We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Break away from English Weather”
Review of Hotel Villasol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villasol
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from one week at Villasol Benalmadena. Ideal situation as long as you are able to climb steps and walk downhill. Good idea to book sea view. Basic but clean rooms. Cleaned daily. You will probably need to ask for extra pillows at reception but provided straight away.
No fridge or tea making facilities and only one plug. Meals only 12 Euros extra so it is worth it even if you only have breakfast. A lot of Spanish visitors but you can easily get a sunbed any time although the pool area could do with a lick of paint. Only problem is steps to pool area to climb everytime you need a drink or toilets but the beach is very nearby.

We were told there was entertainment in the hotel but there is not. However no problem for us because there is so much around.

Friendly helpful reception staff. We tried to extend our time for room when leaving but no rooms available which was OK but there are no facilities if you need a shower or hairdryer you just have to use the toilets.

Weather fantastic.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maxine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Hotel Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Maxine T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. We are happy to receive your comment and hear you enjoyed your holiday. We daily strive to improve our services and make your holidays enjoyable. Regarding the entertainment options, the hotel offers the entertainment activities during the winter season. However you can enjoy the evening shows in the neighbouring Medplaya hotel Bali which has a big team of entertainers preparing shows every night.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 577 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 11th to 13th of july.weather was excellent .went as a couple .we went half board and the meals where good the only spanish hotel i have been to where the bacon is just like english bacon.had a side room and a view of the sea and the road,room was adequate and cleaned every day.the hotel staff where very friendley and helpful. the only problem i found was i could not use the pool area due to it being down a number of steps,also access in and out of the hotel was quite steep and although the hotel is in an excellent location this makes it unsuitable for people with mobility problems. went to buzbys bar most nights for entertainment a warm welcome for all and its just over the road. good transport links and i can highly recomend a trip to fenguirola bio park easy to reach by bus. over all i recomend this hotel to others who might be wondering if they should go ther . i would go again myself but as i am disabled the access is to big a problem for me.

Room Tip: get a sea view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeannie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from Villasol in Benalmadena, weather superb, hotel nice , rooms always spotlessly cleaned daily, breakfast excellent. As other reviews have stated there can be noise from the nearby busy road (not something that can be controlled by the hotel), if you are a light sleeper maybe best to pay extra for the sea view rooms which are in effect the furthest away from said road.
We did go for the B/B & evening meal option which was only £12 pp p/week extra, but, we ate just the once in the hotel in the evening and the food was ok but we always prefer to try the local restaurants, which I can advise were plentyful & really reasonably priced.
The pool is quite small but adequate, one thing I was happy to see was the loungers were not all taken by people putting towels on them at dawn everyday then leaving them unused for hours. We never had a problem getting one each even later in the day.
I was happy with the staff, although they were not memorable for any reason they just did their jobs and I felt did them well.
We will return to this resort & possible the same hotel as it is ideally placed for transort/ beach/and numerous bars & restaurants. If you need unbiased info regarding nice places to visit and places to eat, visit Chesters Bar opposite the 5* Hotel Aleysa, where Roger is more than happy to oblige, we found him really helpful and enjoyed a couple of drinks there each day.

Room Tip: prob opt for a sea view next visit as they may be quieter than the ones near to the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in June, the staff were very friendly and the food was ok nothing special but the room they gave me was terrible.
It was on the seventh floor next to the lift so all I could hear all the time was the lift going up and down.when I went out to the balcony which was at the back of the building and sat down all I could see was the wall there was no view until I stood up and walked to the end bent over and then I could see the sea.
I will never book again with the company I booked it with.I couldn't wait to move on to the Sahara sunset in Benalmadena where I stayed for a week.
Whatch out if you travelling on your own and going to this hotel as they give you the worst rooms,and they won't change my room.

Room Tip: Only get a front view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monaco2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent a week in the Villasol in May 2012. We flew into Malaga airport and got the Renfe from the airport to Benalmadena, we then took a taxi to the sea front as it is a steep hill down from the town centre. The hotel itself is situated on the promenade, so the beach is very easily accessible, via steps or a steep hill, so you have to be reasonably fit to get up and down in the Spanish heat. We played about £50 extra for a sea view, which we felt was worth it. There is WIFI but only in the public areas around the reception area and not in the rooms. We stayed bed and breakfast, the breakfast was a combination of english and continental with the usual, bread, croissants, yoghurts as well as sausages, bacon, eggs etc. It was served until 10.30 am so there was no rush to be up early. The beach itself is lovely and clean and was reasonably quiet when we were there. There is also some grassy areas, surrounded by trees if you prefer shade. There are lots of restaurants and cafes along the promenade. The harbour is about 10 minutes slow walk away, this is full of bars, cafes and restuarants, you pay a little more but the location is stunning overlooking the boats and luxury apartments in the marina. A short walk from the hotel is Parque La Paloma which is a huge park with a lake and many tame animals, there are also cafes if you just want to relax, if you feel more strenuous you can hire all manner of bikes to ride around the park. Mijas is also worth a visit. You can get a bus from outside of the hotel, the bus the day we went was extremely crowded and we had to stand for a lot of the journey. However, once there the panoramic views were amazing. We found a lovely tapas bar called Oscars which had the panoramic views of the Costa Del Sol coastline. All in all a good hotel in a good location if you are looking for a week on the beach with plenty of places to eat and drink. The hotel, whilst good, was your typical family holiday resort hotel.

Room Tip: Worth paying the small additional charge for a sea front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel itself is lovely and the staff were exceptionally helpful. (for example, extra pillows almost instantly delivered.) The decor was fresh, everywhere was clean and the furnishings comfortable, especially the beds. We had a sea view at no extra cost, with sun on the balcony until 7pm. The food, was as good as we've had anywhere in Spain in 3* and a lot more choice than we've had in some other places. Breakfast had the usual juices, cereals, breads, cold meats etc, plus at least 8 hot options, which, granted, varied little over the course of the week, but everything was well cooked (even the fried eggs were perfect!). Dinner likewise had something to please most palates, although vegetarian option on display seemed to be pasta of one sort or another, As this hotel is mainly used by Spanish groups this may not be an issue for them. The food was rarely piping hot, but this is normal in the Spanish hotels I have visited and there was a microwave available.
My main cause for concern, however, was that not only was the access into/out of the hotel via one of two tarmac, quite awkwardly cambered, ramps (one of which was particularly slippery), the swimming pool was down a long flight of steps, and there were no toilet facilities at pool-level. Similarly, although the hotel is advertised as 50m from the promenade, this distance was almost vertical - with 70 steps to negotiate. True, there is an easier route by walking 100-150m in either direction and joining the promenade further along, but the pavements are slightly uneven marble flagstones, and some of the entrances into properties off the main road had quite awkward kerbs. For this reason I would suggest that those with walking difficulties, and certainly wheelchair users, should steer clear, not only of this hotel, but any of the hotels along this stretch of the coast. For those for whom this is not an issue, I would recommend the hotel, provided you are happy to be outnumbered about 3 or 4:1 by Spanish holidaymakers (ours consisted of around 50 young footballers in town for a tournament for one night and then a couple of coach parties of pensioners). It did mean that the public areas were taken over in the evenings, but there are local pubs nearby where the non-Spanish holidaymakers seemed to congregate.

Room Tip: For afternoon/evening sun, ask for a room facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Annelivi,

Thank you for sending your feedback on yor recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol in Benalmadena Costa.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your holiday and that you found the hotel comfortable and friendly. Our staff makes an effort to provide our customers with the best service, identify customer's specific problems, challenges and visions in order to meet the expectations.

Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations, Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just got back from Villasol
Positives
Hotel is clean
Towels changed everyday if you left them on the bathroom floor

Negatives
Hotel position is a nightmare, it is at the side of a busy dual carriage way, our 1st room we were given was on floor 3 roadside, after asking for a room change the only 1 the hotel could give us was same position, but higher floor, which was a little better, we wanted sea view, but none were available, so would advise, when booking this hotel, book seaview, or don't go, as the double glazing is not good, and you can hear traffic noise all night long.

Be careful crossing this busy road, even though there is traffic light's it's still horrendous to cross!!!

Bathrooms need updating

Food is 2 star rating

The hotel was dominated by elderly spanish couples, also there were young spanish boys there for a football tournamant, so everything in the hotel, was realated to them, even the nightly entertainment.

Also we had a late flight, and hotel didn't have a late room we could use to shower and change before we left.

Staff only had an hello for the spanish visitor's, also in the dining room, the waiter's segregrated, English visitor's from the Spanish, by putting us all down the side of the dining room, whilst the Spanish visitor's were all in the middle.

Room Tip: Seaview room a must, to get away from dual carriage road noise, if you want a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Juke18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medplaya, Guest Relations at Hotel Villasol, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear Juke 18,

Thank you for taking the time to send a feedback on your recent stay at the Medplaya Hotel Villasol. We are sorry to hear there were some aspects of your holiday you did not entirely enjoy. Our staff strives to provide the best service to all our customers as our main priority is customer satisfaction.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Vanda Lehnerova
Guest Relations Costa del Sol
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
860 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,976 reviews
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villasol

Address: Avenida Antonio Machado 43, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villasol 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villasol Hotel Benalmadena
Hotel Villasol Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing