We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

spent a week at this hotel from the 12th of april for our silverwedding. hotel is spotless. swimmingpool area lovely. read recent review to ask for 4th floor roof top so we foned and we were given 405 massive sunterrace sun all day. greatlocation 2mins from marina and beach. only downside was 2 seperate evening meal times early or late stting when on holiday we like 2 eat when hungry not restricted 2 a certain time u always felt u were watching ur time u culdnt relax. hot meals at breakfast was the same everyday quite disappointing. staff very friendly. we would return

Room Tip: if u want sun all day ask for 4th floor 2sunloungers with umbrella
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment. We are very glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at the Mac Puerto Marina. We look forward to welcome you back in your next visit!
Kind Regards
Rafael Alvarez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,963 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked this hotel through travelzoo for £55 per room Half Board (should be anything between £70 - £90 per room night) for a long weekend in April.
We were not disappointed at all. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff on reception. We were provided a glass of champayne each on arrival whilst being booked in. Once fully brief about meal times and options we were given the key to our room which was on the 2nd floor.
On walking into the room, the first thing I noticed was its size. The room is bigger than most spanish hotel rooms. The bathroom was stocked with freebie shampoo, bath gel, soap. Even a free comb !.The beds were very comfortable even though mine squeaked a little. We had a mini fridge which had complimentary beer, pop and water in there. I've never had that before at all !!
We had a pool view room which was nice. There are only a small number of sea view rooms due to the hotels configuration. We had a lovely balcony with an inbuilt washing/towel hanger. The balcony had 2 chairs and a table. The only problem with the room was that the hotel boasts it has air con/heating however both were switched off at the time we were there (19th-22nd April)..I did bring it to the receptions attention however they said they were changing it over from heating to A/C and would take over 2 days for the system to work. However I have seen a reply from the manager on another review saying something different (ie AC not switched on as its not required as yet due to the weather however we definately needed it on during the night as the rooms got muggy albeit the temp outside was not so. Im not sure how the management can make the decision on everyones behalf that its not necessary yet, everyone has a different tolerance level)
Anyway, food was good. Breakfast was better organised than evening meal. Its not obvious on arrival of your evening meal however you have to present yourself to the main waiter however when you dont know who he is then this makes it difficult. Once you've presented yourself he will sit you down at a table somewhere in the restaurant. This table is then yours for the duration of the stay. This again is not obvious on arrival and not communicated. It gets very hot in the restaurant without AC. Windows were open but wasnt helping. The food quality is excellent for a buffet type meal. Very varied and well cooked/tasty.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful. But bear in mind you need to ask. The cleaners were lovely. Hotel was clean and tidy. Pool had a bar/snack bar, lifeguard and beds. Pools towels can be got from reception with a 10 euro deposit per towel. Pool very cold. Im guessing its freshwater.
All in all, for my £55 per night the hotel was an excellent deal for the two of us.
One last thing, the entertainment needs improving. They put on a singer every night but their material is cheesey and corny. Most of the clientelle are over 50years old. We felt very young here !
Great location for the marina and its bars and restaurants. The only problem here are the numerous lucky lucky men who are constantly trying to sell you cheap usual stuff plus the restaurants have a member of staff outside each one trying to get you to eat at their place which gets annoying after a while. Loads of boat trip business along the marina walk. We went on an english owned and staffed one. 20 euro per person for 2 hours on a sail boat. Free drinks. Sometimes dolphins are seen. (not when we were on there tho).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmayes1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Many thanks for this great review. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the entertainment, we appreciate your sugestions and will take them into account for improvements.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Rafael Álvarez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good clean hotel in a nice spot near the Marina. Meals good quality and well cooked - plenty of variety at both breakfast and dinner. Rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor overlooking the courtyard and pool are the best placed. Mac have introduced happy hour and seem to be working hard to personalize the hotel. Air - conditioning due to start working as we left.Reception desk staff very helpfull.Entertainment a bit hit and miss but better than nothing.Take a trip on the local bus to Malaga and the Old Town

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd foor overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are also working on improving the entertainment!

Best regards,

Rafael Alvárez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We know this hotel from its past RIU ownership and had few concerns about going back this year despite the change in ownership to MAC group of hotels. The same friendly staff are there and as others have reported the hotel is in prime position for most holiday needs. That was the good part.

Not so good was the major disappointment in quality of food and service which has dropped to 3 star levels and this is being generous. Selection was very limited and not at 4* level at all and the staff numbers look to have been reduced, resulting in less than a 4* service from people who are really great but cannot be expected to cover the increased workloads - laying tables, clearing away, doing the wine, running to the bar for beer etc. It just was not the right experience by comparison to other good 4* hotels and I doubt if they will hold the 4* rating on this performance.We were also very sad to witness a number of disputes where incorrect tables had been assigned and you had 2 couples playing musical chairs for the table - who needs this on holiday?

You also need to watch room selection as it is entirely possible to have a room that gets little sun - this trip we were in 204 and had we been sun lovers then this was not the room. The AC was very poor and the room was never properly cool. There are good rooms over the pool area but as far as we could see these were all occupied by other non UK Tour Operators. We don't watch much TV but normally rely on BBC World so disappointing that of the 20 channels the only English were Sky news and ancient CBS repeats. Had we been non UK there was a wider choice.

This is still a good hotel in a great locality and with some excellent staff. That said, if you are used to real 4* standards then you may want to look at other options.

JOHN R

Room Tip: Lots of rooms around the pool but you may need to sort this out direct with the hotel rather than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your disapointment with the hotel under the management of Mac Hotels.

We can assure you that we are keeping the same ammount and quality of buffet items as previously with RIU Hotels.

Also we would like to point out that the number of waiters serving is the same and it has not been reduced by any means.

The air conditioning is not working at present as the weather is not warm enough for it to be needed. Of course as the weather warms up we will turn it on.

In reference to the allocation of sun facing rooms, the room 204 that you were staying at had sun from around 11am, nonetheless please take note that you can email us at bookingpm@mac-hotels.com and request a sun facing room for your next stay. Please take into account though, that special requests cannot always be guaranteed, depending on the occupancy of the hotel.

At present we have two English speaking TV channels and are working on the installation of a third one.

We are also very sorry about the incident by which your allocated table had been occupied by other guests on your last night, we would like to apologise again for the inconvenience.

Best regards,

Rafael Alvárez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel has such a good location. It's right beside the beach and also just across the road from the nice port area. It is a smaller quieter resort and I would say a bit more classy than some other better known close by places. This hotel was a great choice as we had our breakfast and dinner included and the food was really good and had a much better choice than most hotels we've been to before. They give you a set table for your whole stay for dinner time, so you get to know your waiter and table neighbours which was nice. Loved the freshly made fruit smoothies at breakfast. I have never seen that served at a breakfast buffet before. Our bedroom was spacious and clean with a good bathroom and nice balcony. Nice new towels and sheets and there is a fridge that they put some free drinks in for you on your arrival day, which was a nice surprise. Forgot to mention the bar downstairs beside the restaurant. There was live music in the evenings and it was a good place where you could comfortably sit with a drink after dinner. We had a very good time here and for families or couples we say give it a go.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Rafael Alvárez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have never been to such friendly and welcoming hotel. Every one of the staff is friendly and wanted to make sure that our stay was great. Breakfast is from 8am till 10:30 but at 10 it became so quiet that my wife and I were the only people in such big room. Rooms are superb and the pool is ever so clean. We can not think of a better hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We look forward to your next visit

Best regards,

Rafael Alvárez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had never heard of the resort until I booked this hotel and was pleasently surprised. It´s a lovely place to spend a week and this hotel made it all the better. We were warmly greeted by a lady receptionist who offered us a drink and checked us in quickly, while giving us all the necessary info. We chose the late seating for dinner (there are 2 seatings) at 7:45pm. which fitted in really well with our schedule. It´s buffet style dining but of a high quality and with an immense choice. The chefs are continually going round checking everything is full and tidy and all the dishes we had were very good and the sweet section was fantastic. They had a different hot fruit sweet most nights which was my favourite. The pineapple in warm syrup with brandy on the side, if you fancied it, a real star! Our bedroom was large and had a lovely sized private balcony overlooking the swimming pool. The ideal spot to enjoy the complimentary beer they provided in the fridge. The bathroom was big with a bath and shower and all done in marble with a great big mirror for hair and make up. The situation of this hotel is excellent and when you go outside you are literally in the centre of the resort with the marina and beach just steps away. Shops, bars and restaurants everywhere too so you can walk to everything. It had a very nice feel and was safe at night. The weather was perfect and we both enjoyed our week tremendously. A very good buy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LaurenF876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you very much for reviewing the Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, we are very please you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Rafael Alvárez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.6 mi away
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $83 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing