We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Angel is the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Cordero

El Cordero
Ranked #147 of 682 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Angel is the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Been coming here for approx 20 years, and everytime we visit the owner Angel is so lovely and helpful. He remembers everyone and always makes you feel special. The paella is lovely but make sure you pre book it with Angel. Set menu is approx 11 euros (starter, main, desert and drink) so its unbelievably good value for money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyboo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    16
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo de la Miel, Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a Spanish restaurant we loving visiting time and time again, and we are welcomed by Angel, the owner as family, and this warmth has been passed on to his great staff too. The restaurant is on Bonanza Square, and it gets a lot of repeat custom, so that in itself tells newcomers a lot. The menu of the day, priced at €11 per person changes daily, and the restaurant is open six days a week. The staff are very accommodating and if anyone has special dietary needs they are willing to help. Reservations are recommended at busy times to make sure you are not disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A firm favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant for many years, for a good value meal of the day it is very good, the standard is high and the service friendly. Angel knows virtually all his customers because they are regulars, you only have to observe the way he greets people on arrival, it is like being greeted by an old friend. This is the only place I go to for a meal of the day in this area, he is head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Angel - The Host with the Most!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Located in Bonanza Square, Benalmadena, this family run, well-established restaurant has a faithful following. Angel, the owner, recognises and greets warmly his customers who return again and again. I say this because I have witnessed this many times. Over the last eight years that I have been frequenting this restaurant the price has not varied for the Menu of the Day - 11 euros per head which comprises choice of starters, bread roll and butter, main course, dessert and a half bottle of wine per person. Of course there is an a la carte menu as well. This is a Spanish owned and run restaurant and Angel speaks fluent English and cannot be more helpful. He's an absolute darling and everyone loves him. It is a very nice place to visit and is always well patronised. It is certainly value for money and the atmosphere is one of warmth and comfort. I recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Yerma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clacton on sea
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great value, excellent friendly service and freshly cooked food. The menu of the day for 11 euros gives a choice of four starters, five mains, four desserts, half a bottle of wine (or soft drink) each and a hot fresh roll. It is nice to find a restaurant in Spain which has a different menu of the day every day although we had to go back three times in a fortnight to make sure we sampled as many of the delicious dishes as possible! Each time Angel had to turn people away as the place filled very quickly. We made a booking for our last night there to make sure we got a table.
If you have mobility problems catch the 121 ( or any Mijas bus) up the hill and get off just pass Bonanza Square. That way it is all down hill to the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabella37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cordero also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Cordero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing