We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Village
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Best Siroco(Benalmadena)
$86
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel San Fermin(Benalmadena)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$171
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunset Beach Club(Benalmadena)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$82
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Playabonita Hotel(Benalmadena)
$113
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,779)
Filter reviews
2,779 results
Traveler rating
937
983
509
215
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
937
983
509
215
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfirst choicepiano barbeach clubfootball academykids clubwater parkmain poolwave poolcode brownsacross the bridgeswim academyswimming lessonsamerican dinerswim nappiesself cateringpirate shipentertainment team
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,596 - 1,601 of 2,779 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel really surpassed my expectations! Rooms were huge clean and with air conditioning and a massive balcony! Food was plentiful with lots of choice and tasted great! Drinks the same and the entertainment was fun especially for the children! The staff work so hard to ensure that everyone has a great time, literally couldn't find fault with anything, had a fabulous holiday, would definitely recommend to others and would definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebsnMark1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear DebnNick,

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us.

We enter this business to satisfy our guests and is very satisfying when we hear we have managed to do so.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Village from 16th July - 31st August. I almost cancelled this holiday from reading the negative, disappointing reviews - WOW I am so glad that I didn't. Me and my family had an absolute ball. The kids loved every minute of it.
The Hotel is spotless, the cleaning staff work all day and night to ensure the hotel is at its best. Our room was cleaned every day and new bedding placed on the beds along with nice, clean white towels.
The hotel room was very big and not what I was expecting at all. We also had a little kitchen hence we did not use this as we were all inclusive but could of come in handing should we wanted to. I do agree that the sofa beds are a little worn however this did not spoil our holiday as the main bedroom has two double beds which can fit a family of 4 in them !!
Entertainment is endless the First Choice team all deserve a GOLD medal for the hours they put in they are a credit to the First choice company and I will be writing to FC to highlight their commitment and dedication. ( my 9 year old became particular found of John, Jimmy and Tyler - they were fantastic with him) Evening entertainment is also good for the kids they get everyone involved, even the parents ha ha. Bingo takes place at 9pm - we won almost 120 quid - which was a little bonus and good fun!!
The main swimming pool is large with plenty of sun beds around the pool - if you want a sunbed with an umbrella then you do have to get up pretty early and do the 'sun bed run'!! however if you wanted or needed a lie in then the Beach Club only opens at 10am so you could make your way over there where they are plenty of sunbeds. The beach club is approximately 5 minute walk away over a bridge- I have read recent reviews on here who have complained that it is quite a distance - one word Lazy!
Beach towels are provided by the hotel, you collect a token from reception and then collect your towels from the health suite which is on the lower floor of the hotel.
All pools have lifeguards that are present - which is an added bonus to the hotel.
FOOD - we found all food to be of very good standard. The staff within the dining area work tireless to ensure you are looked after. Food is presented in an outstanding manner and replenished constantly. Cleaners are also present and are continually walking around the dining hall to ensure spillages are cleared up. I did not see any child or adult selecting food and placing it back down again - if I had of done then I would of reported this straight away. There are 3 lots of hand sanitizers present before entering the dining hall - hence I only saw one family using these during our 2 week stay. You would certainly NEVER go hungry at this restaurant as the variety of food on offer is amazing especially at Breakfast and Evening meal. Lunch is served at the Beach Club between 12.30 - 2.30pm however if you just prefer a snack, and don't want to leave the main pool area, then there are toasties, hot dogs, salad, pasta, burgers on offer.
We visited both the Mexican and Italian and were both enjoyable.
Trampolines, cars and Bungee jumps are all extra coast but we didn't mind this as it kept our kids entertained!!
The hotel offers an 'happy hour' which we enjoyed 7 - 8 in the piano bar, 8 - 9 in the entertainment bar and 11 - 12pm in the Irish bar. We use this on most nights as a treat it coast 6 euros for 2 Breezers and 2 Magners.
There were no queues at the bar for drinks as there was enough staff to manage the flow of customers at the bar.
The hotel is situated right in the middle of the two resorts. If you wanted to visit and travel out of the hotel then it would cost 12 euros each way however on the bus it only cost 6 euros for a family of four - the bus stop is right outside of the hotel. Taxis are also positioned outside the hotel too.
There is also security on the entrance of the hotel which has security guards on 24 hours a day. There are also cameras positioned around the hotel.
Please be reassured that I complain about EVERYTHING and I can honestly say nothing bad about this holiday, First Choice or the Hotel - they were all FANTASTIC !!!!!!! Don't let the negative reviews put you off!!!!!
Enjoy your holiday :-) because we certainly did and have booked to go back next year !!!!!!!!
Kerrie and CO x

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kerrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday.

Your kind words regarding our hard working staff will be passed on to them as they use it as a motivator to keep giving the good service.

Many thanks for taking the time and leaving your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had the most amazing 10 days @ the holiday village in Benalmadena. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very helpful. The First Choice staff were superb. The poolside and evening entertainment (delivered by Hettie, James, Tyler, Kara and Carly) was fun and keep everyone entertained. The Kids Club staff were also amazing. They were extremely helpful and fantastic with the children so much so that my youngest son didn't want to leave. I would recommend this Holiday Village to anyone who wants an amazing family holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wassey33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant holiday.

We will inform all our team of your kind words as they are always happy to hear from our guests.

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your feedback as we can use it in the future for future improvements where we see necesarry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

From what I had read I was almost going to cancel our holiday which would have been a big mistake . From first arrival we were all 2adults 2children made feel very welcome in particular the children . Rooms were huge wit double sinks 2 showers and a separate kitchen which we didn't need ! Ok the sofa beds could do with replacement but this did not have an adverse affect on our holiday as the beds were so large u could fit a full family if needed which we did !!!! Pools especially the beach club all great if only parents would put swim nappys on as pool was closed twice !!! Walk to beach club was 5to 10 mins and not as bad as previously reported !! Kids club staff were fab in particular Laura who welcomed us and even remembered the name of our 3 yr old when he went to kids club which was very impressed considering all of the children they meet !!! My 3 yr old loved the activities and could not wait to go something for him to do at all times ! To the food ok not gourmet but def a good choice and good quality yes chip pizza nuggets for kids but this is mostly what kids want on holidays, for the adults huge choice especially the breakfast omelettes highly recommended with no waiting time !! Overall fab family holiday which we hope to repeat sometime !!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is very pleasing when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their holiday as it means our team have worked hard and given a good service.

We thank you for taking the time and reviewing our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel - nice
Room - nice, but worn in places needed some tlc!
Food - loads of choice but meal times are like a rugby scrum, not a pleasant experience.
Italian restaurant - best meal of our stay, fantastic
Staff - friendly and helpful
Entertainment staff - work very hard all day everyday but we didn't take part, there are quizzes, competitions, games all day around the pool.
Kids club - didn't use it but they always looked busy and kids seemed to be having a good time.
Hotel pool - people were putting towels down from 4.30am (yes, 4.30am) to get sunbeds.
Beach club - opened at 10am, had to be in the queue by 9.30am if you wanted to get a sunbed, but loved it, fantastic pools.
Lunch- is served at the beach club, not as much of a rugby scrum but still hectic, again lots of choice.
Dinner, same restaurant as breakfast, absolute nightmare, kids with their hands in the food, large queues, not a nice relaxing meal!! The second you put the last piece of food in your mouth off your plate, the plate was whipped away whilst you are still chewing!!
Evening entertainment - kids loved it, some nights better than others.
Night times - VERY loud, 2 blocks of rooms at hotel, ask for quiet block, we overlooked piano bar which didn't finish until gone midnight and then there are teenagers running around screaming and shouting outside the room until 2 / 3am and if you want to beat the scrum for breakfast you need to be up and out by 7.30am. We had no more than 4 hours sleep a night due to the noise.
There seemed to be a lot of families that once got their didn't care what their kids were doing, kids fighting in toilets, damaging property including personal property.
Overall - my son enjoyed it and we met some lovely people but I won't be spending 3k to go back there in a hurry!!
My husband also had his wedding ring stolen out of the room when he accidentally left it on the table after putting sun cream on our son.

Room Tip: Ask for block b and a room over looking the crazy golf, you only get the sun in the mornings but at least you would get some sleep!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dria0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvcdsmanagement, Manager at Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for your feedback as we can put this to good use in the future.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews