We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Apartment”
Review of MS Alay Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MS Alay Apartments
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed May 15, 2013

just returned from a 3 night stay - perfect location. the apartments were clean and well equipped for 3 nights, although it could have had a decent mirror. the facilities of these apartments could be improved; no bar; pool area was scruffy with the grass needing cutting and the sun loungers very basic of which there was a daily charge for usage. please also note as this was an economic apartment block you are subject to hen and stag parties that were noisy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 408 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed a weeks holiday with friends and could not fault the apartments. everything was spotlessly clean and maid service was good. Only complaint bedspreads were clean but a bit tatty. A central apartment with easy access to beach, marina and promenade. Great bus service to Gibralter, Mihas and avrious other resorts.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms or road facing rooms available. We got road facing rooms which at the time of year w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 7 of my friends for an all female long weekend. The staff were helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and well equipped. The bathroom was sufficient and fairly modern with white clean towels provided. The beds were comfy and the kitchenette had jugs and glasses for shop bought alcohol if you wanted a drink whilst getting ready for your night out. The location was excellent, turn right and walk for 2 minutes and you are in the 24 hour square, turn left and walk for 3 minutes and you are in the marina. We didn't venture into the pool area until our last day as we prefer the beach, but we were sorry because it was lovely with sunbeds and a cheap pool bar. Great value for money and great for groups of friends. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A room facing the road can be a little noisy in the mornings with passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend in April with a friend and couldn't have picked a better location for what we wanted.
The apartments are spacious, clean and a lovely modern kitchen. The only thing I could complain about was there was no mirror other than in the bathroom. Not good with 2 girls trying to get ready!
The apartments are a 2 minute walk from 24hr square( handy after a few too many) and 3 minutes to the marina. The pool was out of action when we were there but it didnt bother us. Yes there were quite a few stag and hen parties in the apartments but the staff are strict with noise and dont hesitate to call the police if people are too noisy. All in all I found it to be great value for money and wouldnt hesitate to return :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendym9855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The apartments are basic but clean and staff very helpful. The location is on the only road leading to the ultra busy Marina area and is noisy 24 hours a day with traffic - lorries, vans, heavy duty trucks clanking along, lots of scooters and motorbikes tearing up and down, and drunks careering home singing and shouting, in the early hours. If you stay here you must stay on the pool side for some peace although you will not get much sun after 11am. We have just returned from a fortnight over the Easter period and amazingly they chose that time to drain the pool to carry out maintenance, so no use of the pool. One family with two small children were extremely disappointed and were told by reception that there were no alternatives, although a guest told me you can use other hotels. Reception failed to advise this. Perhaps we were unlucky but the hotel had accepted several bookings from stag and hen parties whilst we were there, and to say their behaviour was animalistic would be a considerable understatement. However, do not be put off from visiting Benalmadena, it is a truly brilliant place for a holiday. If you want a bit of peace though stay at the top end of the town around Bonanza square area

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the ONLY quiet ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris_haymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have just returned from a weekend break in Benalmadena. We booked last mintue and was not sure what to expect.

The reception staff are very helpful.

The rooms are quite spacious and nice and clean. Even though we booked room only, there was a small kitchenette with pots and pans, a kettle, toaster and microwave. The bathroom was nice and clean and the shower very good.

Only downside was that the pool and poolbar was closed so make sure that you check when you book

Very close to the marina , but on a main road which I imagine is very noisy in the summer.

There is a great little bar down the road called Wilkies, very good simple food and excellent cocktails!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDL7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

i wanted somewhere nice to stay when i booked a break for march and the ms alay apartments were perfect. i arrived about 1300hrs and just and before i got the chance to ring the number somebody was at the door. i asked for a pool side room on the top floor and they gave me what i wanted i dont suppose you would be as lucky in season though. the studio apartment was nice and clean altough a little on the small side it did not affect me as i was travelling alone i was lucky enough to have a double lenghth balcony as i was next to the staircase.
it was nice and quiet on the poolside even late at night once the balcony door was closed i think the noise on the other side off 24hr square would go on to about 6am so you have to decide when you get there do you want sunshine or quiet.
as for the nightlife and cafes you couldnt ask for any better you had time square and molly malones which were a bit more lively i wouldnt go to some of the bars round the back of the square though especially off season. just a little further along the road in the malaga direction the were a small square of bars which were unbelieveable value you could get a pint for 2euro and a something to eat for 5-7euro i highly recommend casey dukes irish bar. it was a fantastic break and just what i needed with the lousy uk weather i will definately return.

Room Tip: ask for pool side on the top floor 420 has a doulble length balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan1973_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,380 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#7 of 45 in Benalmadena
228 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MS Alay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MS Alay Apartments

Address: Avenida Alay 3, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: $50 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MS Alay Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments MS Alay, were completely refurbished in 2009 and are located by the sea in front of the Benalmádena Costa Marina and alongside the promenade. It is a unique enclave which lets you enjoy your holidays on the Costa del Sol , whilst being near tourist attractions. Benalmádena Marina has received the distinguish of “Best Marina in the World” twice, an award given by specialised international magazines, it also has the Blue Flag for Cleanest Seas in Europe, thanks to the quality of its amenities and its waters.Apartments MS Alay has one bedroom apartments with ample front rooms, internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. The one bedroom apartments also have a sofa bed in the front room.All the apartments have terraces. Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 4 people. The MS Alay studios come equipped with internal telephone, international TV, air conditioning and heating, American kitchen totally equipped with a fridge, microwave, glass-ceramic hob and a full bathroom. All the studios have terraces.Ask about the supplement for an additional bed to sleep 3 people. Check in: 14:00Check out: 12:00 CHILDREN AND ADDITIONAL BEDChildren under 2 years of age are freeAdditional beds and cots are available only on request. The Hotel has to confirm availability.No animals allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your MS Alay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ms Alay Apartments Hotel Benalmadena
MS Alay Apartments Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing