We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never judge a book by its cover!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Don Gustavo
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Never judge a book by its cover!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Spent four nights at the Gustavo prior to a weeks cruise from Malaga first week in May. I was very dissapointed when we pulled up outside as the exterior and immediate surrounding area is very tatty but was very pleased when we went inside, the public areas are modern and well kept and the two bedroomed apartment was the same and immaculately clean and exceptionally well equiped though a tiny bit smaller then I was expecting with a small balcony. Pool area is lovely but you are not allowed to have sunbeds around it only in the designated sunbed area which overlooks the main road and is very noisey which brings me to the one major problem I had, the noise from that road, Its bad!! so bad that I had to purchase ear plugs to sleep, If the windows where double glazed and better fitting im sure it would have made a huge difference however the location and friendly helpful service of the reception staff makes up for a lot and it deserves a four out of five.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flojoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    31
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauchline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed four nights at these apartments and had a lovely time, great location just five minutes walk to marina and apartments were very clean and had everything you needed for self catering holiday, kitchen was really nice and staff were friendly and helpful. I would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view from higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

there were 4 of us stayed here for 4 nights in march. we booked a 2 bedroom apartment but on arrival we were given a 3 bedroom instead which was a nice bonus. the views from the balcony overlooking the beach are superb and the beach, marina and loads of bars and restaurants are all within 5 mins walk. raquel the manager very helpful showing us to our rooms and explaining how everything works in detail. even the most hard to please traveller would struggle to pick a fault with this place!!

Room Tip: high floors have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Although the weather wasn´t too great when we were there in 2010 we had a great time. The flat was spacious, warm and comfortable. The balcony was big enough for a table and chairs to enjoy the sun when it did decide to come out. It´s on the main road so close to everything and we didn´t find it too noisy at night either.

Room Tip: The higher the floor you request the better the views over the coast you´ll get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bc2rlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed a week in the apartment

Helpful?
Thank Mistyblue46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Don gustavo is a great hotel. The pool is nice, the sun bed area is also nice. But there is no restaurant in the hotel. But there are lots of restaurants 2 mins away. Bus stop accross the road. Beach is a 2 min walk. Shops ar a 3min walk but train station is 20-30min walk up hill in sweltering heat. Not good. This hotel is very quite. Never any1 in pool. This hotel is where locals live. But this is good as there is never a sound during the day or night. Brilliant view of the beach and the sea. This hotel is perfect for families with teenage kids in my opinion!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
141 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

The Don Gustavo Apartments are a great value in a perfect location for exploring the Costa del Sol area of Spain. They are conveniently located not far from the Malaga airport and just across the street from the beach and promenade. There are numerous great restaurants within walking distance (a shout out to Diavolo's) and also easy access to the highway for further explorations along the coast. The rooms are clean and well equipped for long or short stays and each has a great view of the water! The staff is very helpful and were flexible with our busy schedule while there.

Room Tip: The best views can be found in the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raquel B, Manager at Apartamentos Don Gustavo, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would like to see you again soon.

A greeting and goodbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Don Gustavo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Don Gustavo

Property: Apartamentos Don Gustavo
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 60 | Benalmádena Costa, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Don Gustavo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With privileged situation in the centre of Benalmadena Costa, just a few metres from the beach and vey close to the Puerto Marina.Don Gustavo Apartments offers fully furnished and equipped apartments of two and three bedroom for 1 to 8 people, lounge, bathroom/s, kitchen and balcony with exceptional sea views. With air conditioning/central heating, satellite television, swimming pool, garden and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartamentos Don Gustavo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Don Gustavo Hotel Benalmadena
Apartamentos Don Gustavo Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing