We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel Riviera has recently been re-furbished to a very high standard.The rooms are very modern with king-size beds which are very comfortable and clean.There is also a kettle and tea-making facilities in ther room which is a bonus.The bathrooms are also very modern and toiletries are supplied.The hotel staff are all friendly and couldn't be more helpful.Its a central location with easy access to the beach and also good local buses to other resorts.
I will be happy to go back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great Hotel, enjoying a fantastic position on the seafront with raised position, giving great views out to sea and the Benalmedina Marina. This is one of the major pluses for this hotel. Excellent bedrooms with super kingsized bed. We were in room 324 (east side of hotel) with view towards Marina. This room, like most, has a modern wetroom type bathroom with an excellent shower and twin basin, toilet and bidet. Helpful and friendly staff on reception (shame our departue day wake up call was 35 minutes late!) and very hard working restaurant staff, quick to clear used plates, etc. Good variety of food including fresh cooked. Evening Entertainment was nothing to write home about. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and two nice cabanas on lower terrace. Also has a pool table and table tennis table. We visited for one week 3-10th Nov. Hotel was full with mostly seniors, as could be expected for time of year. Many are multiple repeat customers who are always to be overheard comparing the hotel with how it used to be in the past - many whingers! Convenient bus stops to front of hotel. Marina is in walking distance and Benalmadina has a clean and well kept promenade. We saw the street sweeper drive up and down each morning. Yes, the hotel has chosen a rather grey paint job inside and out but hey ho. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. We had a thoroughly enjoyable, great value stay courtesy of Thompson holidays. Quick airport transfer time. Convenient location for trips to Benalmadina Pueblo, cable car, Mijas, etc. Hotel has a nice compact spa with winter special offers - had a 45 minutes massage for 20 euros. Don't get concerned about minor issues such as waits for lifts, sounds from other rooms such as water flowing, etc they are nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HD_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear HD_UK,

First of all, thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera and for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that the hotel met your expectation in all aspects, enjoying hotel facilities along with its services. Our major concern is customer satisfaction and such reviewing as yours make us understand what are guests value and expect from their holidays.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for a week in late October. The hotel has undergone a good refurbishment throughout, with all the outdoor furniture looking very modern and the carpets and very clean. It was good to have different levels to the rear of the hotel overlooking the promenade to sunbathe in as these were quieter and more secluded than round the pool.
The rooms were spacious with large bed and a modern bathroom with double sinks. As commented by others the balcony, although small did have a thick glazed door which kept out the noise from the busy road at front of hotel.
The restaurant was nice overlooking the sea at one end and with the option of taking a drink to the outside pool area, but sometimes struggling to cope with the amount of people, having to wait a few minutes to be escorted to table, and sometimes the one juice machine ran out, always at breakfast you were escorted to table and sometimes then left with out tea or coffee being served as is the norm.
The tappas section was a very good option, allowing people like me, who do not usually eat the local food, an opportunity to try different things.
We did find the lifts sometimes a bit slow and small more than 4 people and they were cramped.
However what let the hotel down mainly was, the quality of entertainment with the resident duo singer acting as if she was better then she was, and sometimes at the pool bar the staff acted as if they 'had to be there' with no service with a smile.
Overall we thought this was a good hotel but the location in Benalmedena which is quite dirty, let it down.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephene20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent a week at this hotel with my sister at the end of October. The refurbishment of the hotel has been well done and all areas have been upgraded.

Check in was quick as we managed to get to the front of the queue when almost all of the people on the coach were going to our hotel. We had e mailed the hotel before arrival to ask for a high floor and room close to the sea. We were allocated room 312 which had a side sea view and was very pleasant. Our room had a shower which was walk in and quite large. There was a choice of 2 shower heads. The beds were comfortable and the kettle and tea and coffee supplied daily was a nice touch.

The choice of food was good. You had the usual choice from the buffet but also show cooking. every night there was also a Tapas bar which we enjoyed, trying various different dishes. included in our meal choices were roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and lamb steaks with mint sauce. there was also Spanish dishes and pasta.The salad bar was excellent with lots of fresh food. There was a good selection of sweets including rice pudding, bread and butter pudding and apple crumble and custard.

Breakfast was good with the usual hot foot but also a lovely fresh fruit selection and lots of breads.

We did not go to the free night at the a la carte restaurant as the menu was not to our taste.

We would highly recommend Cristina the Thomson rep at the hotel. She is excellent and sorted out a small problem for us immediately.

Room Tip: High floor and close to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear margshel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment on your recent stay at the Hotel Riviera and for choosing us as your holiday accommodation. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking and had a good time with us.

Once again, thank you for staying here and we will be happy to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Four of us in our late sixties arrived home on the 22nd October after a week at the Riviera. This being our fourth stay and second since it reopened in May after its grand refurbishment.
Super rooms with tea making facilties which means we don't have to take our kettle along as before.
All the staff in the dining room were helpful and friendly as were the ladies who cleaned our rooms and also those in reception. Kristina the Thomson rep.was a tonic just being herself.
The food was plentiful and a good standard and was enjoyed by us all. Lots of choice.The view from the dining room overlooking the sea was beautiful.
After our evening meal we always went to a nearby bar for our coffee as the coffee in the bar was not to our liking. If this was improved the hotel would benefit as guests would remain in the hotel. Cannot comment on the entertainment as we didn't attend.
We travelled around on the local buses, boats and "WalleyTrain". All fares resonably priced.
We had a lovely time here and will certainly revisit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived at hotel riverira on Sunday 27thOctober for a weeks relaxation, the hotel was lovely very clean, the rooms are lovely very spacious, the pool area was very peaceful, the buffet restaurant was good quality food, the only downside was you have a night at the hotel alacarte restaurant where the food was below the hotel standard. On a lunch and evening we went across the road to Bar Avit where Jill Mark and the staff serve excellent meals and fantastic fun for an evening.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Jackie P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We are glad to hear that the hotel met your expectations. With regard to Araucaria restaurant we are sorry that you did not enjoy the meals served. We use to receive positive comments from our guests who enjoy the restaurant and are very pleased with having the option to dine in our À la carte restaurant.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Medplaya Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

All staff were very helpful throughout our week stay, the room was plenty big and clean enough. Food is varied and well cooked, Tapas was a pleasant option, given the number of guests it must be impossible to please & cater for everyone but the make a great attempt I was more than happy. Lifts can have busy periods being on holiday a little wait is not a great issue. Alcohol is typical hotel prices, the entertainment is ok, after all its not the West End of London or Broadway, New York so don't expect it to be. The holiday reps make a lot of effort in helping you enjoy your time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,088 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $82 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing