We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do not eat in it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“do not eat in it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

the hotel itself is clean and the room we were in was small but fine. Plenty of hot water for showers even twicw a day. All of the staff were pleasent and I must state that all but one of the reciption staff were very helpful and seemed to know their job and was able to answer any questions we had. For the staff in the dinning room,it was a different matter in the 9days we stayed there never saw a smile on their faces. Actually after being there a week one of them asked me if I was a resistant even he has waited on our table all week. The food was very poor never warm except for one night when there was a different chef on it was eatable that night.This was both breakfast and dinner. Would not reconmend this hotel to anyone infact I have connected my traveL agent and informed them the same. The pool was very small and very few sunbeds. Atotal review of this hotel is required

Room Tip: have a room facing the sea as those near the road are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROBIN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    215
    127
    48
    49
See reviews for
79
282
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed here in April, and was very impressed overall. Excellent location with outstanding views from our 5th flor balcony. Our room was spotless and the beds were comfy. The pool area was a bit of a sun trap, not a lot of space, but at least they provide those extremely comfy sun loungers at no extra cost ! Breakfast was more than adequate - very good selection of hot and cold food. The majority of customers here were over 60s Spaniards, making us Brits stand out like sore thumbs, but they were all very courteous, and made it a nice change.
I recommend The Ice Penguin for lunch, only a few minutes walk just passed Benny's bar up by El Noray, the food is all homemade and delicious.
And for that extra special treat, pop into the Aleysa Playa Hotel for a drink. It's not much dearer than the next hotel, but the outside verandah is pucker, with views to die for - and I'm sure that if you do pay a visit, then your camera will too !

Room Tip: Ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ADEWSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for my 50th birthday did wan the sister hotel next door but was being refurbished. Rooms were comfy and staff very pleasant. Did not get a hot meal was always just verging on warm. The pool was very small and didn't get much sun luckily the beach is only seconds away. Luckily we were only there a week. If your not Spanish the other guests do tend to luck down on you not very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bbm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

we went here last week june first july its very good for a 3star food good staff good location good going again hope to get sea view this time 3rd week sept hint hint.must recommend you try the jolly sailor bar big martin the barman very good . steps down to beach as well .house wine good .happy hour only every other night

Room Tip: try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Pauline G,

Thank you for your positive review on Medplaya Hotel Villasol. Our employees strive to offer excellent service as our top priority is to make guests feel welcome with us.
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your holiday with us. We promise to keep up our good service and look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August. We had requested a sea-view room which we were allocated.
The room had a brilliant view and it was lovely falling to sleep to the sound of the sea.
This hotel is in ideal position for exploring the local area and we thoroughly enjoyed using the cheap local buses .
If you want a nice bar to have a drink try Olly's bar across the road where Julie and Charlie will give you a warm welcome.
On our fifth day my husband was admitted into hospital. The staff at the hotel were brilliant - no problem extending our stay and they asked every day how my husband was and would like to thank them for that
I would not hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Second visit to this little gem. Food good, room clean, staff attentive, room cleaner lovely and friendly. Asked for extra pillows returned to room after breakfast they were their. Room 509 sea view pleasant and cool in afternoon, morning sun. Quieter than mountain view side next to busy road. By lift but no lift noise.On last visit we were only British this time noticeably more Brits. Staff get by in English but you need to be patient and explain carefully, No entertainment which suits us. Perhaps suit couples looking for chill or relax. There are less steep ways down to beach one comes up by times square from the Marina ( route of mini train). Found 1 euro a drink bar in Bonanza Square go up by side of Bali hotel opposite. Cheap bus opposite to Fuengerola and Mijas 1.60 euro each way. Will be back.

Room Tip: Side Marina view little sun, sea view sun in morning, side mountain view sun afternoon and evening b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Villasol, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Carol W,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol and for the time spent in writing your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great time at the hotel and that you enjoyed your holiday in Benalmádena Costa.

Once again, thanks for sharing your comment and we hope to see you again at the hotel Villasol.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is between the main street and the "promenada" (the beach). But you need ti climb 69 stairs from Promenada to the hotel. The street is very noisy, at hte 3rd floor I couldnt sleep windows open..
Rooms would be ok, but the furniture is not functional (about 20 cm between the bed and a useless desk).
Staff is friendly, with some communication problems if you don't speak Spanish.
The best thing is the food, really above what you would expect from.
Finally, good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, and closer to the sea side (less street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirceaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#25 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palmasol
Hotel Palmasol
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Villasol

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Villasol
Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
MedPlaya Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing