We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, great holiday”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I were quite apprehensive before arriving at this hotel after reading some of the more recent reviews, however this was totally unfounded. The hotel has been refurbished to a good standard with all of the furnishings appearing to be brand new. The hotel is in a good position with the marina only a short walk away. The food was as expected, buffet style with a varied choice although the emphasis is mainly British and maybe it would be nice to have a little more spanish food on the menu. The staff were attentive and always friendly and polite, I cannot comment on the entertainment because we didn't stay in the hotel other than to have a drink before dinner. We stumbled upon a lovely bar in Plaza de Ole, a small square just off the main pedestrianised promenade. The square has a laid back, relaxed atmosphere and the owners of the bar Ole which became our regular haunt were brilliant. This bar is well worth a visit if only for the sangria which is beautiful, this is not to be mistaken for restaurant Ole on the main promenade as in my opinion this was not great. All in all, we had a lovely, relaxing holiday and the negative reviews of the Riviera are in my opinion totally unjustified.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kingkenny95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    582
    179
    43
    23
See reviews for
118
1,261
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Askam In Furness
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We chose this hotel for our first visit to Costa Del Sol because it was couples only ( No Children ). and it was being refurbished.

I read the reviews on The Riviera from 2012. I Emailed the hotel requesting a room on a high floor. West facing ( so we got the sun on our balcony from mid afternoon to evening.
On arrival at reception. Rather minimilistic, but bright and fresh. We were checked in promptly and our room was on the 7th floor.
The room was spacious, with a king size double bed. Tea and Coffee making facilites ( not mentioned in the brochure ). Wall mounted flat screen T.V. A good sized bathroom with his / hers sink units. Shower over bath. And a door that opened out onto the balcony ( not a sliding door ). With balcony furniture that matched the sunbeds poolside. And it was west facing, so we could sunbathe on the balcony in the late afternoon.. Just what we had requested.

The location is superb. Direct access to the promanade and the beach. A 10 min stroll down to the marina. At the front of the hotel. Bus stops within a few hundred yards to Fuengirola, Torremolinos, Malaga and Mijas.

The staff from reception, waiters, waitresses to the cleaners were courteous and friendly. And the Thomson rep Cristina, always smiling and helpful. If she diddnt know. She would find out.

The food was good but not outstanding. Although there was plenty of choice. So you could always find something.

Now for the niggles.
3 euros to rent the fridge already running in your room. Wi-Fi only available free in the minimilistic foyer. Charge to use it in your room.
I would have thought that after a major refurbishment and a hotel relaunch. That a fridge and Wi-Fi facilities would have been free of charge. As in most 4* & 5* hotels.
The Evening Entertainment, was Dire. I have never heard the word QUIZ mentioned so many times in our 10 nights here, than in the whole of my life.

We would definately rerturn to the Hotel Riviera and Benalmadena. And recomend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Enjoyed our recent holiday at this hotel very much. The rooms are excellent, nicely decorated in simple monochrome tones with a huge comfortable bed. Bathroom is lovely too with double sinks and huge walk-in shower with shower gel provided. On the first day we had a little bottle of shampoo but once empty this was never replaced so you do need to take your own. Likewise the coffee, it was nice to have a kettle in the room but the coffee sachets weren't replaced once used up. Small niggles! I also agree with other comments that in a four star hotel the fridge should be free of charge. Otherwise we were happy with the hotel. Food was good, not oustanding but they are catering for 100s of people at a time so there is a limit to what you can expect. You certainly would not go hungry, there was plenty of choice at the buffet each evening and for breakfast. The chef also cooked omelettes and pancakes to order in the mornings and had some kind of show cooking in the evening. One night a week you can book a table at the a la carte restaurant at no extra charge. The restaurant did not open at lunchtime but the pool bar sold snacks such as toasties etc. One thing that surprised me though was that there was no waiter service at the sun beds around the pool, you had to go to the bar. Not a problem, but I think they might sell more if a waiter was offering service. I would sum by saying it is a very good hotel and as its an adults only "couples" hotel it made for a peaceful, enhoyable holiday. All the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed at this hotel Last two weeks in June. We were very impressed by it. The rooms were lovely, very modern, fantastic beds.shower fabulous. We had a lovely sea view. Sun loungers quite comfy,beautiful views of the sea from the pool. All staff nice and friendly. Food was nice,always plenty to choose from. Lovely views of the sea from the restaurant. Great location, nice walk along the promenade to the marina. Can't really comment much on entertainment, as we went out most nights. People seemed to be complaining about it. Joanne and Sarah are the entertainment organisers, they worked hard at trying to get people to join in. Every night started with a quiz,followed by the resident duo singing then a different act every night.the bits we say we enjoyed. We did win some spa tickets at the quiz, which was really nice. I suppose you would get bored if u watched the same thing 14nights in a row,regardless of what it was. Only complaint would be the high charge of 3euros a day for fridge, this should come as standard in a 4 star hotel. Would also like to mention Christina the Thomson rep,she was lovely,always smiling and friendly, very helpful and didn't give any hard sales on excursions. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in benalmadina

Room Tip: Try for a room on the poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I haven't stayed at this hotel for about 10 years, so was looking forward to seeing the refurbishment. The inside of the hotel is now very modern and the rooms are fab. Like others I do not agree that a 4 star hotel should be charging for the hire of a fridge, but safe charging is a normal practice.
Food is what you expect, and aimed at the English clientele.The arrangement of the buffet layout causes queues, and bottlenecks, which the Management could sort out quite easily.
The A La Carte restaurant has a lovely atmosphere, and the service was good.
Whilst there are new sun loungers around the pool, there is very little space, and everyone is on top of each other. If you don't mind paying, the beach loungers and parasols at €9 per day is worth it.
I did not see the entertainment, so cannot comment, but there are plenty of bars, restaurants, etc and a lovely promenade walk.
Whilst there were a lot of moans by people whilst I was there, I believe a holiday is what you make of it.
Would I return? Perhaps, but the Triton Hotel which is nearer to the Marina has better gardens and outdoor space,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just had a week away with friends here. Refurbishment looks good. Very relaxing there. Meals good, no queues, plenty of choice, food kept stocked up. Tea and coffee facilities replenished every day. Though, cost of €3 each day for use of fridge and same cost for safe each day too expensive.......also €20 deposit for hire of each pool towel costly, you get it back, but still a lot. Good hotel otherwise, nice by the pool, and clean. Friendly staff. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

nice rooms if your lucky enough to get a marina veiw. very nice terrace bar, but entertainment is pretty limited and sounds the same. the animation girls are very nice and polite but would be of as kindergarten teachers. variety of food is good , as is the service. very much a hotel for the 60+ and theres nothing wrong with that , and they love it !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldoftony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear worldoftony,

Thank you for choosing Medplaya Hotel Riviera for your stay in Benalmádena Costa and for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. As we are always trying to improve our services, we are grateful for your feedback. We would be very glad to be able to be welcoming you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.6 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Nautilus
Hotel Riu Nautilus
#3 of 71 in Torremolinos
1,370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya

Property: TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya
Address: Avda Antonio Machado 49, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your TUI Sensimar Riviera by MedPlaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riviera Benalmadena
TUI Sensimar Riviera By MedPlaya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing