We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“FAB FOOD”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

(SENIORS)
This was our 1st stay at Riviera although we have looked in before .
had a good refurb rooms are modern with a wet room .lovely diningroom
overlooking the prom,plenty outside space with lift onto prom.
DOWNSIDE quiet lounge to grey and bland not 1 comfy seat and cold it was FEB.
i like to swim everyday in the indoor pool but wont pay 10 EUROS a day per couple.
fridges are locked you have to pay.
we also lost our BBC1 +ITV1 ENGLAND put a new satelite up they want the spanish to for it,
overall still a great hol. CAT-NEL NORTHUMBERLAND

Room Tip: ask for room that gets afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cat-nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Cat nel,

Thank you very much for providing your comment on the TripAdvisor website and for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera as your holiday accommodation. It's very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the cost of the Spa circuit, for those guests who like to enjoy the Spa services more then once per stay, we do offer special packages with discounts, the information is available at the reception, directly at the entrance to the Spa or on the hotel webpage.

Thank you again for staying here and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    590
    183
    45
    23
See reviews for
122
1,281
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned today from a week at The Riviera Hotel. We totally agree with other recent reviewers. The hotel has had a top down refurbishment. Lovely public areas and rooms well appointed with huge beds. However, to sleep with any comfort you have to leave the balcony door open and suffer the road noise through the night (and the cigarette fumes / smells from our neighbours balcony). Close the door and all is quiet but the room is unbearably hot and stuffy.
Food is overall good. Breakfasts give you a great choice with show cooking. Evening Tapas was nice and show cooking provided fresh fish and meats. Salads were good and varied as were the sweets. Soups were generally bland as were the veg. Pretty good for a chain hotel though. Drinks were very well priced and the decent house Red was only 7.50 euros a bottle and they'll save it for the next meal should you wish. One night during your stay you get to dine in their A La Carte restaurant. We'd give it a miss if we were you unless you like rather over cooked and soggy veg. All the mains come with the boiled potatoes and mentioned soggy veg dishes. It does seem that the meals and most definitely the entertainment is tailored for a certain age group shall we say.
Entertainment is the usual low end singers, keyboard players playing usual mix of old timers and middle of the road garbage 50s / 60s / 70s garbage. I'm sure its great for the majority of people but surely entertainment should move with the times somewhat. The magician although good was like watching Paul Daniels in the 80s with the old tired card, newspaper that sets of fire and chrome hoops that magically connect and disconnect.....ohhhhh!!!!
It was quite fun to see how many people left last night when the very very loud Spanish drummers came on stage. Overall a good experience and we would return.
The spa is small but ambient and relaxing.

Room Tip: Go in summer when the hotel switch on the air con in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 234Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear 234Darren,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for reviewing the hotel. It is always rewarding to hear that you enjoyed your stay, despite the heat in the room. As per previous comments of other guests, I need to stress that the hotel follow the standards with regard to indoor temperature. In any case your comment will be forwarded to hotel management to take note as our prime goal is to offer our guests an unforgettable experience.

Once again thank you for choosing us and we would love to welcome you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Spent a week here in February 2014. We found the hotel to be very clean and well appointed. The staff were, without exception, helpful and pleasant - the Thompson rep Christina especially so. Food was the usual bland buffet arrangement, but I would say it was slightly better than average when compared to similar establishments I have stayed at - That said I was thoroughly tired of the dinners by the end of the week. Soups, fish & tapas were good, salads were OK, vegetables were variable and the curries were downright awful. Vegetarians were not well catered for, there being very little for them apart from salad, potatoes, fruit and plain pasta with tomato sauce. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice.

Our room faced south-west and was on the 6th floor - noise from the street was considerable - traffic, revving motorcycles, horns and people generally making a racket up until 2:30 am and beyond. The double glazed patio door effectively reduced this noise to a perfectly tolerable level when closed - however there was a caveat. When the door was closed the room rapidly became unbearably hot and stuffy - with no means of controlling the temperature other than re-opening the patio door again. I guess this won't be a problem for folk staying in the summer months as the hotel switches the air-con system on in May, but in the winter there's a stark choice - if your room faces south-west (and many of them do!) then you'll have to put up with the racket or swelter. Lots of people have commented on this problem and/or complained but nothing has been done.

For this reason only I have downgraded my overall score from four stars to two.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south-west side are unbearably hot in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for commenting your recent stay at the hotel Riviera in Benalmádena Costa. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the minor troubles with the room temperature. Regarding the room temperature, the standard of the indoor temperature is between 22 and 25ºC, however due to the higher outdoor temperature the sensation of the warmness might increase.

We are sorry that at this point you felt dissatisfaction and we hope you will give us the chance to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely week at the end of January 2014 at the Riviera Hotel. Good service, clean and comfortable room and excellent food. Especially appreciated the Tapas Section at the evening buffet.
Riviera centrally located on the seafront with delightful promenade which enables you to walk to the Marina and Torremolinos. Good, cheap bus services from just outside the hotel which take you in all directions, Fuengirola, Malaga, Torremolinos, Benalmadena Pueblo and Mijas. Booked through Thomsons and found their rep. Christina to be extremely pleasant and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Good trips with guide. Just one word of warning - if you upgrade to a "superior room" with Thomsons which costs well over £100 extra for the 7 days don't expect to get all the "extras" as advertised on the Riviera website. Our room faced the sea and the marina and had a huge balcony but there were none of the extras on arrival and we still had to pay for the mini bar/fridge at 21 euros for the week as well as 21 euros for the room safe. We didn't use the outdoor pool as it was a little too cold but did use the indoor spa pool on one occasion. Its a great shame that the original indoor pool has now been converted to a "Spa" which you have to pay extra for.
All in all, a very happy and enjoyable week and would certainly recommend the Riviera Hotel.

Room Tip: High rooms give lovely views. Upgraded rooms look over sea and marina and have larger balconies. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Susan M,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for taking your time to write a review on your recent stay at the hotel. It's a pleasure for us to read your comment and know that your stay was enjoyable. Regarding the pool, after refurbishment it became a part of Wellness and Spa center, which can be used paying a small fee. For those who want to use the Spa services more often, we offer packages which suit to everyone needs.

Thank you for staying at the hotel Riviera and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for 1 week end of January. This is first time staying but won't be the last. Staff on reception are very helpful. I requested a bath and also a room on the sunny side, I received both. I also got a very good rate booking on their own website. I have tried a booking for May but the hotel is full. I think this speaks for it itself how good the hotel is. The recent refurbishment is excellent. We where in a room near the road, but when the balcony door is closed there is no noise at all. I felt the staff in the dining room could be more pleasant, apart from a few who always smiled. Maybe because are rushed off their feet My other complaint about the staff, is it is hard to get their attention when needing a refill of coffee. Their coffee is excellent always hot. I suppose the answer to that would be to use the machine. These are just niggles as the hotel is very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a quick break on 10th February with a friend. I've been to this resort many times and have stayed in other hotels but this has been the best. Recently refurbished it's modern, clean and comfortable and has an excellent location on the sea front and not far from the marina, my parents are now on their 3 rd visit
The food is fabulous, lots of choice and the live cooking area is great, I don't think I could have stopped any longer at the hotel though as I would have gained too much weight from all of the tempting dishes!. We used the a la carte restaurant too and that was friendly, intimate and again served great food. The staff in all areas of the hotel were all really friendly and helpful, the house keeping staff do an amazing job. I hope they keep up the standards.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LadyMCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just had two wonderful weeks at the Riviera, I cant find anything negative to say, the hotel & location are first class, bedroom is very spacious, the bed so big I would have benefited with a pair of walkie talkies to talk to my wife, the bathroom was excellent with twin wash basins. restaurant excellent, good food with so much choice to suit anyone. I also recommend to take up the once a week opportunity of a meal in the Al-a- carte restaurant, a lovely experience. All the staff from reception, dining room, cleaners & bar staff were exceptional & nothing was too much trouble, the Thompson rep Christina was superb. The evening entertainment was first class, with really good variety artists to suit everyone tastes. the highlight of the holiday were Caz & Danny our entertainment hosts, there was always some activity during to the day & their evening hosting was brilliant, especially when Caz did her own singing spots. The fact that they seemed to be enjoying themselves added to the enjoyment of the guests. If have one small complaint it was that the indoor pool is now a spa centre which at €10 per hour is rather expensive, the fact that it was hardly used some what confirms this. An indoor pool if only in the winter season would have being nice.

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter" you do get a lot of noise from the traffic, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerekMGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear DerekMGF,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Riviera for your recent stay in Benalmádena Costa and for sharing your opinion on this place. We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you recommend us to other travelers. Knowing that our guests guests enjoyed themselves is our highest reward.


Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#4 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing