We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Disappointing holiday"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I will keep this short and to the point.

Rooms - Clean, tidy & serviced everyday, the chambermaids were polite & very curtious .But If you don't like firm matresses then stay away.

Dining - Food was ok, no more than that. Dining staff were pretty much hit and miss, some would ask if you were finished with your plate before removing it from the table but others would just remove without even glancing in your direction.

Bar area - Dated, dark & not the most pleasant of places that had a slightly strange smell coming from it. Bar staff were very robotic and at times pretty rude.

Entertainment - Childrens entertainment was on from 9:45pm every night (allegedly), can't really comment any further because, even although we booked all inclusive, we couldn't get out of the place quick enough after dinner every night.

Pool area - This was the first week of the Spanish holidays, and with the pool area not being anywhere near large enough for a hotel of it's size, the place was overcrowded and not a place for relaxing in. Our days were also spent away from the hotel.

This was a disappointing stay for us and I am just grateful that we only booked one week instead of two. We booked this holiday through Barrhead travel so for them to put a couple in their mid fifties into a hotel that was 80% full of Spaniards, with the majority of them having young families beggers belief!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director Hotel at Hotel Best Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Sr. Robinson,

Queremos agradecerle el tiempo que ha dedicado a compartir su experiencia en nuestro establecimiento porque nos brinda la oportunidad de mejorar día a día en nuestros servicios. Sentimos mucho no haber podido cumplir con sus expectativas durante las vacaciones, este periodo del año coincide con las vacaciones escolares por lo que se alojan muchas familias para disfrutar de un entorno familiar y acogedor.
Por otro lado nos alegra saber que las habitaciones y su limpieza eran de su agrado al igual que la comida en nuestro restaurante.
Quedamos a su entera disposición.
Saludos cordiales”

Saludos cordiales


Gonzalo Adame
Director
Best Benalmádena****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Best Benalmadena
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just back from a week in this hotel ,The hotel was very clean and the food was plentiful and not to bad at all some thing for everyone .The hotel really does cater for mainly the Spanish ,
However I have never came across bar staff as rude as these people ,if they did come to serve you they pointed at you ,grunted and brought you something not always what you asked for ,the house keeping could not have been better ,rooms done every day with a smile .The room was fab a full sea view ,

Room Tip: room1006 great view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlasgowBigron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BESTHOTELS2013, Director hotel at Hotel Best Benalmadena, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013
Google Translation

“Estimado cliente,

Muchas gracias por publicar su comentario, nos alegra ver que ha destacado positivamente muchos aspectos de nuestro Hotel como el restaurante, limpieza, tamaño y vistas de las habitaciones. Referente a su malestar con el personal del bar, le informo que les hemos transmitido su malestar y tomado las medidas necesarias para que no vuelva a suceder, seguro que su comentario nos ayuda a eso, ruego sepa disculparnos.

Saludos cordiales”


Saludos cordiales


Gonzalo Adame
Director
Best Benalmádena****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed twice in this hotel and have not been disappointed on both occasions. The last stay was April past. We had a great room overlooking the sea and the pool. It was cleaned everyday and the the staff we found to be very pleasant. We had a couple of minor problems which were sorted out very quickly. The rooms are large and the bathroom is also a great size. There is a small fridge, which is very useful for keeping water and beer etc. The only negative point is the lack of english channels on the TV, but we could live with that, as we were not there to watch tv 24/7.

The food we found to be very good, a good variety, and there is always enough to do you. (some you like, some you don't)

We got the 128 bus from the Airport, which dropped us just across from the hotel. And we did the return journey from the stop, just outside the hotel, a very cheap and convenient alternative to taxis.

The hotel is just a few minutes walk to bars and restaurants, if you are not half board or all inclusive. There is also a good supermarket just across the road as well as a few eating places.

The free WI FI in the lobby is great, and the grounds of the hotel, swimming pool and garden are very well kept.

We have visited this area of Benalmadena many times over a number of years, and although some people find this hotel a bit out of the centre of things, we like the peace and quiet, so probably would not suit the younger generation. Although we don't class ourselves as oldies!!!

As I have said the staff were very nice, if you treat them well, they will treat you well. Manners cost nothing.

Room Tip: A high floor room is good to avoid traffic noise
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mounty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have never wrote a review before...GOOD Hotel/Food/Staff/Clean/ ....VERY remote though and no Mod Cons ie Sky TV. Currency Exchange and a hell of a walk to ameneties . only One bar that serves everything excluding the restauraunt... LACK OF ATMOSTPHERE :p SORRY!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We do not normally write reviews but thought this hotel deserved some good publicity We have today returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel on all inclusive basis.This hotel in our opinion was excellent, Very clean and maids were fantastic and very polite at all times. The food was great, Lots of choice for everybody and endless supply of soft drinks,Alcohol and snacks There were plenty of sun loungers for everybody but better going out sharp in morning if you want one away from poolside. The bedrooms are first class with two double beds in each room. We travelled as two couples and had no complaints about hotel. If we were to say anything that would have improved our stay it would have been to have more English speaking channels other than World news on the television in the rooms and that in foyer of hotel have a board with weather for next few days etc. Entertainment was average but did not go on holiday for hotel entertainment. For value for money this was very good we travelled with Low cost Holidays with Jet2.com flights from Glasgow

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pedr01961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel in my opinion was wonderful! Very clean- maids were fantastic and very polite at all times. The food was great! Lots of choice for everybody (i am quite surprised at peoples comments about it not being nIce! Maybe they are being far to picky!) There were plenty of sun loungers for everybody and the pool was checked every morning and always looking beautifully clean. The drinks were named brands and the measures were VERY generous ;-) Fabulous rooms. I was on the 11th floor and had the view of the sea on my left and the beautiful village on the right. It was stunning especially at night when lit up. There wasnt much entertainment but that didn't bother us (we made our own!!!) Location is quiet but that was fine with me, I wasn't looking to go clubbing even though I'm only 29 or a "Disco" . If you did want to venture out the marina is approx 40 min walk or 15mins on bus (which is right outside the hotel). Overall i had a great time and i know i will be returning because i enjoyed it so much. We loved our barmen as they were so pleasant and respectful. Gracias- Francisco and Christobal (our favorite bar men). I had a wonderful time with very special people.... :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Danni_2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Was at this hotel over May Day holidays which a lot of hotels guests were Spanish, Dutch and German not a lot of British people. But lovely hotel we went with Jet 2 holidays so there was no welcome meeting and Rep was only there a few hours in a morning. We found it to be out from the hub of noise. But the bus stop was right outside the hotel and it was €3 euros to go down to the Marina. Sea-life was a shock as it was €32 for 2adults so god help them with kids. Not really worth that amount of money as apart from the otters, sharks. We went as a couple in our 50's. found food was more varied an plentiful when the Spanish people arrived on masse. Earplugs are a must as walls thin and ALL could be heard (embarrassing ) Also air con is not put on till June so while it was in the 30c temp they would not change to cold air remained on hot air for the older people.

Room Tip: Level 12 is classed as the attic but verandas are large and has a brill sea view an got sun all day...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pat_anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.8 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,921 reviews
1.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Benalmadena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Benalmadena

Address: Avenida del Sol, s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
#11 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Benalmadena 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly at Benalmádena Coast, facing the sea and just a few minutes walk from the golf courses around the area. Comfortable rooms with sea view balconies, fully fitted bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV, security door lock, fridge, heating, air conditioning, internet and optional safe-deposit box. Buffet restaurant with show cooking, national and international cuisine. Swimming pool for adults and children, outdoor jacuzzi, garden and gym. Day and night entertainment program. Optional services: Parking, Spa, massages,hairdresser’s beauty salon, gift shop and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Best Benalmadena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benalmadena Best Hotel
Hotel Best Benalmadena Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing