We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in the Mac Puerto Marina. We were away for my wife's 40th birthday (sans kids - for a change).

The hotel was in a fantastic location, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the cleanliness of the hotel could not be challenged. We paid €10.00 extra a night to upgrade to a fourth floor room with a sunbathing deck. This was a great idea and we'll worth it. We were given a free glass of cava on arrival and because we booked with them direct we received an extended check out time of 2pm.

We would really recommend this hotel.

In late November Benalmadena is very quiet. We chose the Marina because we believed it would be the busiest section. The area was reasonably busy during the day although even then a lot of the bars and restaurants were closed. Passed 7pm though Benalmadena is a ghost town. We walked the length of the promenade and no bars or restaurants were open. The busiest location (we learned - slightly late) was a section at the end of the Marina or on the main road close to the roundabout at the top of the entrance to the Marina. It was very surreal though to be the only ones on the front at 8pm.

We always found somewhere nice though and enjoyed our break. The weather was warm when the sun was out, although we stood out in tShirts.

Room Tip: In later months the northern block - pool facing rooms get the sun or sea facing on the southern blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

We are very happy receiving your lovely comments. All your impressions about our friendly team, hotel cleanliness as well as our nice situation in the heart of the Puerto Deportivo have been transmitted to the hotel staff. We specially appreciate that you have chosen our Mac Hotel to celebrate your wife's birthday.

Congratulations and we hope to see again very soon

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,982)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fresh back from staying 4 nights here, paid next to nothing for it on a half board option so was getting a bit worried about a patch of poor reviews on Tripadvisor on the week leading up to our stay. First impessions were good, well situated, very clean, & a nice cold glass of cava on our arrival. Our room was on the 2nd of the 3 main floors & some of the furniture was quite dated but again the room was clinically clean with an excellent bathroom that you could have performed open heart surgery in ! Our room was towards the rear of the hotel and the view was of a small garden & a seldom used street, but what the hell - we didnt intend to spend our days looking out of the window ! The beds were firm but with some very nice pillows that you could 'plump up' Rooms were cleaned efficiently every day and bed linen & towels changed.
No BBC on the tv, but there was ITV, Channel 4+1, & Sky news
There were 2 sittings for dinner, we chose the later 19:45 one and it worked well. Very big dining room with an enormous choice of food , i maintain that anyone who couldnt find anything to their liking here was just being awkward, i particulaly enjoyed the roast turkey, and the pork ribs. the salad bar was also very good. I personally wasnt too fussed with the deserts, i find that most spanish deserts taste the same no matter what they look like, but having said that i did enjoy the strange braised fruit in pastry that u were invited to pour spanish brandy over from the bottle - very yummy !
Breakfast was possibly even better with eggs cooked in 5 or 6 styles, along with all the 'full english' accompaniments, bacon sausage, beans, tomatoes, all freshly cooked in front of your eyes, not left in heated dishes for hours on end as in some hotels. There was also a great selection of fruits, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, breads, & other daily specials. The coffee was very drinkable too.
Wine prices in the restaurant are maybe a little on the high side, but hey, you're on holiday & there aint any pockets in shrouds. The person i was travelling with developed a nasty tummy upset on day 4 of our 5 day break, and was confined to the room for 12-18 hours (nothing to do with hotel food we're sure) Our waiter, Rafa, noticed he was missing and asked if he was ok,when i told him the problem he recommended camomile tea, when i had finished my meal he appeared with a pot of it, along with a cup & saucer & lemon for me to take to the room, how thoughtfull was that !
The resort was very quiet, especially at night, but there were still plenty of places to get a drink. it was late November and although the days were pleasantly warm, it did drop very cool at night so if visiting during the winter months i would recommend a jumper or fleece as a minimum.
My overall impression of the Mac Puerto Marina.... A very good tourist hotel, with welcoming hard working staff, & good food. If your looking for luxury maybe you should look elsewhere, but if you're looking for great value for money, cleanliness, and being just 'round the corner from the beach & marina - book it..... i know i will again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank carNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We are absolutely delighted with your comments. We specially appreciate the ones regarding your general very good impressions as you said about "the enormous choice of food for dinner and even better for breakfast".
The hotel team and myself we would like to thank you for such a detailed description of our services and we count on seeing you next year

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a week away at the Puerto Marina , greeted by the friendly reception staff with a welcome glass of cava while checking in. Room good and kept immaculate by the friendly cleaning ladies , allocated on ground floor with view to the rear of the hotel which did not bother me as out all day but if staying in the summer months will pay additional charge for a pool view room .

Good food, great choice for breakfast and dinner and contrary to other reviewers never experienced any delays for a table, cups or coffee at breakfast ..Dinner on later sitting never ran out of food and always good choice from the fabulous salads , main courses - with chefs constantly cooking at station to keep food served fresh and hot and fantastic sweets.. always found staff friendly and high visible management presence every day in restaurant.

Hotel location great for the marina and prom to Torremolinos or Benalmadena on the other side with the beach on the doorstep and buses to just about anywhere along the coast from the top of the road .In the winter months the area is quieter and this is something to bear in mind as lots of bars and restaurant take their holidays now after the busy summer season.

Having visited this area every year at different times for over 20 years and stayed at other 4 star establishments from next door to the other end of the beaches can say we will not be going anywhere else in the future years providing we can get space here ...see you next year...

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sunny room if this matters to you ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
2  Thank Habbie10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

On behalf of our team we would like to thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us. It make us feel wonderful that experienced visitors like you are very satisfied with the quality of our services..

We will be very happy seeing you next year

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our first visit to this Hotel. We knew location well as we are in this area frequently.
Our usual Hotel was closed for winter, so we decided to try Puerto and we were not disappointed.
Check in was fast and our room was ready even though we were 2 hours early, granted the Hotel did not appear full.
Our room was large and spotless we did not have a great view but for the price we did not worry,
as we were only their for a week.
Pool area was very pleasant, as was a courtyard type area at a level below the pool.
Food was good without being brilliant, buffet was always kept well stocked. The sweets which are a bit of a weakness of mine when on vacation were Excellent.
The staff were all so pleasant and helpful.
Will use this Hotel again, even when our usual one is open again.
Final point on return to Airport a Taxi from rank across from hotel was only 21 euros.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgethepost48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Director General at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We would like to thank you for your comments. We are glad that you like your stay and we appreciate very much your positive impressions regarding our rooms, staff, food, pool area as well as our procedures of check in.

We hope to see you again in the near future

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just returned home from a week away staying at the Puerto Marina. What a great week it was, a friendly welcome by the Reception Staff, we had emailed to upgrade the room and pay locally for a room on the "sunny side" following advice from other reviews on TA.
The room was very clean and spacious, good sized balcony, nice clean bathroom. It was great to have fridge in the room too. Very Happy!
We elected to go for the early evening meal (as there are two sittings) lots of choice plus a carvery. Breakfast was also very good with plenty of choice. Staff very helpful, nothing to much trouble.
The location near to the Marina was ideal with plenty of flat walking, easy access to the local bus stops too.
The Hotel population was around 50% Germans, 40% British, 10% Dutch, Italians, French and Spanish. All around 55 to 85 years old, Hotel very quite at night, we slept well. We'll will go back!

Room Tip: Chose 2nd floor to look over the Pool on the sunny side - it will be extra 10 Euro's per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Up_Up_and_away187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

The hotel staff and myself would like to thank you very much for sharing your nice review with us. We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel services and hope to see you again next year.

Kind regards.

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Service friendly and welcoming we were given a glass of cava on arrival. Room clean tidy and spacious. The food was very good lots of choice for breakfast and evening meal, they operate 2 sittings 6pm and 7.45pm which seems to work. Great location near the marina and beach.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are delighted that you have had a great time at Mac Puerto Marina and thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind comments with us.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just come home from a great weekend in Spain, staying at the Puerto Marina and was impressed with this hotel. the rooms are clean the bed comfortable , breakfast and evening meals really good and the staff helpful and friendly ,also well placed a stones throw from the Lovely marina ,would definitely go back !!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We are grateful for your kind review and are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your weekend with us. We appreciate your nice comments on the service and nearby area.

Hopefully next year we can welcome you again at Mac Puerto Marina.

Best regards,

Rafael Álvarez
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,042 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $83 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing