We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but beware which room you get !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good but beware which room you get !”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited Feb 2013. Most guests were of retirement age. Nice food, nice bar, average entertainment. Breakfast was particularly nice. They put me in a ground floor room facing the street, the only problem was is was facing a wall as the street was a few yards above me ! - the point here is make sure you get a room which is pool facing, or otherwise worse case first floor or above. The room itself was nice but dark due to location and a terrible non existent view from balcony. Hotel is central and well located for the marina, Torremolinos, and Benalmadena

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    665
    191
    42
    24
See reviews for
323
1,040
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We know this area of Spain well but had not been to this hotel before.
Our room was a good size and beds comfy. Extra pillows were brought to us when asked for. It was a very dark room and did not get any sun at all.(373)
Bar was great had to wait to be served a couple of times. Entertainment was ok but we like to go out after dinner.
Good location for walking out and getting buses etc.
The food was excellent we had late sitting at 7.45 and this suited us. The buffet on Vallentines night was brilliant. Staff all friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuleeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Riu from 6th January until 12th February, mainly to get away from the UK winter weather. I must point out that other guests were not mainly Dutch or German as has been mentioned in previous reviews, but were in fact an even mixture of extremely polite Dutch, German, Belgium, Austrian, Swiss, with guests also from Luxembourg and France, which gave the hotel a wonderful continental feel.

As mentioned in previous reviews the food was excellent with all the hot dishes cooked on show including English roast beef, baked salmon cooked in wine, roast pork, baked hake, haddock, pollock, casseroles, pizzas, pastas, etc ec. The salad bar had lots of choice, with mussels, smoked salmon, carved chicken breast etc etc.
In fact during our 5 week stay we never had the same thing twice for dinner and the food would rival any cruise ship buffet

The rooms were beautifully furnished, decorated, comfortable and pristine. The balcony was spacious, with ample room for the patio furniture.

The entertainment was average, however I must mention that there were 3 keyboard palyers who played several times and sang only popular English songs, in fact all the enterainment was in English. One keyboard in particular Mario was excellent and had a local ex pat following.

The staff, without exception were helpful, polite and friendly.

As this hotel is being leased by Riu to another chain in the near future, I hiope that the current standard continues.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are all good apart from the bottom floor where you are overlooking the sunbeds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_and_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We planned a week in Spain for a birthday treat and we were very pleasantly surprised at the very good location lots of places to walk to shop bars etc. the hotel was very well organised and room were spacious and very clean plus daily replenishment of toiletries. Food was excellent along with the great waiters although it could be very busy in the mornings. Evening meals were on a two seating arrangement 6pm or 7.45 which seemed to work very well. We were entertained each evening which was ok. Only thing was missing was tea coffee in room. On our next visit we shall take travel kettle. Over all a good winter week.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsgetaway2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in Feb'13. I chose this hotel for it's location as it is beside the beautiful Marina and Promenade. The staff were always helpful and polite. The food at the buffet was excellent and we were given the 2nd sitting for dinner which meant no searching for a table we were told that we could change it to the earlier sitting if we wanted but we were happy going for dinner a little later as the weather was beautiful and we could make the most of our days. We were on the ground floor and the bedroom was comfortable the maid was excellent she would even put our towels into animal shapes the way that they do on the cruise ships. It was mainly Dutch and German people at the hotel and there was entertainment every night in a comfortable lounge with waiter service. I must mention the heated outdoor pool, my husband managed to swim in it every day. I would definetely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhona2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a short break in Benalmadena to get a few days of winter sun. The location of the Riu is perfect for this as the Marina is on the doorstep with plenty of cafes restaurants etc.On entering the hotel it reminded me of a throwback to the 1980s Decor is a bit dull and souless. Check in was very efficent, dealt with by pleasant professional staff. We were allocated Room 384 which faced the road and got the sun until early afternoon. The room was spotless and bathroom was equally as clean. The only gripe was the brown threadbare towels which were provided. Nothing like nice white fluffy towels in a 4 star hotel!! The pool area was clean but lacked any design effort. Just a big slabbed patio with a small pool at the end. Sunbeds were comfortable with mattress provided. We had half board ( you cant book b & b ) but as we like to eat out at night we just availed of breakfast which was very nice. The guests were mainly Germans and Dutch with a few English speaking people. Age profile appeared to be mainly retirees. Entertainment matched the age profile.
On conclusion this hotel is in a brilliant location but I have stayed in far better 4 star hotels and would definately consider what else is available before booking here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noeleen-47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I visit Benalmadena regularly but have not stopped at this hotel. Decided to book at after reading excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and got a great deal. We requested a third floor room with a sunny aspect overlooking the pool, when we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and a glass of Cava. The receptionist said that we had been allocated a special room on the 4th floor 403 and we were not disappointed. It was a large room with an enormous private balcony which we used for a few hours every day to soak up the warm sunshine. The food was good with lots of choice.
I must agree with some of the negative comments, the air conditioning which is controlled by the hotel and was set to heating only. The entertainment is mediocre although the dancers were brilliant. The majority of the guests were Dutch or German in their seventies.
We really enjoyed our stay overall and would rate the hotel as a good 4star accommodation. It is being taken over by MAC hotels at the end of March but it is not been refurbished at that time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank teddytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Sol House Costa del Sol mixed by Ibiza Rocks
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing