We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday for a family or extended family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Eastbourne East sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday for a family or extended family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the holiday village costa del sol benalmadna on the 14th April 2013 for a week all inclusive this was my 2nd visit to the holiday village costa del sol benalmadna and was not disappointed
Where do I start the room was great spacious 2 large single beds put together so the whole bed is as big as a queen size bed we were on the 3rd floor over looking the pool well worth the extra money the view is amazing, large bathroom with 2 sinks a shower, beday and a bath with shower just mind the floor as tiled so its slippy when wet.
The food is great always different show cooking from breakfast might be omlets, lunch may be sardines kebabs and dinner might be streak chicken etc always loads of salad, chips, burgers, hotdogs etc and as for the pudding as amazing save room.
And last but not least the entertainment team just to name a few Carly aka jamin, sugar sorry don't know her name that's bad, rorary and hetti do the I five live in the evening they r brill made our holiday, also charlie but you are all brill. I have to say just one thing Russell the brussell was not as cheeky and as funny bring back the old brussell lol
We r already planning to come back next year maybe for 2 weeks
One word of advise do not come to this hotel if you are used to staying in the Caribbean, this is reality it's a kids hotel for kids and big kids lol and yes it's Spain not the Caribbean if you have kids they and you will love this hotel if your moto is if the kids are happy we are happy I this is the hotel for you
If you want me to answer any question feel free to message me
Overall fab hotel fab staff and over all fab fab fab

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank joannegillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    874
    436
    194
    114
See reviews for
1,896
170
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from 7 nights at the Holiday Village Benalmadena. 14 to 21 April. We paid £300 each for the week, which was good value as it was all inclusive Check in at the hotel was a nightmare, we had to queue for at least 30 minutes, then our room was not ready! Come back in 1hr 40 minutes.
The food in the restaurants was not too bad but the restaurants were just like works canteens. There was food scattered all over the floors, I lost count of the number of times I had to scrape my shoes to get it off. Children fingered the food and if not to their liking put it back.
The state of the tables when some people got up from their meals made me feel sick, I felt sorry for the poor waitresses who had to clean up the mess. There was masses of uneaten food piled up, drinks spilt on the tables and the plastic glasses not even put back up, Jelly and cake all over the tables and chairs and floor. Children were allowed to stand on the chairs whilst eating, probably with all the food of the floor on their shoes being deposited on those chairs. There was not enough staff working in the restaurant to deal with the number of guests. We had to clear our own table of dirty plates on more than one occasion.
The restaurants were very noisy at all times, BUT IF YOU GOT IN FOR BREAKFAST BEFORE 0800HRS IT WAS MUCH QUIETER, in fact that was the quietest time of the day.
There were notices which forbid ball games in doors but this did not prevent one parent from playing ball with his very young daughter in in the bar at 0830 pm one evening for half an hour. This was dangerous as he continually threw the ball In the area of the queue at the bar where the floor was wet. No staff stopped him. His wife sat in the bar area with her feet up on a chair and bar staff did ask her to remove them.
Staff at the hotel were in general very good considering what they had to put up with from the guests.
The rooms were excellent and well situated and very quiet.
We are both in our 60s and were fully aware that this was a family hotel.
On the Sunday morning when we were to leave it was chaos outside the hotel the First Choice staff did not seem to know what to do, Our departure coach time was 0840hrs but the two coaches for the 0800hrs were still there. there were four coaches behind those first two. The staff had to ask a family of 4 to leave the first coach as they should not have been on that coach, they unloaded their luggage from that coach and put the luggage on the second coach and to get on and find four seats. You've guest it there were no seats on the second coach, the women was screaming at the First Choice rep. We and other couples waiting could envisage massive queues at Malaga airport so we asked reception to book us a taxi. It came with in 5 minutes and we were whisked to the airport in 20 minutes. AT A COST OF 35 EUROS BUT IT WAS WELL WORTH IT. We were straight through check-in. A couple who we became friendly with at the hotel waited for the transfer coach, when we saw them at the airport they were running to catch their plane to Newcastle, it was saying final boarding.
.This hotel was classed as officially 4 star. I have stayed in many a 4 star hotels and this has to be the worst. Most of the 4 star hotels I have stayed in should be re-classified as 10 star.

Room Tip: Our room came with a sea and pool view at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent a lovely week away & thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Would highly recommend this to any families. Can not fault the kids club, plenty of varied activities for the different ages & all the staff were very friendly & made us feel at ease leaving our children. Entertainment at night was amazing, the entertainment team were fantastic, especially Rory, Hettie & Jimmy who made us feel very welcome & often took time out during the day to talk to us. The shows the team put on were spectacular, they did a really good job. I dont agree that the staff are only allowed 2 meals a day (some only got 1 meal) considering the amount of food that gets wasted & the hard work the team do, they deserves to be able to eat when they need to.
The beach club was lovely, we didn't manage to go in all if the pools due to the weather but enjoyed what we could. The food in the restaurants is above average & a good selection everyday, only down side is the snack bar which had the same food on everyday all week & that can be very repetitive. Dont understand the reviews people have put on about sickness being rife, we ate from all the resturants & trued a wide varity of food & no one out if the party of 9 of us has been poorly.
The whole complex is very clean & the rooms are massive with a kitchenette, bathroom with 2 showers, 2 sinks & a bath which were also very clean. Different bars & the bar staff were enjoyable, very friendly & polite. The only complaint I have is the utter chaos the morning that we departed for the airport. We had to meet at the front doors at 7.45 for the coach to set off at 8.00am but there was very little organization. The 2 staff on duty looked like they hadnt a clue, & gave no instructions as to which coach anyone needed to be on which resulted in standing around & waiting for another hour before we could depart for the airport. I didn't find this acceptable with you g children who had been up so early & had to wait around on a coach. There needs to be a better system in place & more instructions. We barely had any time at the airport to grab a coffee etc as we ran late leaving the hotel.

Overall I would like to visit this hotel again & will be looking at booking it again for next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemlouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

OK, first of all i will start with all the good points before i move on to some of the not so good points. the resort its self is nicely laid out and feels spacious, it is what you would expect from a 4 star resort.
There are plenty of lifts around the resort as there are 5 floors, big enough for a push chair and a couple of people.
the food was pretty good considering this is produced on a mass scale for an all inclusive resort (i have tried a lot worse at other hotels).
All the staff i came across seems very friendly, professional and happy to help, i quite liked the way for your meals, you were greeted at the entrance and allocated your own table.
Our room was cleaned daily by the maid to a standard you would expect with new towels and beds made. the beds are not great and neither are the pillows, having said that i have stayed at 3 4 star hotels in the past 18 months and not one of them had comfy beds, so i wouldn't let that put you off to much.
The location is what i would call suits the best of both worlds, you are not secluded by any stretch of the imagination, however any worth while going is a short bus or taxi away. We visited both local towns and enjoyed both of them especially benalmandena the marina there is definatley worth a visit.
the pools are over run with children (this is what you would expect as this is a child orientated resort) what i mean by that is if you are looking for a peaceful bit of quite relaxation by the pool, this is not going to happen!! having said that we found the beach club just over the bridge a little more quite and ideal for our 2 year old with not so many bigger children running around.

the entertainment seems great for the kids in the day with face painting and various activities that seemed to entertain them all day long. 9 o'clock every night there is bingo that lots of people joined in to play. After 9 was the evening entertainment, very cheesey now i like cheesey but this stuff if mature chedder!!
to sumerise i paid under £1000 for me my partner and son to go away for 1 week, this place could have done a lot worse and would still have been called value for money in my book.
for famillys looking for a cheap getaway i would definatly reccomend this resort, as long as you bare in mind this is not the Seychelles, this is a 4 star resort in the costa del sol you will get your moneys worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading reviews on here we really couldn't decide whether to give it a go or not, the price for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 children, aged 3&4) was very reasonable so we decided to give it a try. We have just come home today and we wished we had booked for the 2 weeks. We didn't have a single problem/issue, the food is good, hot and varied there's drinks snacks and food available all day. The pools are very clean, the rooms consist of a bedroom, living room, bathroom and small kitchen, we didn't use the kitchen but the separate bedroom for the kids was good as we could stop up having a drink and watching tv without disturbing them. There's lots for the children to do the main pool is just outside the hotel, then a a short walk over a bridge takes you to 7/8 different pools. The children's entertainment is good, Hetty and Rory were great with the kids (april 2013). Benalmadena and Fuengirola are 10 minutes away on the bus. Don't be put off by the bad reviews, if you want a reasonably priced family holiday, where the kids will have plenty to do, with good food and drink, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We paid the extra £53 for pool/sea view - which is worth it. Have a wonder up to the Polynesia Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

When checking in, if you have paid for a select room you need to go to the right hand side of check in desk. We were not told about this on arrival and queued with everyone else. Friday seems to be the BIG changeover day, when we checked in there was only one coach but when we left there were at least eight going to the airport. Make sure you have your safe key(payable), wifi if you need it (payable), towel vouchers (free) and tv remote before leaving reception, as you might have a long walk back. Room was a good size, sep bedroom, lounge and bathroom had 2 showers, kitchen,balcony was a good size,room had a couple faults but these were fixed quickly. Outside could do with an adults only area, snack bar could do more food choices, lots of sun beds, if not around pool over the bridge to beach club where there are more and lunch is served, pools are cold ,could do with heating, ( didn't put kids off but it did put us off). A bit remote outside the grounds, not good for anybody who can't walk very far. Because of the size of the place you will queue for everything, even restaurant, ( don't leave it to late ). Plenty of food choices in the restaurant, drinks from the bar in the corner, help yourself to what you want. There is a shop (a bit pricey) but has tea, coffee and milk for the morning if you have a kitchen. Towels from level -2(spa desk), also the Irish Pub open from 23.00. Overall we had a good week there, the sun is hot don't fall asleep on the sun bed. Could do with more seating area in the evening.

Room Tip: A select room over looks the pool with a sea view but costs more, our room 138, had the sun on it mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjrht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My partner and I have not long returned from a last minute all inclusive holiday to this resort. We have been to Costa Del Sol before and love torremilinos, benalmadena and the surrounding areas, they really are excellent places, however the location of this hotel doesnt mean you can enjoy the surroundings, its as if theyve moved butlins abroad. Nothing is 'just a walk away', to get to puerto marina or 24 hour square you have two methods, bus from outside the resort on the main road which costs 1.50 euro each and takes about 20 to 25 minutes or a taxi which costs between 10 and 15 euros. The buses are good and come every half hour up until around 2300 hours, puerto marina and 24 hour square are the two most lively and lovely places in Benalmadena with shops, views, food, drink and you can see all the amazing boats and apartments.

The hotel is FULL of children, i didnt expect as many children being it during term time, and find it appauling that firstchoice/thomsons etc emply entertainers and kids clubs during term time as if to encourage adults to take their children out of school, however it is a business and familiesmare often forced to take holidays during term due to cost implicatioms, but what does bemuse me is the minority of parents that forget their parents when on holiday with their kids and drink and lift them (because theyve fell asleep as its so late) from bar to bar to bar to bar.

The holiday reps who are in charge of these kids clubs are ridiculously loud and they actively encourage the children to scream, sing and shout at the top of their voices from dawn till dusk literraly from like 8am, not good when looking to relax and chill.

Sun bathing is an issue as the pools are all aimed at childrens pool and these kids like to play water fights and i was sick fed of up gettin soaked that i had to speak to the kids parents however again lack of parenting and the whole 'we're on our holidays' thought process took over. There is one pool that clearly displays ADULTS ONLY POOL however this to most parents mens ADULTS ONLY POOL BUT YOU CAN TAKE YOUR CHILDREN IN WITH YOU.

The food is boring, and definitley not a 4 star standard. It is repetitive, dry and we ate out 3 out of 7 nights and missed lunh a few days and bought some stuff from the shop which is open till 10.

Do not waste your money on the internet cafe.

The evening entertainers are all great singers and probably great entertainers however the shows are under rehearsed, out of date, cheesy (like red coats) and just not great to watch, but this is not the entertainers fault it is quite clear the shows are all directed and produced by the holiday company and probably being played round every holiday village as I type.

The drink selection is ok, the typical european measures did allow for a suitable alcohol in take, the beer is campo cruz, all inclusive is until mid night, however there is a lack of snacks available throughout the day. Its more like full board with a drinks package.

To sum up, the hotel is ok for families with kids, it is not so good for couples or groups of adults looking for some fun, a laugh and a drink.

We did have a good week, we made good use of the buses, and spent alot of time away from the resort to escape the carnage.

I do think from a staff point of view the hotel lacks experience, all the reps/advisors/entertainers are all very young and I wouldnt of liked to have had to rely on an answer to a question from them.

Make sure you visit Puerto Marina and go to Decs Irish Bar (very good value for money) and Gauchos restaurant (best meal on the costas).

Room Tip: the higher the better and a dont be fooled by 'sea view' that is also the poolside where fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing