We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off and a waste of time”
Review of Boal's Ice Bar

Boal's Ice Bar
Ranked #52 of 76 Nightlife in Benalmadena
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Icebar Benalmadena, where everything is made of ice, THE WALLS, THE SEATS, THE BAR, THE SCULPTURES AND EVEN THE GLASSES. Chill out, day or night in the coolest place in Spain!!!
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

e went into the ice bar 2 adults and 2 teenagers and was told for 20€ we would get a drink each and a photo. We paid to go in then was asked 5€ each for each drink which was two beer in a small paper cup and two cokes. We argued we was told we had a drink each and after a debate was reluctantly given one each. Then a nasty women came in with a camera wanting 5€ for the photo which we never got.
In all a rip off in what can only be described as a small walk in freezer very disappointing :-(

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Propietario at Boal's Ice Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

My name is Ana, and me and my husband like the owners of Boals Icebar want to thank you for your visit and as well apologize for the inconvenience.
The entrance per adult its 10 euros including 2 alcoholic drinks. For teenagers the price its 10 euros with alcohol free milshakes/ or alcohol free cocktails even alcohol free beer. Under 4-5 years old children can go for free. After saying this i want to say that has been a mistake and a miss understood about your admision fees.
We are very sorry about the 5 euros pictures, sometimes the staff doesnt deal correct with situations, thats why its important for us your feedback. In our icebar, we dependent on every single employee to act capable and obliging as well passing on problems and information.Its impossible to react on issues when the information chain is impeded.
We really hope you will give us a second chance.
sincerely Ana and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"plastic glasses"
in 2 reviews
"free drinks"
in 6 reviews
"lovely drinks"
in 2 reviews
"cocktails"
in 71 reviews
"ponchos"
in 11 reviews
"winebar"
in 8 reviews
"photos"
in 15 reviews
"wonky"
in 7 reviews
"fury"
in 3 reviews
"euros"
in 24 reviews
"shisha"
in 3 reviews
Filter

133 - 137 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

If you want to try something different, then visit this bar. Fantastic value for money, 10 euros per person but that price gets you two cocktails and a shot plus entry. Staff are very friendly and polite. The bar is quite small but as it;s so cold you literally have a few photos drink your cocktail/s then move on to the bar outside. Lots of fun, defa good laugh and place to visit!

Thank xGLGx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Propietario at Boal's Ice Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for your comments and for your good review about Boals IceBar....
Glad that you enjoyed and as well glad because you undestood the concept and have fun with it.
Its a great value for money and as well the thermal ponchos are included. Its something different!!
Happy as well to know that our staff was enjoying with you undestanding the climate situation.. -14 degrees !!!
As well i would like to say that if you are looking for your holiday pictures this is the place!!
I really appreciate your fabulous review
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we went to the ice bar ,10 euro admission which includes a shot and 2 cocktails ,small but very different enjoyed the expierence

Thank Ang181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Propietario at Boal's Ice Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Boals Icebar offers a unique bar experience in one of Benalmadena´s most exotic venues.
Our IceBar has a warm terraces and disco and a cold section zub-cero, . Visits to the cold part of Boals Icebar start on the hour during the bar's opening times. Entry is recommended for 45 minutes and includes 2 drinks and a shot and an arctic poncho to keep you warm.
Events Boals IceBar can offer everything from simple get-togethers with drinks to parties , birthdays, bachelors...etc
Any way thanks very much for your good review....
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We paid €10 each to go in and we got 2 cocktails and a shot and entry for that €10 very good price, we didnt stay in the ice bar long as my daughter was 2 cold but we got one drink and our pictures and sat down in the other bar then for the other drink, it is a child friendly place, we went at a quiet time, they gave my daughter 2 fur coats going in, a small toy and a soft drink for free, really friendly staff

Thank Healy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Propietario at Boal's Ice Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

In Boals Icebar, just about everything is made of ice – tables, chairs, walls, the bar and even the glasses. The establishments are typically kept at - 12°C to ensure nothing melts. The bars are hermetically sealed to keep the temperature where it needs to be. Guests are given thermal ponchos (gloves /hats /socks if you requered) before entering. We recommended length to stay in an ice bar is about 40 minutes.

Although we are located where it is naturally hot, Boals Icebar is not a seasonal bar...thats why when outside the temperature is 30/ 35 degrees.....inside of our sub-zero is -12 degrees !!!!

Are you looking to keep cool this summer ???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

went here on our last day. lovely finish to a great week in a fabulous town. the staff were excellent and although you pay 10 euro you get 2 cocktails and a shot for your money so how bad. the ice bar itself is great fun with the ponchos and the bears but watching your hand shake while pouring the drink and the staff trying to smile was priceless.

Thank walter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Propietario at Boal's Ice Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thanks for your good review!! We are happy to know that our Icebar makes you have a great time.Makes our job better knowing the people enjoy our experiencie.
The cold temperatures in Boas IceBar -12 aren’t trivial, and after about twenty or thirty minutes you do get quite cold. A lot of visitors can not imagine spending more than an hour inside this bar. An important phenomenon to be aware of is that the effect of the alcohol consumed in our Icebar gets amplified because the temperature.Our bar staff commen that they often see people who have been drinking inside literally hit the deck when they go outside. The ICE environment also tends to bring out the bravado in people, and on a busy Saturday night it’s not completely uncommon to see someone take off the poncho to show they can brave the cold.
Remaind as well that we have outsides terraces for our customer more afraid to the cold!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boal's Ice Bar also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Boal's Ice Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing