We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Village
Nearby Hotels
$138
$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
MS Alay Apartments(Benalmadena)(Great Value!)
$96
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
Sunset Beach Club(Benalmadena)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Hydros(Benalmadena)
$183
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Fermin(Benalmadena)
$69
$67
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Best Siroco(Benalmadena)
$100
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Playabonita Hotel(Benalmadena)
$114
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,777)
Filter reviews
2,777 results
Traveler rating
937
982
509
215
134
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
982
509
215
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst choicepiano barbeach clubfootball academykids clubwater parkmain poolwave poolcode brownsacross the bridgeswim academyswimming lessonsamerican dinerswim nappiesself cateringpirate shipentertainment team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,638 - 2,643 of 2,777 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2008

If you have a young family and want a lot going on for the kids then the holiday village Costa del Sol is the place to be.
Loads of organised activities with kids clubs ( the staff are great with the children) to just pool side activities to suit all.
There are several swimming pools, one with a pirate ship which the kids love, one with elephants and the wave pool, part of which younger children can play in with a wonderful toadstool house with water slides for 3-5 year olds.
These are at the Beach club across the bridge over the road which is pushchair/wheelchair friendly as is all the surrounding area.

The hotel is large and kept very clean, the rooms are comfortable, the kitchen is equipped with a microwave, kettle, toaster also a 4 ring halogen hob. There is a tv in the room which receives ITV1 & 2, BBC1, Sky news, CNN and other spanish channels.
Sheets and towel were changed regulaly and rooms kept clean always cleaned well before lunchtime.

The La Perla main restaurand and Beach club restaurant are excellent with a wide range of foods to suit all.
One evening there was a chinese theme and another a mexican theme with special nights on a Thursday where we had a chocolate fountain which everyone was enjoying.

You can visit the Italian & Mexican restaurant once a week, we only went to these once in our fortnight stay as we enjoyed the main restaurant so much.
The service was good in all the restaurants and the dirty plates cleared off tables quickly.

The hotel is situated a long way from Benalmadena too far to walk, its nearer to Fuengirola. But with a complex of its size it has to be a fair way out for the space.
There is a regular train that goes right past the hotel between Fuengirola and Malaga stopping at every stop. Very reasonable return prices we found them very easy, the station is a little way down the road towards Fuengirola. The buses got very busy and didnt always stop.

If you enjoy a good market Fuengirola market is great, held on a tuesday, set off reasonably early as it gets very busy. We also visited the zoo which is good.

Nearby there are new hotels under construction part of the holiday world complex, the reps try to get you to view the completed block by offering 100 Euros to spend on trips and say it takes 1 1/2 hours. Apparently it takes 3 1/2 hours and its a timeshare so if you are not interested in timeshare dont waste your precious holiday time

No sign of the stomach bug mentioned in previous reviews.

This is a fantastic place and we would certainly consider coming again.

Would highly recommend to families.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Lindyloobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

To be honest I was a little worried when I read reviews of the "Virus"....well....There was absolutely no virus when we went...The hotel and resort is very clean. The apartment was spacious and clean with a fantastic view of the coastline and pools. The food was great, plenty of choice. Staff pleasant.
The kids loved all the facilities and the kids clubs.

I must mention that I decided to join the swim school whilst there....Iam 44 and have never been able to swim a stroke. Chris the swimming instructor had me swimming in one lesson - albeit not olympic style...but Iam totally amazed that I achieved a 5metre certificate.

Some down points: Location...a bit of a walk to the beach. The beachclub is situated over a very twisty bridge..which irritated us a bit...but I guess a bit of exercise is good!!.

I would definitely recommend this holiday for families.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonAjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

Have just returned from 2 weeks at the holiday village first time we had stayed there but know the area well.We have 3 young children aged 3,5, & 8 . The kids clubs were great and so were the rooms. The apartment we had was spacious and clean with very large bathroom with seperate shower. The only downside to the apartment was the kitchen as we were on a self catering basis it was quite small and not very well equipped no oven and not many utensils. I would only recommend self catering if you are going to hire a car as others have said the shop on the complex is very expensive and the complex is not within walking distance to the main resort or main supermarkets and eating at the complex is very expensive and the food is not that nice. The evening entertainment was a bit disappointing not any quality acts just the first choice reps most of the time and alot of audience participation. But overall it is a good quality well run complex.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This was our third time to the holiday village(HV)and have seen a big difference in the place. Not as clean, food and entertainment much poorer than previous years. Seen many faces from the previous years and all agreed nowhere as good. The pools just cope with the amount of people now dread to think when the other 2 hotels are open. Had booked for next years before we left but have now changed to another HV. Mess was made by others leaving food, cups etc, seen rat during midday under kids trampoline at snack shak not good sign. Entertainment was ok come on Tom what happened from last year to this year. Was kept up at night with kids running wild in corridors whilst parents in Irish bar some as young as 5. Many people were not well having stomach cramps and skoots for days everyone that seemed to have it always seemed to stay at main pool whist others at beach club where fine, was not the food as knew of S/C people who also had it and never eat in HV. As for being AI you are treated like second class, stood in line for drinks/food and the minute a SC goes to there side servers straight over leaving AI line, if anything AI paid more to get there with SC only eating seldom in holiday so cannot be making loads of money from them. Have noticed a lot has been withdrawn from AI food lists. Also would be grateful they could make up there mind if they want to use the horrible AI band or the card, was refused several times cos didn't have card and when had card was never asked for it! Sorry but your show boat is starting to sink First choice and not a cheap holiday either for what you get now. Swimming instructors were wonderful Chris the lad from Edinburgh was wonderful had wee boy swimming in days and the kids clubs James and Danny were good with the kids and kept them busy kids are still singing "fishy fishy seaweed"
noticed as we were leaving the new arrivals were greeted from the bus and given a champagne arrival, we got put on a bus and left to our devices not greeting on arrival never mind champagne.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lainemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

RE - HOLIDAY VILLAGE BENALMADENA COSTA DEL SOL
05/07/08 - 19/07/08. LONG REVIEW PLEASE READ AS INFORMATIVE .......FAMILY OF FOUR.

We booked this holiday as a 'Late-Deal' and was not sure what to expect, but have to say on the whole it was a very nice Hotel.

RECEPTION.

Long queues but the Hotel did serve up welcome drinks and after 20 mins we were sorted out. Our room was on the lower floor and I had to have a disabled room due to my disablity which did face the back of the hotel near the railway line and the trains ran from 6am - 1am in the morning(seven days a week) so if you don't have to have the back of the complex don't go there. On the bright side I was close to all the restaurants and main areas so if disabled room 001 would be fantastic for you, just get some ear plugs. We have to say the rooms were very clean and the cleaners get 5* for clean towels and bedding every day if required well worth a tip and lovely people they try hard to please you.

RESTAURANTS.

You will get allocated a time for your meal in the main restaurant, we went for the 2nd sitting because we had older children which was 20.15 pm - 21.30 pm hours but the queues was starting at 20.00 pm so get there early. The waiters do allocate your tables which from my point of view was a gawd send as I needed to be near to front because of my disablity and you don't want a 'Rugby Scrum' and domestics over table allocations.

The food was of a good variety and you won't starve not even the children, not everything was to our taste but you could always find an alternative as there are cold meats salads and hot dishes on all evenings. Twice a week you can eat in either the Mexica/Italian/ Barbacue - Beach Club, I would suggest you take full advantage of this as the food is lovely and it is waiter service cooked' fresh food 'and is nice and hot so don't miss out on that especially the 'Beach Club Barbacue' only been open two weeks and what a lovely time we had infact we went twice and the seaview is to die for.

Lunch is over at the 'Beach Club' and is of better quality you just have to hike over the bridge or if disabled they let you in via a crossing which from my point of view was fantastic. Our opinion of the food is that you will not please everybody but would be hard pressed to starve and you can always find an alternative dish if nothing suits and plenty of fruit on offer.

POOL

What ever resort you go to you will always have to rise early for the sunbeds, so please set your alarms for 07.45am they wait until 09.00am with the sunbeds because while we was there the staff were removing towels from the beds. Major domestic with 'First-Choice 'and the 'Management' of the complex over not enough sun-beads so you have been warned..... Great pool on the main complex, there is the beach club which has a wave pool and main pool. soccer pits - high ropes so your children will not be bored at all mine loved the complex. The baby pool was closed a few times due to babies using the pool as a toilet, the main pool was cleaned every evening.

WAVELENGTH CLUB

These clubs are run by 'First Choice' and the reps were fantastic they really keep the kids amused and my sincere thanks to James, Danny, Laura, Holly, Adrian, Callum, Emma, Fergie,Sam - these reps go the extra mile to accomodate the kids and all the safety aspects were adhered to at all times you had to book your children in and out of the club under 12 years and there are no exceptions at all.

ENTERTAINMENT

Lots to do during the day for adults' quiz - golf '- First Choice do try their best to keep you amused, but I was more than happy on the sunbed reading a book that choice is yours. Evening entertainment again they do there best Bingo, shows we did not go to a lot as it was not our kind of music but a good variety and plenty of people in attendance. The Piano bar had the real singers on and a Harp was being played one evening at the Italian restaurant which was nice, but a good choice for all tastes.

DAY TRIPS

Lots to see and do we went to Croc/Aqua parc which was very good and cost us £132 euros. We also went to Tivoli Theme Parc, but we had to catch a Taxi as there was not at that time a excursion by 'First Choice' but we did buy tickets from them at a cost of 72 euros for 4 and 10 euros each way to Tivoli world in a taxi. A word of advice go by Taxi and purchase your tickets from Tivoli world direct as it will be a lot cheaper the 'Theme Park' opens from 18.00 hours to 0100 am in the morning but what a fantasic park and you will appreciate the cool evenings and big rides. Don't worry about food as you can eat there for 30 euros for 4 and still have change.

FINAL COMMENTS

There was a bug going around the complex and my son was ill for four days an we did visit the Doctors that costs 65 euros each trip plus 10 euros for the drugs if you require any, well worth it and the Doctor is on site everyday except Sunday, you can claim it back off your insurance. The complex is off the beaten track and we advise you to go all inclusive as there are no supermarkets around easily to walk to. The buses are great a wonderful service to all near towns a 1.20 euros get a timetable or take a taxi. Make a trip to the cable car near to Tivoli world fantastic views and 12 euros each - breath taking views.


We found that the Spanish waiters/waiteress were lovely and really went out of their way to help you and they do like children and all understand English very well indeed. My children were speaking Spanish to them and they were really nice in the fact they encouraged them to communicate in Spanish. 'First Choice Reps' on the whole the majority of them want a 'gold medal', but you will always meet the odd one who lets the whole show down......

This complex we would recommend and the 'Irish Bar' is open until 02.00am after midnight you pay for your drinks remember this one!!! All inclusive is the only way to go on this complex and my children got full value for money. Every drink you desire for the adults if you drink and their cocktails were very potent I had a headache one morning 'self - inflicted' of course.


FINAL NOTE-
FEW EXTRA POINTERS.

We left just as they entered their peak season on the complex- beware the 'TIME - SHARE' people who offer you 100 euros to see their sister hotel I believe a boring 3 hours long show, at the sister hotel up the raod somewere, but you can exchange the vouchers for trips via 'First - Choice' remember there is no such thing as a 'free lunch 'we declined and rather pay our own way - thank you. Our experience was we met some nice people and the children loved the complex even after my son was ill for four days. The holiday is what you make it we never visit the same place twice but it was good value for money - good luck if you decide to book and we did get a 'late - deal'. There is a donkey at the back of the complex that likes to wake you up with is constant eoow in the early hours of the morning ...... please give him our regards !!!!!!!!!!!

SO SORRY THIS WAS A LONG REPORT BUT WORTH READING.......................................

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank crimecrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews