We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean well situated hotel for a fab holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean well situated hotel for a fab holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on the promenade border of Torremolinos in one direction and the local Marina in the other. There are nice shops/restaurants right on the doorstep.
This hotel was one of the cleanest I have stayed in abroad, the rooms and bathrooms are a good size and cleaned daily. The complimentary toiletries are pretty basic for a 4 star hotel but sufficient if you need them.
We stayed half board for 2 weeks 22/5/13- 5/6/13
The food in the buffet restaurant is good and plentiful although they label some dishes but not others and it can be hard to tell what things are. If you are staying for a fortnight, there in my opinion is not enough variety to prevent food boredom setting in. Dinner is in two sittings (you have to say at the start what sitting you are going to and stick with it for the duration) and you are allocated a table which you should have for the duration of your stay. This was ok in theory but did not work and we ended up having three different tables during our stay as our table had also been allocated to other people! I found this system quite odd and between that and queuing for food due to the set dinner times it became a bit like a school canteen! That said the food was nice but it was nice eating out a few times and getting away from the canteen regime!
This hotel has recently changed from Riu to Mac hotels so I don't know if there is much change. The entertainment is dreadful, which is a shame as the bar area is a nice place to sit in the evening.
While there are some minor details which stopped me rating this hotel as excellent ( I admit I am very fussy) overall I would definitely stay again. If you want a brilliant location and like clean accommodation then I have no qualms about recommending this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross12Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the stay and appreciate your opinion as it helps us at the time of improving aspects of our hotel. Regarding your comment on the restaurant tables it is correct that our guests keep the same table during their complete stay, however this could have got altered with new arrivals at the hotel. We are deeply sorry if you experienced any inconvenience.
We look forward to your next visit at our hotel and will be glad to help you at any time.
Kind regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    581
    170
    34
    23
See reviews for
299
920
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Having read all the reviews on trip advisor I had high expectations & was not let down as previous people have said from the check in welcome drink, to all the staff we encountered, the cleanliness of the hotel & the rooms all were perfect. The hotel is also in a great location for the lovely marina which is across the road. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriciaL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Many thanks for the the review. We are very glad to hear you had a good stay and look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went as a family with our 2 year old and my parents. Good standard from the moment we arrived with drinks offered at check in and English speaking staff. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms done in marble with a good shower. We had a sea view which was a bonus. The food is a big part of this hotels success and they take great pride in offering a fantastic array of different things at breakfast and dinner. You are allocated a set table for dinner which was fine by us. We always ended up spending much longer at mealtimes than anticipated due to my dad and husband continually "just wanting to try" a bit of something else! Nice bar/lounge with live music in the evenings and a very nice pool and bar outside. Good area for families as there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants all around and it is a very safe area from what we saw.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to receiving you soon again.
Kind regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back Tues 11 June after a week in Puerto Marina. Excellent hotel. Location great, just behind the lovely marina & promenade. Food was great, best buffet meals we've ever had (both breakfast & evening), and we've stayed at a lot of hotels. Room was kept spotless & cleaned everyday, had a room on 3rd floor at the back, overlooking a residential street, but was nice & quiet. Reception staff greeted us with complimentary drinks on arrival and were very helpful and friendly (especially Ana Maria & Luz Maria) when we had a problem with our excursion booking to Gibraltar. There were also complimentary beer, soft drinks & water in fridge in the room, which is another lovely touch. All in all we had a great holiday in a fantastic hotel and would certainly go back to this hotel again. Well done to all staff in Puerto Marina Hotel for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd Floor rooms with pool view are best, avoid rooms at front as likely to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you had a great stay at our hotel and that we could be helpful. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind regard
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I liked the sound of this hotel not far from the beach was also able to offer us bed and breakfast just what we wanted.
We like to worship the sun in the day and do our own thing at night.
We had a nice room on the second floor, simply furnished most usually are and we found it clean. Got fresh towels and linen when needed and the beds were comfy.
Breakfast was anything from cereal and toast to hot food, as much tea and coffee as needed.
Space to sunbath is not a problem the grounds are quite big, but we preferred the beach.
The evenings can get a bit lively but we managed to find a few quiet bars away from it.
Enjoyed our break now looking for the next one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to receiving you at our hotel soon again.
Kind regard
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had a really enjoyable stay here, we were greeted with a glass of champagne while we checked in. We were put on the groung floor which was a bit of a dissapointement as we were hoping for a nice view over looking the pool, room 191, however the standard of the room was excellent and very clean and spacious, more than enough wardrobe a draw space for us and we dont travel light !. Breakfast was self service buffet style and a very wide range of food on offer.Location of this hotel was brilliant for us , only two minutes from the beach and the marina......The marina was nice with plenty bars and restaurants to choose from, the atmosphere was enjoyable as the resort was starting to get busy for the season. There is a Irish bar across the road from the hotel which is excellent for a couple of drinks and stays open until 2.30 am........Overall we would have no problem staying here again.........p.s. the weather was very hot, it was still 33 deg at 6.30pm one evening !!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor as the view from balcony was poor , ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wey_aye_man59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed you stay. We look forward to receiving you soon again at our hotel.
Kind regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

we had a couple of nights here in mid May and had a great time. brilliant room, very spacious and light with large balcony - we liked it so much we stayed an extra night!
all the staff were friendly and helpful.
we only had breakfast included in our deal but would recommend this and huge variety.
pool area was good, but we didn't sit round it as not too good weather..!
we would definitely return
thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.0 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 stars 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol House Aloha - Costa del Sol
4.2 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 stars 2,128 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing