We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

had a great week here at this lovely hotel room was beautiful and were on the 6th floor with great views of the beach and marina had plenty of sunbeds for everyone and the bali beds were so comfy we stayed on it all day the food was also very good with plenty of choice so no need to go hungry the staff were all very nice and friendly and the maid on our floor was very honest as we had left money on the bed and she waited for us to come back to show us where she had put it for safe keeping how honest was that.The beach is 2mins away and very clean and only a short walk to the marina,if going on any trips take the local buses they are good value,went on one to Malaga and only cost 1.60 euros take a trip on the open top tour bus to the butterfly farm they are absolutely gorgeous,also the sealife centre a bit expensive but you can go out and get a bite to eat and use your ticket to go back in again later in the day.go to ollies bar across the road for a wee drink and he will be happy to tell you about anything you need to know.Will go back again hopefully very soon

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,336 - 1,342 of 1,805 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at this hotel.

Firstly the staff are brilliant from reception through to the restaurant. A special mention to Victor on the reception as he helped us out with a few enquires on our first couple of days and was very approachable.

Secondly I can't see why the entertainment team have had such negative comments on here. Personally I think they do a great job with the resources they have. The mini golf competition and tapas making being my particular highlight of the entertainment provided.

The food is plentiful and is constantly being replenished. I worried that after a week I would see the meals repeated. However this isn't the case as I didn't see the same dish twice. Tapas corner is a must to try something new!

Personally I think the drinks prices are fair for a 4* hotel.

The rooms are very modern and clean. We had a great sea/pool view from our balcony.

I don't understand why people say 'not suitable for young couples' as there was a mix of age groups.

There are plenty of sun beds available throughout the day but people still insist on being up at the crack of dawn to reserve them.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuanPabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

a first class hotel great outlook over the sea towards the marina good amenities at the hotel ideal for couples the food is A1 and very good entertainment spent ten very happy days there if we could afford it would love to spend a month there with friendly staff and very happy guests.

Room Tip: rooms facing the marina have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Hotel Riviera, I wish it had been 2 weeks.
After a late arrival to the Riviera we were greeted warmly by the reception staff and as the restaurant had closed for the day we were told that there was a cold supper waiting for us. We were very happy with out room although maybe a little disappointed by the view, which was basically the next door hotel. The room was just as the photos. It was kept very clean and was very comfortable. The bed was huge and so comfortable. The bathroom was a great size and well equipped. All rooms have a 'mini bar' which can be hired for €3 daily and a €5 deposit. However the 'mini bar' is not as good as a fridge and did not reach a really chilled temperature and was too small to keep much in. However, it did the job I wanted it to do. The air con was most welcome and worked well.
The food was great, which was a relief as I am such a fussy eater. We found the food warm enough and fresh. The staff work very hard. Make sure you always check the display cooking area.
The pool was lovely as was the surrounding area. It was very busy at times, but we did always find sun beds - not always in the sun as the shade comes across the pool. Many guest do put their towels on the beds and never seem to appear for the best part of the day, which can be annoying.
The entertainment was ok. The daily quiz was always fun and the girls work very hard.
We did find the Thomson excursions rather expensive and could have found them cheaper had we have looked. We brought tickets for the cable car from a rep, but was not told the receipt had to be exchanged for tickets at the ticket office. The wait to do this was a long one and resulted in us missing the Birds of Prey show. The cable car trip was well worth the cost and wait. The views were amazing!
The marina area is definitely worth the trip.
All in all this was an amazing holiday and hotel. We will be returning and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJS-2011-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for choosing our hotel. We appreciated all your comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Medplaya Hotel Riviera. Such positive comments as yours helps us to understand customer expectations and deliver the best service possible.

Once again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend this hotel. Newly refurbished close to the beach, shops and the beautiful Marina. Hotel is spotlessly clean, staff very friendly. Ideal if you want a child free holiday as this is an adult only hotel. Can't wait to go in March 2014 to see what it's like since refurbishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We arrived late on a Sunday evening so missed dinner, but were pleased to be provided with a late supper of bread, cold meats and fruit. The hotel is stunning and caters for every need with friendly staff always on hand to help you out. Rooms were spotlessly clean with clean towels provided every day. The bed was huge and really comfy with a mounted tv showing English channels. The air con was much appreciated and would stay on even when not in the room. We had a sea and pool view on the 5th floor which looked out towards the marina. Although the hotel was between the main road and the beach you would not have known as it was still peaceful. We never had any trouble finding a sun bed even after 11am. We were apprehensive at first after reading the reviews saying the hotel was suited for older couples, yet during our stay, as a couple in our early 20's, we did not feel out of place and felt there was a good mix of ages. We went on a few day trips including the Thomson Gibraltar excursion, bit expensive at 59 euros each but worth it for the history and cultural aspects (as well as the Barbary apes!). We would highly recommend taking a 10 minute stroll to the marina in the evening (sunset) and taking a half hour boat trip for 5 euros, which included a drink and tour of the coast line. Can't remember the name of the company but the men were in yellow polo shirts. Overall, we would happily return and recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: High floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bex2192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a upgraded room with sea view. The view outside was really good we could see the sea and all the boats. We could hear the waves from our room.
Beds were good and nice bathroom.
Pool chairs you had to be up at 8am to get one as people are up early to get one, we had to go to the beach as we got up at 9am.....9 euros for 2 sunbeds and brolly.
Food was okay, tapas was great.
The marina is very nice but after 9pm very very busy.
Entertainment a bit naff.
Happy hour 3 times a week.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear 123taz,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very glad that you enjoy your stay at Medplaya Hotel Riviera. We specially appreciate your good comments regarding the room comfort, restaurant and hotel location. We will be reviewing your remarks in a hope to make improvements for the hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Benalmádena Costa.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $68 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing