We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel but dangerous shower”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Arenas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Las Arenas Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel but dangerous shower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Love the hotel but my friend had a frightening experience with the shower door.
It was glass and when fully open it touches the side of the toilet cistern. On this occasion, when pushes open it hit the cistern and smashed into thousands of pieces. The was glass everywhere. He was covered in cuts. It was awful.
The staff were great but I can't believe it hasn't happened before.
Has anyone else experienced this?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daunry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    634
    146
    35
    24
See reviews for
376
1,230
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwick upon Tweed
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a short break at the Las Arenas hotel, few years since we were there, but service, food and comfort still very good. Very pleasant sitting areas, both inside and out. We had room 620 on 6th floor with good view of mountains and sea, had sun all afternoon. Only blight was to anyone going out there soon, please be aware of Romanian pickpockets, they were standing at the back of the que for the local bus outside hotel, and push forward when bus comes, to pick pockets, I had my wallet picked from my trousers as I was getting on bus, I felt them and noticed wallet was gone when I got up steps on bus. Luckily I am quite fit and they did not get far before I caught them and got my wallet back. Reported them to police, but not much they could do as they had gone. Please enjoy your holidays, but be aware of these scum bags.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank beka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Las Arenas in Benalmadena. You would be hard pressed to find a better Location for this 4 Star Property. From arrival to departure we had a very pleasant stay. All my requirements were met with a E-Mail up front. Staff throughout, from Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Housekeeping do a very efficient and professional job. Look forward to returning to Las Arenas in the Future. Our Weather was not the best, but that is in the lap of the gods. Many Thanks.

Room Tip: E-Mail ahead for availability on Upper Floor room overlooking pool. Sun am this side. pm otherside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reebok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I've been staying at this hotel for 7 years now and every year it gets better the staff are superb and always go out of there way to help.the rooms are big and very clean and the food they is a wide range for everyone's taste keep up the good work cu all in August thanks again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinkataylor7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

January holiday to Las Arenas was comfortable, enjoyable, and quite warm. The staff made you feel welcome as soon as you arrived, as did the travel reps (who were local, so knew the area and locality very well). The room was very nice, comfortable and spotlessly clean as were the general areas of the hotel. The dining experience was enjoyable and menu varied.

Room Tip: Front hotel rooms look over the sea very nice views, side rooms to left of hotel look over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnATarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel is fine, apart from one glaring exception, and the importance of this in the context of your holiday depends very much on your personal attitude to your evening meal. If you are a couple who like to sit down to a leisurely dinner, including savouring a nice bottle of wine - Stay Away! Restful dining this is not. The tables are too close together and the buffet is in too confined a space. The room is too small for the number of diners. You queue to get in. There are endless queues round the buffet and people are carrying plates of food through the narrow gaps between tables. The soup queue, which begins at the restaurant entrance where diners are waiting for tables, also mixes into the starters queue which in turn mixes into the mains, which mixes into the show cooking, so most times you don't even know which queue you are in. To make matters worse the manic head waiter rushes around the place trying to fit in yet more diners, barking commands at staff who seemed to me to be quite capable without his input. The food itself is Ok, and if you are the types who simply want to get something quick and cheap in your insides before going out to find the best bars, then you will be fine.
I haven't commented on other aspects such as the surrounding area, as we have been coming here every year for the past ten or so years, but not to this hotel, so clearly the general Torre/Benal area suits us fine. We are a retired couple.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AllisonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Arrived at Benalmadena on the morning of 6th January 2013 and we were a little apprehensive as we had seen bad reports on the resort on a TV programme (after we had booked) We were so pleasantly surprised! What a beautiful hotel and resort. The hotel was 'sparkling' clean and was actually cleaned throughout the day. Food on it's own was worth the money we had paid for the holiday.
The resort was also very clean and litter-free. We didn't feel threatened at all at any time and the locals were friendly, also the bus drivers were very helpful and courteous (local buses).
Fantastic holiday, we are looking to book again

Room Tip: Take a small shower mat with you as the baths are very slippy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JackieGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.5 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arenas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arenas Hotel

Property: Las Arenas Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 22, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#2 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Arenas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Arenas Hotel is located in front of the Bil Bil Castle, in the heart of Benalmadena-Costa, with shops and restaurants around. It is located in front of Santa Ana's beach and 8 kilometers from the airport. The Torrequebrada Golf Course is located approximately 2 km from the hotel.The hotel was renovated in 2004, has a main building with 7 floors and 174 rooms with views, 15 family rooms with bathroom, telephone, Wifi free, air conditioning, satellite TV, minibar and terrace. The Facilities include a lobby with 4 lifts and a reception open 24 hours a day with currency exchange desk and a café, Wifi free in common areas..The hotel has a restaurant with buffet and show cooking at lunch and dinner, room, bar and parking. Free Wifi in common areas and Internet point (surcharge).In the outdoor complex there is a swimming pool and a sun terrace with parasols and sun loungers. You will be able to play table tennis and golf (golf course 1 km away). At your disposal is a program of activities and entertainment (seasonal), with live music in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Arenas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Arenas Hotel Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain
Las Arenas Benalmadena
Hotel Las Arenas Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing