with which to consume you lunch, for example, First Choice customers could only eat at the Beach Club during 12:00 - 13:00 ish and sometimes you didn't want to eat that early after you'd had such a big breakfast). Evening meals were then always served back in La Perla (each night had a theme, for example, Italian night, Medieval night, Romantic night blah blah blah). If you are all inclusive you can eat once per week at each of the Mexican and Italian restaurants (don't forget to book) which are good and make a break from the mass buffet......

If you are self catering then take a big credit card with you or be prepared to travel a few miles to the nearest supermarket - the prices at the shop on site are extortionate 4 euros for 12 weetabix (couldn't get at breakfast) and 2.5 euros for a small milk as you couldn't get milk as an all inclusive drink................The all inclusive was good but there were certain exclusions, for example you could only get a max. of 5 drinks per adult (not good if you were a big party) also some drinks were excluded (slush puppies for the kids stands out in my mind) and also the First Choice web site states that your fridge in the room will be well stocked (you get 2 small bottles of water, a little juice and a bottle of coke!!!! if you drink them or remove them from the fridge the maid will sometimes replace them, if you don't touch them don't think you will get additional drinks!!!!).

Entertainment for the kids was good but if you have infants (under 2's) you have to pay for creche which was 8 euros an hour.................evening entertainment was also good......

Pools were great but very cold - not the hotels fault but just make sure you go during the warmer seasons - at the end of our holiday the weather got warmer and so did the pools.......the beach club was a good break also but beware when we went during May the slides (with the rubber rings) were only open Tues, Wed and Sun!!! If you wanted a rubber ring you gave 20 euros to the staff and when you returned the ring you got 16.5 euros back..........

Location was not ideal - you are in between Fuengirola and Benalmadena (Fuengirola I believe is the closest). If you like to sit around the hotel all day then it's fine, if you want to get about you still can, there's taxis outside(10-15 euros to either place) a bus which costs 1.20 euros to either place or a train (1.80 euro) about a 10 min walk from hotel which takes you to Benalmadena. We had a nice walk one day with the kids to Fuengirola - it took about 2 hours to get there, we had lunch and then walked back. When I say 2 hours we didn't rush and went on to the beach during our walk as you walk right along the coast most of the way into Fuengirola. Another place which was good for the kids was a park in Benalmadena which you walk round and is full of animals like rabbits, peacocks, turtles, chicken all of which you can either stroke or feed.........

Think that's about it - hope I haven't put you off - these web sites can be both good and bad...............You will probably have a different opinion of the hotel once you've been........

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyd51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

myself, and some family members went to the holiday village 2 years ago with the kids, and found it really good, although i wouldnt go all inclusive cos it seemed to restrict you to the hotel, we went self catering, which i found better as i didnt really like the food in the buffet or the italian or mexican restaurants, the entertainment was a bit butlins, but we usually went out for most of the evening and would just stick it out for an hour or two when we came back to the hotel.the kids loved it though. we had a bit of a problem with pidgeons on our balcony, there was a baby pidgeon there but we couldnt sit out cos there was all bird poop everwhere from all the other pidgeons and the mammy pidgeon, we had to call the staff to get rid of the baby bird and wash the whole place down.when we came back from shopping the bird was gone and there was a bottle of wine there for us that the staff sent up to us .although the location was a bit remote, we found it peaceful,it was a bit of a nuisance having to get taxis to and fro, but we got used to it. the beach club was great, although you had to be fairly early to get a lounger, wasnt crazy about the food in the snack bar there or at our own hotel snack bar, they seemed to do chips with everything, whether you wanted them or not! we were able to walk to the nearby beach, which was lovely, and much less crowded than the others, and we had a bar there, which is always handy. the rooms were very spacious, although our shower leaked a bit. the shop was very expensive also, but we didnt depend on it much ,only for bits and pieces. that was my 2nd time there, i went a year or so before that and enjoyed it. i loved portomarina and going on all the trips, hate being tied to the hotel all the time. thinking of going again next year with a group of famiy.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinShivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Myself and my family - wife and two children (girl 7 years old and boy 4 years old) returned from this hotel on 24th May after spending a week there AI. Having read the reviews before hand I wasn't surprised with what we found there.

Firstly the negatives

Yes the shop was expensive - so we took some stuff from home, namely, tea bags and sugar etc.

Yes it is slightly isolated from a walking aspect, however, there are plenty of buses and taxis and even a train station near by.

It was a pain at first having to show your room card along with your red bad everytime you wanted a drink or go for a meal - but you get use to it and it becomes second nature.

Air Conditioning - The blower only blew out warm air and we found it better keeping it on low during the day and off at night. The warm air it circulated was cooler than the poutside air but you definately didn't feel a nice cool breeze when you walked into your room, I would have to agree with the other reviewer who commented that this was probably due economic reasons.

Cleanliness - Although a maid visited our room each day the standard of her work definately wasn't 4 star, she may have swept the floor and made our bed but we still found broken glass under it! which wasn't from us. Be aware that they don't tidy any other area of the room, this way you won't be disappointed. Also don't expect a nicely stocked gfridge because you don't get one - two small bottles of water, a fruit juice and a small bottle of Coke is all you get and then not everyday. We bough a 5ltr bottle from the shop.
As with another reviewer our toilet had a nasty stain in it that couldn't be shifted through flushing and use of the brush - the maid should have done this before we arrived.

First Impressions

The outside of the hotel as you pull up is in need of cleaning as their are water stains from the balconies. It felt like a hotel at the end of the season rather than the start. The vast majority of the hotel was of a good standard, just a few areas needed tidying up.

Malaga Airport - On our homeward journey this was just chaotic and made us very stressed due to lack of information and also be very aware that the costs in all the shops is day light robbery. If you expect to buy a sandwich for the plane be aware that friends of ours paid £6 for a basic one.

Good Points

Children's Entertainment

I can't fault the effort the guys put in to keep the kids happy, Jason in particular was always full of energy and fun - the kids loveed him - crazy Jason as they called him. The kids discuss was always popular although a little squashed around the dance floor.

Kids Club - Our childreen went there every day between 10 and 12 which gave us a little rest bight and gave us chance to get ourselves sorted each day. The had a great time and it was a joy to see their faces when we picked them up and made us miss them and have even more fun afterwards.

Beach Club - Don't be fooled it's not near the beach, unless you call the 100 foot drop to the stoney beach below. Overall this was a fantastic area, with pools a plenty for all ages. Highly recommended. The downside was the pirate ship was closed half way through our week due to the deck having unsafe areas and in need of repair - It still hadn't been repaired when we left which wasn't good enough.

Swimming Lessons - I can't praise Anthony and Holly enough for the support and efforts they put in for not only our children but all that attended their classes. My little girl couldn't swim before she arrived and left with a 15m Swimming badge! Fantastic.

Food - Having been to many large hotels before it was a very similar set up with a buffet style layout and you go along and help yourself. Towards the end of the week it became a bit same old same old,but this may well have been due to our wants and not what was served up. Lunch across at the beach club was OK, I tended to stick to the salads and made sure my children didn't have chips and burger each day, there was plenty of choice, especially if you like fish (unfortunately we don't).

Size of Rooms - We were reallyu surprised with the size of it, as the brochure doesn't really explain what you get. There is a decent size lounge area with a pull twin beds and also a table and chair set. Small but well contained kitchen, a very big bathroom with two showers, one bedroom with two huge single beds (more like doubles) and a very good sixe balcony area - which we spent most evenings on whilst the children slept on the pull out beds.

I would recommend this resort to anyone that is happy to spend time with their children and not particularly want to have to think about meals or trips, we had a great time withou leaving the resort and felt completely chilled out by the end of the week and are seriously thinking about going back to this hotel again next year - we know what to expect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewcastlePenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

We came to the Holiday villiage for the second time beacuse with 2 very young children, 31/2 years and 20 months its absolutly perfect for what we like to do. Everything about it is brilliant. We stayed for a week (AI)and as always I wished we had booked for longer! A point I would like to make is people who complain about the location and have come to holiday village on SC basis have obviously not reviewed this hotel or checked its website. If I wanted a self catering holiday I would not book this. It is the perfect choice for familes who just want to relax and have everthing at hand and be all inclusive. I cannot understand anyone who complains about the food... There is plenty of choice with cereals and toasts / dried fruits / pastries / full english / omlettes cooked to choice for breakfast - I mean what more do people expect! Lunch over the bridge is really nice too (again plenty of choice - hot chorizo was delish) We visited the two other restaurants on site, a mexican and Italian which we enjoyed - a nice break from the buffet style restaurant .
During the day we spent over at the splah park areas over the bridge which was perfect for our little ones. Did make a trip to Fuengirola beach (we walked with 2 prams) on out last day - was lovely and walk was not difficult if you're fit and enjoy the sun beating down on your back! There are lots of little beaches before 'fuengirola beach' which weren't as nice so we trekked till we found the nice one. A lovely way to spend our last day.
In the evening we endured the 1 hour kids disco (well worth it to see how happy our kids were - the in 2 action staff who provided the entertainment were fab - they worked really hard and made sure everyone was having a good time.
I have also been to the Holiday Villiage in Portugal which was good but food was no where near as nice as benelmadena.
Overall fab time - easy holiday if you have little ones.
PS If anyones decides to complain about the donkey on the hill behind the hotel (I have read a complaint about this somewhere) must be crackers! How can a donkey 'eyoreing' once a day a mile away be a problem?!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Me, my partner and our two boys (aged 1 and almost 3) travelled to the Holiday Village (all inclusive) on 10th May and returned on 17th May.
I must say that we did have a fantastic holiday and would love to go back to holiday world, but would probably try the Polynesia next time as the Holiday Village is slightly run down and not maintained very well – lifts kept breaking etc.
First of all I must explain (as I didn’t know this) that the beach club (the bit with the ace pools you see on the firstchoice advert) isn’t exclusive to the Holiday Village. Holiday world is currently made up of 4 hotels (holiday village, Polynesia, Hotel Hyros and Holiday Palace), which can all use the beach club. When we went it wasn’t really a problem as it’s not peak season and so we could always get chairs at the beach club, however I can imagine in high season it would be rammed – especially as soon the holiday world complex is opening more hotels hoping to have over 10,000 beds!
The weather was lovely all week – a bit windy a couple of days, but nice and hot.
We had a Sunday Birmingham flight and so didn’t arrive at the hotel until almost midnight. Our first impressions were good; reception is very pretty with a nice fountain. We were first in the check in queue thank god as there were still people there 45 minutes later. No porters or trollys to help take bags to the rooms.
Our room was lovely and big with separate seating area, bathroom, and kitchen (kitchen had hob, sink, kettle and microwaves – also cups and plates etc), however we soon discovered that the toilet was dirty (even though it had a sanitised label over it) and we hadn’t been left any water or drinks in our room. My partner went down to the bar to get some water, but they told him he would have to pay as it was midnight (which annoyed him for the rest of the holiday). I eventually got 2 very small bottles of water from reception. Every day after that we had 2 small bottles of water, 1 lunchbox size carton of juice and a small bottle of coke left in our fridge, so we bought a 5L bottle of water from the shop for our babies bottles, teeth cleaning etc …which you shouldn’t have to do AI.
We also noticed that the room wasn’t cleaned very well, with lots of other people’s personal belongings and dirt under the bed. The cold meats that were left in our fridge on our day of arrival were still there 4 days later and the maids wouldn’t take any bar glasses out of the room – which they normally do 4*. Our bed got made for us everyday, but they didn’t make the babies cot up for us.
There also wasnt any air con - just a fan and it was boiling in the room! Reception told us that they control the aircon and that they'd had complaints that it was cold so they had turned it off - more like cost cutting me thinks!
There arnt proper covers on the beds, just like a coloured sheet and it was really uncomfortable.
On the good side we were amazed by the pools, they are lovely and really clean with lifeguards at each which I thought was great with kids. They were ice cold on the first day, but as the week went on they became bearable and they kids loved it! The beach club is amazing and defo 5 star – it really is like the advert shows! Lots of shallow bits where even our 1 year old could paddle about safely, and then the wave pool and slides that kept daddy happy (though this part is only open Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Saturdays.
The food was ok – I would say 3 star rather than 4 star. Breakfast was nice, served in the holiday village lots of variety - cooked breakfasts, cereal, fruit, yogurt, pastries, cheese etc.
Lunch was really nice too, this is served over at the beach club, lots of variety.
Evening meal was a bit hit and miss, this is served over in the hotel. We could always find something, but we aren’t very picky, but it wasn’t great! There were lots of people complaining and just had plates of chips because there wasn’t anything else they liked.
It’s worth going to the Mexican and the Italian for a change. The food here is better than at the buffet and served to the table. I did have the crab starter at the Mexican tho – which even tho was nice didn’t contain any crab! Think it was tuna.
The Ai snacks were really nice, burgers, pizzas, hotdogs etc – these are served at the pool bar.
The drinks were ok, but not very strong – we also found that the bar staff were grumpy and weren’t ready to please like in most holiday complexes.
I found it a bit odd that you had an all inclusive band, but always had to show your room card every time you ordered a drink – kind of felt like they didn’t trust you very much!
Our main issue with this holiday is that the AI ran out at midday on the final day – yes it does state this in the brochure, but because of our flight times it meant that we only got 6 days AI when we paid for 7! …watch out for this if you are flying from Birmingham on a Sunday evening! …I have complained to firstchoice about this so we will see. The firstchoice rep at the hotel (who were all lovely I should add) said that she didn’t think it was fair either but they have tried to argue it with the hotel staff before with no luck. We asked how much it would be to upgrade to AI for our last day as we didn’t leave until 19.30 – we were told from 12-6 would have cost our family over 80 euros! ..this didn’t even include an evening meal, so we didn’t take them up on it.
We only went out of the complex once and got a bus down to Benna beach – it was really nice and the kids enjoyed it. Lots of nice little fish restaurants where we had a lovely paella and there is also a lovely park which is great for kids, with lots of chickens and rabbits hopping around.
The bus to benna was full, but full of friendly people that sat our kids on their knees so they could sit down.
There is a lovely little play park in the hotel with slides etc. We didn’t really do any of the entertainment, we just sat by the piano bar at night as we are not really into that kind of entertainment, but we did hear that it was good.
The entertainment around the pool in the day was good and wasn’t too annoying for those not taking part. Lots of quizzes etc and stuff for the kids too do, plus a giant hamster type ball that you can try and run across the pool in.
All the kids that were in the kids clubs were really enjoying themselves. Our boys were too young as they have to be over 3. There is a crèche for under 3s, but it gets full quick and we didn’t really want to stick them in a crèche whilst they were on holiday. It was 9 euros and hour from what I remember.
The shop at the hotel is very expensive 20 euros for tub of baby milk etc, but we knew this from all the reviews before we went so took all our baby milk, nappies, sun cream etc with us and I would recommend doing this. From May all infants are now given a 10kg baggage allowance from firstchoice which I think is fab and we used it well!
I know this sounds like a bad review, but we did have a good time and would like to go back purely for the beach club and so will be booking the Polynesia next year with better flight times!
Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MummyGemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,417 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,793 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.2 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) | P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing