We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal position”
Review of Hotel Villasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villasol
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of August. We had requested a sea-view room which we were allocated.
The room had a brilliant view and it was lovely falling to sleep to the sound of the sea.
This hotel is in ideal position for exploring the local area and we thoroughly enjoyed using the cheap local buses .
If you want a nice bar to have a drink try Olly's bar across the road where Julie and Charlie will give you a warm welcome.
On our fifth day my husband was admitted into hospital. The staff at the hotel were brilliant - no problem extending our stay and they asked every day how my husband was and would like to thank them for that
I would not hesitate to come back here.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 577 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Second visit to this little gem. Food good, room clean, staff attentive, room cleaner lovely and friendly. Asked for extra pillows returned to room after breakfast they were their. Room 509 sea view pleasant and cool in afternoon, morning sun. Quieter than mountain view side next to busy road. By lift but no lift noise.On last visit we were only British this time noticeably more Brits. Staff get by in English but you need to be patient and explain carefully, No entertainment which suits us. Perhaps suit couples looking for chill or relax. There are less steep ways down to beach one comes up by times square from the Marina ( route of mini train). Found 1 euro a drink bar in Bonanza Square go up by side of Bali hotel opposite. Cheap bus opposite to Fuengerola and Mijas 1.60 euro each way. Will be back.

Room Tip: Side Marina view little sun, sea view sun in morning, side mountain view sun afternoon and evening b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at Hotel Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Carol W,

Thank you for staying at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol and for the time spent in writing your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great time at the hotel and that you enjoyed your holiday in Benalmádena Costa.

Once again, thanks for sharing your comment and we hope to see you again at the hotel Villasol.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The location is between the main street and the "promenada" (the beach). But you need ti climb 69 stairs from Promenada to the hotel. The street is very noisy, at hte 3rd floor I couldnt sleep windows open..
Rooms would be ok, but the furniture is not functional (about 20 cm between the bed and a useless desk).
Staff is friendly, with some communication problems if you don't speak Spanish.
The best thing is the food, really above what you would expect from.
Finally, good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, and closer to the sea side (less street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirceaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed back in October and thoroughly enjoyed it, we had wanted a sea view room which we didn't get directly as we were on a side but luckily enough we had a good view of it. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room so if you would like this I'd advise you to take a travel kettle and your bits and bobs. This didn't bother us. The room was clean, maybe a tad dated but this did not interfere with the quality of our stay, the beds/room was cleaned every day which was nice. The restaurant was fine never a queue for a table whenever we visited, we were half board. The one thing that got us was I would have thought that maybe a bottle of water would maybe included, we tended only to buy one bottle between us just to tide us over through the meal then head back to the room for our water we purchased from local shop for a fraction of the price. I would recommend this hotel, we would stay again. The steps down to the beach are quite testing but good exercise!! Really enjoyed our stay, Thank You :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just got back from a weeks holiday at the Villa Sol We had a fantastic week meals we found were very good on a help yourself basis, we found something we enjoyed at every meal.The staff could not have been better.The room was kept clean and towels were changed every day if you wanted them bedding changed twice a week.We will be going back again and we are looking forward to it we had a sea view and what a view.There were a lot of Spanish holiday makers in the hotel but we were treated the same has them .

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the sea what a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sidney b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vandamed, Guest Relations at Hotel Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Sidney b,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol in Benalmádena Costa. We are grateful for the time spent in writting your comments in www.tripadvisor.com.

We are pleased to learn that we have met your expectations and that you would stay with us again in your future trip to Benalmádena .

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya,com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor before I booked this hotel, so I thought it only fair to give my own feedback. Just about everything in the hotel was as ideal: it was an older hotel, but spotlessly clean. The service was prompt and polite. The restaurant (we stayed on a Full Board basis) was busy at some meal times, but no slow service as a result. Good choice of food and constant changes of menu. It could have been a bit warmer sometimes, but there was a microwave to give it a boost if required. The room was situated on the side of the building with a great view out to sea and west of the coastline. Good beds and pillows, safe and air conditioning as expected. The pool area was just about perfect with the only exception that we felt it closed early (18.00). All in all we had a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a lovely 3 day break here with my fiancee, hotel was clean, agreeably there are areas that could do with modernisation around the hotel however this doesn't affect the overall opinion that this is a great little hotel. Everything was clean, the views were fantastic, staff were more than helpful, food was of a good standard and the location is very good. There are a good selection of bars and restaurants within a short walking distance and the beautiful marina is about a 20 minute stroll. We will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,976 reviews
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
648 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villasol

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing