We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Hotel Should Be 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Holton Le Clay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This Hotel Should Be 5 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed here for a week in mid October 2012 with my husband. Beautiful immaculate hotel, only 4 floors so no trek in lift to get to room. We were greeted on arrival with glass of champagne and felt very welcome. Our room was on top floor with view of courtyard and pool and room was spotless, cleaned really well every day, lovely bright bathroom. Great choice of foods from salads to mains and lovely sweets for after. Staff very professional and hardworking, all the staff lined up in the
doorway of the restaurant every evening to greet you in. Lovely sunny terrace around pool with plenty of sunbeds and cushions, hotel dont allow towels to reserve sunbeds. Location couldnt have been better, across road from marina and five minute away from lovely prom, which went for miles, we know, we walked it, and lovely beach. Plenty of shops on marina and along prom to main shops in Torremolinos. Although central, hotel was very quiet and felt relaxing. If I had to find a minus drinks in hotel were twice the price of outside and on the week we were there hotel had a lot of Germans staying, although they were also quiet. Resorts of Benalmadena and Torremolinos were both lovely, excellent for walking or for just chilling on beach, also we had beautiful weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with pool or courtyard view as rooms round the front and back of hotel look out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xbeachdonkeyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    644
    187
    39
    24
See reviews for
314
999
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have just had a really good holiday at Riu Peurto Manrina Hotel, Benalmadena (where we have not travelled to before). Arrived on 28 September 2012 (44th wedding anniversay) for a celebratory holiday. It was teeming it down with rain and it had obviously been raining for a few days judging by the small lake on the roundabout outside hotel. The evening was dry and thankfully the rain stopped on the Sunday 29th and then we had fantastic temperatures.

On entering the hotel we were greeted by really pleasant staff and a "welcome" glass of Cava - how nice!! We checked in and when we were advised of our meal sitting (2nd) I wasn't too happy but the receptionist very kindly changed it immediately to 1st sitting. We were given our key and proceeded to our given room but on opening the curtains once again I was disappointed as there were loads of trees blocking our view from the balcony. I love sitting on the balcony of an evening sharing a drink or two with my husband. I went back to reception to ask if there was a possibility of changing the room - no hesitation, the young man was very kind and pleasant and changed it for a room overlooking the square. We enjoyed many evenings on the balcony watching all the people coming and going on their nights out (after we had been out ourselves & returned back to hotel).

Now the hotel itself - the room was spacious with lots of drawer and wardrobe space. There was air conditioning but it did not seem to have any effect on the temperature of the room and the ceiling fan just rotated the warm air - but we do go abroad for the heat don't we? Clean and light bathroom with hairdryer and towel change when requested. The cleaners were very friendly, worked hard and greeted you every time you met. The restaurant was large and we were shown to a table just inside on our first evening but after the meal the head waiter asked if we were happy with the table and I requested a table further into the restaurant as there was a lot of walking about to get the food. This second table was the one allocated to us for the duration of our holiday which I think is a good idea as you know where you are sitting each evening. Breakfast was a "sit where you like" meal. The food was varied and we could always find something we liked. I was very pleased with the choice of fruit for dessert. The restaurant staff were also very friendly but did rush around a lot so you had to be careful not to collide with any of them. There were lots of sunbeds and there wasn't any rush in a morning to get one - this could be because of the time of year. There was a parasol for every two beds. The resort itself is very clean and the location of the hotel meant that you only had to walk a few yards down the promenade and you were in Torremolinos. It was a lovely long promenade with lots of shops which we walked down many days, in fact the whole area is wonderful with the marina, little trains, tour bus, lots of bars and restaurants and Sealife. The marina is fascinating and we just seemed to walk and walk every day. We are not lovers of the beach or sea but we do love to go walking around to see all of the area. We did seem to have quite a few mosquitos around (probably due to the rain before we arrived) so we were both nibbled quite a lot. Because we weren't expecting this we had left our sprays etc at home so had to buy some more.

I can honestly say that we had a lovely time at this hotel and think that the staff were all great. They were friendly, smiling and always trying to please. I always think that if you are pleasant with people then that is what you receive in return. I would love to return to this hotel or any other Riu hotel and so I have applied for the Riu card in preparation for this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here from 3rd October-8th October.I can't agree with some of the reviewers re the staff. I didn't find them particularly friendly, apart from 1 lady in the restaurant who was always smiling and friendly. The staff in the dining room seemed be under pressure most of the time. I think the problem was the hotel was fully booked and not enough staff to cope with the number of guests. In the morning when we went for breakfast it was nearly impossible to find a table that was cleared for us to use. I do agree with the reviewers that the hotel is spotless and food good. I emailed the hotel and got a room overlooking the pool on the 2nd floor and they did oblige. This hotel is closing in April and opening under another brand. I think this is a pity as the Riu brand stands for quality. This just leaves the Riu Nautilus which is closing in November until March for upgrade

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We haved just returned from Riu Puerto Marina (Benalmadena) and have nothing but praise for everything about this hotel. The place is spotless, food varied and theres an excellent variety to choose from. The staff are so friendly and very efficient. The hotel is in a perfect location just minutes from the beach and the Marina.

The pool isnt that big but there was never any problem with sunbeds even although the hotel was full. No loud blaring music at the pool. For a 10 euros refundable deposit you can have a fresh beach towel each day so need need to pack towels.

Each room has a mini bar which is well stocked and not too expensive. The staff dont handle money as everything is put on a tab for you which you settle before checking out.

Its a great place to stay and we would love to go back. One little complaint is that there was no courtesy room available for a shower etc when we checked out. We had 3 rooms which we wanted to keep on until 6pm but none of them were available with the hotel being full. We were told to use the shower at the pool area, not very satisfactory !! Another guest kindly offered us the use of her room. All in all though a great break.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room with a partial pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goodtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel facilities were clean and comfortable. All staff we came into contact with were helpful and acknowledged our questions with courtesy and a smile. We e-mailed the hotel prior to arrival asking if at all possible for a 3rd floor room overlooking the pool. We received a reply that they would do there best, and they duly did. Comfortable single beds pushed together, fridge, T.V. plenty of draw/wardrobe space, W.C. bidet and shower over a bath. The room has A/C and ceiling fan and a balcony furnished with a patio table and two chairs.
Food on offer and choice at both breakfast and dinner was very good. If you can't find something to enjoy then you deserve to go hungry. Eat inside or outside at breakfast and at your allocated table for dinner. If your not happy with your table for dinner, request a change and they will do their best to oblige. Dress code for gentlemen is long trousers at dinner, which is taken at two sittings, 6.30pm or 8.15pm. Again, if you want to change your sitting time, ask.
Location superb - marina with varied boat trips(boats,shops,restaurants,bars) and beach/promenade (sunbeds & brollies,beach bars) within 200 metres walk of hotel. A large beer varied between 1.5 - 3 euros approx. Usual holiday resort type shops to browse in.
At the time we were there ( Sept) I would guess that the overall hotel clientle were mature in years which suited us fine as all we intended to do was just to chill out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrJ692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is spotlessly clean and very well managed. The staff are exceptional. They are always helpful and are very efficient. The food is very good and well presented.

The hotel is very conveniently situated for the beaches and the port.

We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

i stayed at the hotel with my wife for a week at the end of September 12, and found the hotel to be exactly as you would expect from a Rui hotel. It seems to cater, at least whilst we were there, for the more mature holidaymakers, we are in our early 50's and we think we brought the average age of the guests down. There were a few younger holidaymakers staying there, but not many.
The hotel is on a half board basis, and the food was very good with a lot of choice, although after a week I was glad not to have to go again into the same dining hall twice a day, and potentially if I stayed in the area again I might consider an hotel on a B&B basis as there were lots of restaurants close by.
There is a nice bar at the hotel, and entertainment was laid on each night, usually a singer, who generally weren't that good. I also thought the music they played wasn't inspired, the hotel seems to think we must be 80 plus as they tended to play easy listening music all the time, when in fact many of us in our 50's or 60's were teenagers when the Beatles and the Stones, even Led Zep were in their prime. I personally would have liked some disco music.
The Perto Marina is just across the square from the hotel, and the nearest beach 100 yards away. There is an uninspiring pool on site, which we didn't use as the beach was much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank needdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.5 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena

Property: Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Address: Avenida Del Puerto Deportivo S/N, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beachfront 4-star hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena, with free WiFi, is located on the beach front and next to the marina, with its lively atmosphere and night life.The Malaga airport is also less than half an hour's drive away.This 4* hotel is ideal for breaks for couples in the Costa del Sol, offering 272 large rooms with terrace. The area of Benalmadena offers also the possibility to practice sport such as tennis, horse riding, bike renting, squash, aquatic sports, etc, but it is also well known for the 10 golf courses in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing