We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT GOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Benal Beach Complex
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights from 22nd March and all I can say is thank god it was only for 2 nights ! As soon as we arrived we noticed the flush on the toilet didn't work but after we reported it to reception it was fixed within a few hours. The room was a decent size but everything in the room was dated and falling apart. We had to wait an hour in between our showers in order to get a decent temperature as the hot water must come from a small tank. You couldn't have a shower within minutes of each other as the water would be freezing ! I asked reception for some more toilet roll as we were on the last of the 2 rolls that they had given us and the receptionist told me that there was no service today (saturday) and that if I wanted toilet roll then I would need to go to the supermarket and buy it myself ! People live here as well as others being rented out and I dont think the residents like it as we were given 'dirty looks' when we arrived. The corridor on our floor (5) had puddles of dog pee in it. I do not blame the puppy who did it but the selfish owner who was too lazy to clean it up ! I am just pleased that we only had 2 nights here as I couldnt have stayed any longer. However, Benalmadena itself was brilliant and my friends and I enjoyed the restaurants and bars so it is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Besants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 692 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with two friends. Our room had three single beds.
There was the odd cockroach but I guess it's to be expected.

There is no air-con but we each took a small fan and used it in the bedroom.

CAUTION: If you're on the balcony, be sure not to close the door behind you. It will lock you out.
Two of us were on the balcony and the third came out and shut the door behind him.
No one we should to could understand us and in the end, we smashed a small window pane.
The hotel didn't contact us after we broke the glass.. I don't think they noticed! It was only small and a curtain blocked it.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Peadar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After reading the many posts about the Benal Beach it was with trepidation that we decided to proceed with our booking which had been made via Booking.com for a 2 week stay at Club La Costa, Benal Beach. Surely it could not be that bad considering its location......how wrong we were!

On arrival first impressions were old, tired and dirty, masses of flaking concrete and black metal. “Looks... and feels like a hospital” by a previous poster sort of sums it up!.....he was lucky he only spent the 1 night there!

We were allocated an apartment in Block 3. This was a 1 bedroom apartment and came complete with safe, iron, ironing board, clothes drier, extra pillows and towels, hairdryer, microwave, toaster, 2 ring hob, television and air-con/heat. The furnishings were in good repair although a little uncomfortable. There were only 2 of us and quite suitable for our needs but certainly not for a larger party.

We saw the maid once during our 2 week stay – all rubbish etc., we had to take to the bins ourselves.

It took a while to understand the ‘set up’ of the Benal Beach, yes it is timeshare hell and yes there are permanent residents complete with dogs and where do these dogs relieve themselves, yes on the grassed areas. We departed today, and up until yesterday, the areas below our balcony were full of ‘dog pooh’! Yes we made a verbal and written complaint regarding this and especially the Health Hazard for children. I am an animal lover and you cannot blame the dogs, just the laziness of their owners who cannot be bothered to ‘pick up’! This must be horrendous in the summer heat!

We also made two additional complaints. One in relation to the youths who skateboard along the corridors at night and the smoking of !!!!!!!!! in broad daylight again by youths (not British) while sprawled out on the grass. There does not seem to be any security at night neither is there any way of contacting reception should an emergency arise.

Although just retired, we are no prudes and have seen/experienced life to the full. We have lived in Spain and understand the Spanish way of life, but what we experienced at the Benal Beach just beggars belief!

Would we stay there again – NO WAY, and I recommend that any self respecting person finds alternative accommodation before making a booking there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sid3348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Holiday Club (timeshare) City! I had a gap 1 night stay here... and that was enough for me.

Externally, the 'complex' looks like a 1970's hospital... and internally... it feels like a 1970's hospital: big, fragmented, clinical, and impersonal.

There must be at least 3 timeshare clubs housed within, and Spanish owned apartments. However, if the price is right, it is an ideal base for the beach. But don't expect to pop down to the indoor pool or gym for a quick dip... unless you are happy to pay extra for the privilege!

In brief; although close to the beach, it is a bit soulless and impersonal for my taste in hotel's. And, appears to be run on a tight budget. When the vast outdoor pool area is open (most outdoor pools are closed in Spain out of season), I can imagine it would be a good 'basic' base for families.

Tip: you don't need to spend 25 Euros or more for a taxi from the airport. You can get a bus to Benalmadena from the airport. Or, even quicker, you can get the train to Arroyo del a Miel (Benelmadena) for 1 Euro 90 cents each (takes about 15/20 mins), then either walk to the beach front (approx 20 mins. all down hill); or get a taxi from the station, as there is taxi rank outside (I think they charge about 8-10 Euros) it is only about a 5/6 min. taxi ride to Benal Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been coming to Benal Beach for 15 years as have an apartment here.It is not everyone's cup of tea but it does have one of the best pools in the area and is very convenient to the beach/park.A lot of the apartments are owned by Spanish and yes they can be noisy but I have also experienced very noisy,rude Brits.
The complex is well maintained,there is always gardeners working in the lovely gardens.The reception staff are mainly there for the residents needs,I have always found them friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this place for families.It is so close to restaurants etc there is no need to cook.If you want to cook the local supermarkets stock some lovely food.I avoid going out in the high season preferring October,November or December when it can still be warm enough for swimming.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near pool,sea views are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank 74Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

we arrived having booked 2 rooms, one had been cancelled and not re-booked due to a flight change,(more on the beach fault) the hotel refused to accept the hotel voucher or try and clear up the situation. after over £50 worth of telephone calls and 6 hours later all my party were roomed. the room that myself and my husband were in was basic and only took a few minutes to realise faults.we were self catering, on looking around there was no oven and no toaster, only 2 rings to cook on and a microwave. there was nothing to put food in the microwave, we also only got a ladel and sieve spoon as utensils. after asking at reception i was told to hire anything i needed even after i protested that what i was asking for was bare essentials, no pay no get! the beds in the bedroom wrer just 2 camp beds which didn`t accomodate anyone six foot or more, the bed setee had broken slats and was dangrrous to sit on. all the chairs round the table were broken and un-useable.when we booked the resort it seemed ideal for our needs as our party had ages 8 to 88 so four pools, pool bar, free wifi meant we should accomedate everyone most of the time. the only pool open was the one you had to pay for. we got onto our providers, on the beach about this (as well as all the other problems) and they where no help as even after they told us we could use the pool free of charge we where still told no pay no play! over the 4 weeks here our room was visited a total of 3 times, towel and sheets changed a wipe round the sink and a swish with the mop, disgusting!!! overall everything that was advertised was not there and unless you paid not even basic self catering facilities, wouldn`t recommend and certainly wouldn`t re-visit.......EVER!!!!

Room Tip: don`t go there!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

arrived 30th november 2012.
taxi from airport price 25 euro benal beach itself is a large complex housing 4 maybe 5 different holiday clubs,ours was the kingfisher club that were responsible for 36 apartments. the reception for our club was pleasant airy and the staff were very friendly and helpful minnimum of fuss we were booked in and shown directions to our apartment,which was very clean well appointed ,but cold ,heating cosisted of one movable electric heater which we found in the wardrobe, to be fair they said another one was available if we required it.the complex itself was always clean and tidy but very cold when you walked around inside ,there was a gym and indoor pool available at a charge ,which we found a bit expensive even with the discount allowed to kingfisher members,the pools outside were closed for refurbishment ,but looked good with five pools with connecting chutes and slides overall liked the area of malaga will go again.

Room Tip: depends what company you book with
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dekker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,014 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
985 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benal Beach Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benal Beach Complex

Address: Avda del Parque 1 | Edif Benal Beach, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range: $35 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Benal Beach Complex 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BENAL BEACH APARTMENTS The privileged location of Benal Beach in one of the most beautiful holiday resorts on the Costa del Sol, Benalmadena Costa, make it a symbol for this beautiful city and one of the most stunning resorts of the Costa del Sol and Spain. Communication: It is well connected by National Highways, Roads, Port and Airport, this city has commuter train station located 500 m. Benal Beach complex, this train runs daily coastline of the Costa del Sol from the railway station of the city of Malaga to Fuengirola stopping at all intermediate cities included its airport, the grand Plaza Mayor Shopping Park and back to Malaga 7.00 hours to 23.00 hours with a frequency of about 30 minutes in both directions, there are bus stops within 50 m of Benal Beach with free anywhere you want to move and there is also a taxi stand right next to the door entrance to Benal Beach Complex. Location: Benal Beach is located 12 Km. From Malaga and 10 Km. From the airport, so it is walking about 15 minutes from Puerto Marina (Benalmadena) and the center of Arroyo de la Miel, just opposite the resort is the immense " Parque La Paloma "with over 200,000 square meters long, where a variety of species of domestic animals live in complete freedom to delight children and adults, a wonderful place where you can enjoy pleasant and relaxing walks through this huge park. Contrasting with this environment forest nature, we have the distance to the beach is only 100 m. where activities are obviously very different, you can choose how, when and where to enjoy your time. Benal Beach has within its walls over 15,000 m² of gardens and artificial lakes, four spectacular pools communicated all through exciting slides that create an aquatic park of 2000 m² of water surface, including a separate pool for children small. Services at Benal Beach: 24 Hour Reception, Bar-Hawaiian (summer), optional sunbeds and mattresses, cafe-restaurant, self-service, game room, mini supermarket, Internet zone optional payment, private security, video surveillance, etc. The facilities are Gymnasium Athens is one of the gyms at greater length and relevance of the Costa del Sol, with a spacious spa with heated pool, jacuzzi, squash, sauna, steam room, fitness room, massage, relaxation etc. All this gym services are optional and particularly management (often make special prices for residents and tenants in the complex). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Benal Beach Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benal Beach Complex Hotel Benalmadena
Benal Beach Benalmadena
Benal Beach Complex Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing