We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We (a family of 5 with kids aged 12, 10 and 6) booked this hotel from the internet with no previous knowledge of the hotle and like most reviewers, were slightly apprehensive as a result of some of the negative comments and reviews. We normally go self catering holidays where we arrange it all ourselves but on this occassion we were going with friends and decided to get our first taste of All Inclusive.

Although living in Scotland, we flew from Manchester as the price was £1000 cheaper than flying from Glasgow (we went during the Scottish October half term holiday). The flight was well organised and despite being slightly delayed, our arrival and transfer to the hotel went smoothly. The First Choice reps and operation was well organised and very helpful. We had no delays at hotel check-in which was at around 10pm. No food was available at that time from the restaurants but there was a chilled meal in the room fridge. This was ok but would not have been to everybodies taste. We arranged our 100 euro deposit, tv remote and towel tokens at check-in. The rooms are reasonably large but if you are going all inclusive, the space taken up by the kitchenette is wasted space and having 5 in the room was a bit of a squeeze but as we only used the room for sleeping, this was not an issue for a week. Might have become more of a pain if we had been staying for a fortnight. The buffet restaurant was good. I had been expecting 'never mind the quality, feel the width!' but was pleasantly surprised by the quality, choice and variety. The food was regularly checked and reorganised by the staff and there was always something fresh being prepared by the chef's e.g. various grilled fish or meats. Salad bar, fish, meat, vegetables, pasta, rice, potatoes etc etc were always available. There was also a reasonable selection of UK style food through to local Spanish specialities to suit most tastes. There was also plenty of variety for the kids although, having been to kids hotels in Austria etc where the kids food is fresh, the chicken nuggets, fish fingers etc was generally of a poor quality. Drinks were always available in the buffet restaurant and in the bars. We had no problems with surly staff anywhere and always found them efficient at least, but on the whole friendly and pleasant. Only comment on this is that there was no tea or coffee available in the buffet restaurant at lunchtime or in the evening but it was available in the bars. We did not go to either the italian or mexican restaurants as we (and the kids) were happy with the buffet selection and variety. The pools were cold (it was October and c25C during the day) but the kids didn't mind. One day was colder and the kids went into the indoor pool and had a great time there too! The beach club is fantastic. The pools, slides etc are great to have in your hotel grounds. Comments here would be that the donut rings for the slides were only available on Sat, Mon and Wed and even then some of the slides were 'under maintenance' and not available. The donuts were also only available 11am-3pm but despite these restrictions still cost 5euro per 'day'. Also, the beach club closed at 6pm meaning that we couldn't go after this time to play football or tennis in the courts when it got cooler.

We had some of the usual issues with Spanish accomodation e.g. shower that leaked over the floor like a tsunami, noisy neighbours, noise from the showroom bar after midnight when the staff were cleaning and tidying up etc but these niggles did not negatively impact on our holiday.

They open atrium style of hotle means that all rooms are open to the common lobby areas and this could make the hotel noisy with kids etc particularly around midnight.

Being October, the hotel was not full but would not like to have been there at peak holiday season.Can see that the restaurants, check-in and pool areas would suffer if put under much more pressure that during our stay.

Whilst our kids seem to have an aversion to holiday kids clubs, what they did participate in and the shows at night, were excellent. The kids and entetrtainment staff were enthusiastic and seemed to be enjoying themselves. They were first class! In particular, the majic show stood out and was actually very entertaining.

Overall, a great holiday and excellent value for money. Would go all inclusive in October again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MclarenScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    874
    436
    194
    114
See reviews for
1,896
170
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week with myself and my partner and my friend and her partner. I went all inclusive and got this hotel as a last minute deal in the travel agents who told me that it was amazing, however after reading some of the reviews I was concerned about going. The reps were very helpful from the moment we landed and we managed to get on the transfer bus fairly easily and it was about a 20minute bus journey where you fill in a form on the bus so its quicker to check in when you get there. We were in our rooms by 10pm and all the resturants to get food were closed which was rather dissapointing but there was a meal in the fridge from the hotel but if im honest it didnt look all that nice, so we left it and just got snacks from the vending machines. We woke up the next day and went down to breakfast and despite the reviews about the food, it was very nice and there was so much to choose from and it was the same for lunch and dinner always alot of choice and the food was nice! There is also a snack bar which is very useful if you want a snack, they do pizzas, hotdogs, toasties and so forth which was all good too. We went around the last week of september and the weather was amazing! it rained our first full day there but it certainly became hotter as the week past despite the hot weather, the pools were freezing, but the hot weather made up for it, the beach club is great! we also payed to go in the VIP zone which was a great day as you get drinks brought to you every 45 minutes and free bottle of champagne, we got a deal on it and it was 30euros for 4 of us for the hole day untill the beach club closed. The one thing about the beach club is that you have to take your room key with you everythime you want to get a drink, which is abit of a pain but they let people from spain pay to get in for the day so i guess it makes sense. The buses over there are cheap, however we used taxis the majority of the time and it cost about 11euors to get from the hotel to the belemadena marina! which i would definetley reccomned to anyone as its lovely there! The rooms were huge and were clean, the maid comes in everyday and put extra towels if we needed, toilet paper etc and made the bed, which was great! We did have a problem with our aircon however we alerted the hotel staff (who are amazing) and fixed it right away! The resort reps were amazing! with both adults and the children and were very helpful throughout our stay! any problems just go to them! We didnt go to the mexican resturant after reading the reviews but we went to the italian and the food was amazing! if your looking on going i would definetly go if you have children however if you dont and you dont want children running round then this hotel is not for you! Also if you were going to go i recommened you go all inclusive as you drink and eat so much and it is quite expensive if you have to pay, also another point is that all incluisve ends at midnight which is a bit of a pain as you would expect it untill later at least. Overall we had the best time and would defiently recommned it to anyone, the hotel is great and the staff are amazing! and we had the best time so dont be put off by the bad reviews!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

weve just returned from a week at the holiday village, room was a bit dissapointing the settee which my son was meant to sleep on was threadbare, the bathroom wasnt very clean and we had to ask for clean towels and loo roll as we hadnt been left any, otherwise it was spacious two large beds in bedroom plenty of wardrobe space, and a kitchenette with fridge toaster and kettle, food ok, but coffe awful and milk for breakfast was not cold and tasted sweet so we bought our own milk from hotel supermarket each day 2.5 euros. outside was really lovely especially for young children, but if you go over the bridge to the pools, which is a lovely area (one area was set up for a wedding and looked beautiful) you can get drinks included but not food which we found unfair as there was food if you wanted to pay for it, i imaginge it to be really hectic at the height of summer. If you want to go into fengurola dont go on a sunday as all shops closed.
holiday village is not near anything so you need to get a taxi or a bus into belamadena, fengorola etc.

Room Tip: pay extra for pool view although this is unfair and you should just be able to request one if availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked our holiday at the last minuite and had a brilliant time. We have two children 8 and 6 and they loved every minuite of their holiday. Kids clubs fantastic,i 5 live brilliant and Amy has so much energy she really gets the kids going. The swimming pools are cold but once your in not to bad. The rooms are okay nothing speacil but comfortable. The food wasnt that good for us but my husband is a chef by trade so we are fussy. The first choice team are amazing from the airport through to the entertainment. They were so organised and friendly. The only thing I would say to first choice is if they are going to do all inclusive holidays they need to explain to the bar staff we have pre-paid for our drinks and they are not free. I found the attitude of some of them very rude(not the beach club bar staff they were brilliant). All the other staff in the hotel were friendly always a hello and a smile. There was a bit of sickness on the second week but to be fair when you have a massive hotel and lots of children its going to happen.Over all we really did have a fantastic time and we would go again. thankyou to first choice and all the staff who made a family from cornwall very happy!!

Room Tip: pay extra and get a pool view we didnt and wish we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

after reading loads off not so good reviews i wasn't looking forward to going but the kids couldnt wait so we arrived at night had to stop on the way to drop people off wasn't happy as my 2 young girls were tired so when we got to our hotel it was great check in was very quick our room was lovely so big had every thing we needed they even put fresh food in the fridge because we got there so late the first few days were great the pool it the best thing and the club across the bridge is good for older kids aswell it's a short walk over a bridge the food was fine loads to choose from am very fussy so stuck to things i no they had a snack bar that had food aswell from 11 -6 so that was good you will never go hungry at this hotel the only problem i had was its in the middle of no wear unless you get a bus witch was no more that €1.55 the hotel shop is a little expensive glad we packed some goodies it's defo good value for money and think we would go back the staff are great cleaned are room every day so enjoy if you are going :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emzib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Holiday Village Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

As a mature couple, we booked this as a last minute October late deal - worth the pennies paid. Even though it wasn’t true All Inclusive as we have experienced elsewhere, we had a good break with some great weather.
After a late evening arrival, the hotel restaurant was closed for the day - instead, we had been left inedible microwave meals in our apartment fridge.
Apartment bathroom is large & includes two showers (water temperature can fluctuate) & a bath, two comfy double beds in bedroom and lots of storage, lounge /dining room, kitchen & balcony (some apartments overlook a well used train line. Two doors opening onto the balcony do not ‘lock’ so could be opened by little hands. Sofa bed in lounge was very tatty & faded).
Main restaurant had an excellent choice & quality of foods including two hot plates where additional meat etc. are cooked – my favourite place for breakfast as back bacon and eggs/omelettes cooked fresh!! Always lots of salads, breads and fruit available at each service; breakfast 0730 – 1000, lunch 1230 – 1430 & dinner 1830 - 2130. You can only use the restaurant once for each sitting as key card is scanned as you wait to be seated by staff. We rarely saw Antibacterial hand gel by restaurant door used by patrons or staff and a notice states no food to be taken out of restaurant :-(
Poolside snack bar outside, open 1100 - 1800 offering cold and hot foods (we often saw flies feasting on some of the cold food trays – food trays are replaced regularly so grab your snacks then!)
Coffee served at hotel & bars is very bitter. The only All Inclusive snacks available after 1800 are luncheon meat (?) or cheese sandwiches served from the main bar – they are made in bulk, covered on top of the bar. Some drinks (slush puppies, cappuccino etc.) have to be paid for.
As far as we could tell, Mexican and Italian restaurants serve same food as main restaurant .
Swimming pools of varying depths & kids clubs during day & evening.
Very little adult entertainment - 'crazy golf' is good fun though!!
Walk over the gated bridge (open 1000 – 1800, it crosses a dual carriageway separating hotel from additional pools, football pitches etc.) There is a bar but you need to show your hotel key card to obtain drinks – they serve a ‘Bob Marley’ cocktail here which is lush! (This bar does not serve snacks or ice-creams unless you want to pay for them. Large rubber rings for water slide etc. are also to be paid for. There are large speakers playing loud music, dotted around the many sun bed/seating areas so can be quite noisy).
All hotel & bar staff were very polite, helpful & friendly, speaking and understanding English. We found hotel and grounds were kept clean and tidy at all times with bar staff also clearing tables & bar areas promptly.
Picnic bags ordered the day before they are needed were adequate/good.
You have to wear swim hats to use indoor pool and Jacuzzi – take your own or pay 3 Euros each. Sauna etc. cost 6 Euros for each.

Local bus stop outside the village on the dual carriageway, just past the bigger of two 'elephant' roundabouts – local buses are clean, cheap and regular!
Bus to Fuengirola bus station (1.55 Euro each). Lovely beaches & a large supermarket near the bus station. FlandriaBus operate kiosk just inside bus station. Served by a friendly English couple they offer great value coach trips. Gibraltar for 14 Euros per adult. Once in Gib. walk to the cable cars & pay 9 Euro return to take the cable car to the top of the rock and see the monkeys and amazing views. Also from Fuengirola bus station u can take a local bus to the old town of Mijas(a few Euro each) – lots of walking, great snacks (try the warm sugar coated roasted almonds!) and scenery.

Room Tip: request a top floor - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DITZY34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a fantastic week here at the beginning of October. Rooms clean, staff friendly, nice food and great location. Our two girls loved it and so did we. First choice reps were great and entertainments team are amazing xxx

Room Tip: We paid for a pool view and it was well worth it x
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darjohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
4.0 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village

Property: Holiday Village
Address: CN-340 Km 216 Paraje la Perla, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#14 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Benalmadena Holiday Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing