We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed September 22, 2012

my husband and i have just returned from here yesterday i miss it already. for the last week i spent every morning having breakfast and coffee on my balcony watching the sun come up out of the sea spectacular. we arrived on a friday cleaners came on monday clean sheets and towels that was it we saw them no more but reception told us if we wanted anything towels toilet rolls etc we only had to ask and they were delivered promptly to your room.we hired a fan for 15 euros for the week this was adequate although you could hire a portable air conditioner which is quite expensive. yes the road is busy and loud a couple of drinks sorted that out at night, during the day it's good for people watching. the promanade is wonderfull so many bars and resteraunts but we did notice that eating and drinking here came at a price my husband drinks john smiths which comes in a pint can it costs 350 euros here per can. but step back to the main road and it costs 1euro 90 cents. we saw lots of spanish come up from the beach to eat and drink in the bars etc on the main road because it is cheaper. there is a supermarket underneath the apartments i used it when i 1st arrived bought quite a bit here only to find it was twice as expensive as the slightly bigger supermarket across the road. entertainment at night is quite hard to find although i would recomend buzbys mad terry's a brilliant night. we also found a good pub with entertainment a taxi ride away in torremolinos the rose and crown good entertainment there. it's also good to visit the marina we spent a nice evening there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lindaHayesMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Aparthotel Sunny Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have just got back from Sunny Beach Apartments in Belamadena Costa,We found the apartments value for money, we had a studio which was very spacious, The staff and cleaners were very helpful, when we told them that the holder for the shower was broken, and also light on balcony did not work,within 5 minutes the jobs were done. we had a lovely view of the sea, and the windmill roundabout is very pretty. our apartment was spotless, and for the money we paid we were more than happy. A good place for a snack is BAR AV IT up Cardiac hill,first on the right by the supermarket,and then right to end of the row, they do a mean Prawn sandwich. I would go back to Sunny Beach as we had such a good time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scattsClactonOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

these apartments were just like acarry on film only worse . on entering the apartment there was a stench of urine the bath was so filthy all you could do was put a towel down in the bath and have a quick shower . as the kitchen was only a foot away from the bathroom because of the smell we never ate anything.the maids came in once during the seven days we were there there fore we had to use our own towels and buy toilet rools.the beds were as hard as nails no air conditioning and the noise from the main road was horrendous so we didnt open the balcony door.when we tried too complain we got no were cos he didnt speak english .DO NOT GO TOO SUNNY BEACH [ elles belles] its your worst nightmare!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank northpacific007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Our second stay at Sunny Beach Benalmadena. Yes it is basic but the price reflects this. The view is amazing. I set my alarm to watch the sunrise over the sea.
Just remember to take an electric kettle with you as the hob takes an age. We also bought mugs from the 1 Euro shop.
Just a complete relaxing holiday. You just come and go as you please and everything you need is nearby for an ideal Self Catering break. Shame the only British TV is limited.
Near to the lovely park which is just left from the apartment up the hill. Also you can turn right from the apartment and walk left at the windmills until you come to Chesters Bar. A warm welcome from a lovely couple Roger and Gill. Rogers quizzes are brilliant and he is definitely "Mine Host". Gill is so lovely and has become a friend for life.
Be a bit wary of ordering a meal at Tinys next door to Chesters. It was Chesters day off and we visited Tinys. I wanted Pie,Chips and Gravy but asked for the gravy seperate as often they flood your plate.and was charged an extra 75 cents on top of the advertised price because the gravy came in a gravy boat??? Chesters would never do that.
Will be booking for Sunny Beach again soon, bus stops to all the nearby resorts and attractions are near and access to a beautiful beach.Love it.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are facing sea but ask just in case.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nanna1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just back from benalmadena again, this time stayed at Sunnybeach aparthotel. I must start by saying how friendly the reception staff(when they appeared), were and also the three cleaners. Now, I`ll get on and tell you what the place is really like, BEWARE the tiny lifts as they sometimes stick when you are in them and theres no one on the reception to phone down to, my husband got stuck twice, Not a nice feeling at all!!!!. The appartment is small, but we knew that and theres a 2 ring cooker, microwave, a few pots and pans and some cutlery and crockery. Enough there to cook a meal but scrub everything as we had to. Our kettle which you boiled on the cooker was stinking, tried to scrub it but ended up making tea with a wee saucepan. The bath is ok but the shower goes a bit mental at times and burns you and freezes you at the same time !!. Beds a bit hard but ok if you have a bad back, beds changed twice a week, you really need this as theres no air conditioning and if you leave the balcony door open the noise from the traffic will keep you awake. Speaking of the balcony, it is asolutely wonderful, beauiful view of the sea and lots of room to sunbathe..The sun is on it til about half one, the you will have to go down to the pool to sunbathe, have fun finding a sunbed that is not broken. Take down one of the big heavy brown blankets that are on top of the wardrobe as there are no pads on the balcony. The boss cleaned the pool once when we were there, which was for 2 weeks. The television only gives you 2 news channels and 2 films channels in english, so no soaps!!!. Maybe is was just our appartment but, every now and then an awful smell of sewage floats past your nose, must be coming from the open holes in the walls. The prices of the wee shops down below and across the road are shocking, theres a big supermarket way up to the right called MAXI, its worth a walk up to it and a cab back if you buying a lot in, theres also one straight up cardiac hill, past paloma park, quite cheap but just a big hill to climb. Some nice cafes to eat at, our fav was the 27, beautiful food, great company.Well thats it, so happy hols and you would probably be better off stayin at minerva or jupiter as its the same price but a lot better. Marina x

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and the cleaners use a very strong smelling detergent but never change th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARINA1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just returned from a week at Sunny Beach Apartments in Benalmadena and have to say it was great value for money. All of the balconies overlooked the sea and were of a good size. The apartments themselves were very roomy with 2 single beds and sofa bed in studio. I would not recommend cooking in the apartment as you are very tight for workspace,but as I only had breakfast and the odd coffee it did not really matter. My friend and I were given rooms on different floors from each other initially,but on speaking to Juan (who is so friendly) my friend was moved down to room next door to me the morning after we arrived. So ,thank you Juan! Only problem in these apartments is the lack of air-con especially in height of season.

Buses are not far from the apartments to let you travel along the coast in both direction,so it is very easy to get around. Entertainment is a bit short on the ground,but we found Buzbys (or Mad Terrys) and entertainment was excellent. A marvellous singer who would put most acts on X Factor to shame!

Places to eat incluse Bar27 which is on the main road and portions are massive so make sure you go with a good appetite! Ma Bradys,down at the beach is wonderful for fish and chips and their steak and ale pie and mashed potatoes is delicious. Downstairs just outside the apartments is La Naranja which has some lovley food on the menu and they do a mean Sea Bass and a leg of lamb for 2 which looked delicious. Just along to the right of hotel is Tikis which do lovely cocktails and my friend and I enjoyed working our way through the cocktail menu!

The Marina is well worth a visit and their are lots of restaurants and shops there.

Benalmadena is a very friendly resoty and i would have no hesitation in recommending it

Room Tip: The higher floors may be a bit windy and apparently the noise travels up from the street. We stayed...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussiefanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Sunny Beach is right on the sea front 'kinda' over looking a busy main road. Not the hotel's fault we did not know this when booking it. There is a busy main road through the whole of the resort and hotels are on the wrong side. The hotel is however a 2 min walk to the beach front which is fab with a long gorg beach and the sea is lovely and clear. We asked for a top floor apartment as the noise of stilettos tap tapping on the ceiling is ever so slightly annoying, I mean take your shoes off selfish women grrrrr!! Anyhow I digress. We did get the requested apartment which although slightly out dated with no air con was clean and tidy. The beds were a little on the hard side but to be honest I slept brilliantly. I coudn't have the door open to the balcony at night due to the traffic noise below and I think some of the apartments are privately owned as the dog barking two rooms down for probably two hours every night until the owner returned was slightly off putting however ear plugs helped. You could cook in the room if you wanted to but we only went for three nights and to be honest I wouldn't stay here for longer than this time. Unless someone threw the dog off the balcony! The pool was nice and clean however why hang out here when the beach is across the road? Most of the reception staff are lovely. You press the buzzer when you arrive they let you in and give you a key to your room which also has a key to the main door so you can come and go as you please.
Def come here if you want cheap and cheerful and don't mind noise and very basic acc. Otherwise go to a hotel instead. Would come again for three night max but def no longer. Only paid £25 quid per night and would not pay more than this.

Room Tip: Dont have room 54, opp the lift and two doors up from barking dog
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janirowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
186 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vista de Rey
Vista de Rey
#39 of 45 in Benalmadena
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,047 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Sunny Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Sunny Beach

Address: Avenida Federico Garcia Lorca 9, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Benalmadena
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $41 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aparthotel Sunny Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Otel, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotel Sunny Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Sunny Beach Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing