We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in April with my husband. We were given a room with a view out the back which was a bit disappointing but we did get a great deal so can't really complain about that. Room was spacious. Pool area was nice and there were always plenty of sunbeds. The hotel is up a big steep hill so you should bear this in mind if you have any mobility issues. Hotel has its own bar which we always visited for a nightcap after being in town and were so surprised to find it was really busy every night with entertainment. A nice surprise for so early in the season! It's a good 30 min walk to the marina but a nice walk. About €8 in a taxi which we thought was expensive enough for a 5 min journey. Would def stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank XxxIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    906
    270
    79
    52
See reviews for
1,403
569
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here with family (2 adults & 2 kids 11 & 7) in a one bedroom apartment self catering

Overall impression was that the hotel was very good indeed - new towels every day, linen changed once during the week, mopped/cleaned twice but always felt clean.

We had a sea view/pool room view on 4th floor which was great as away from the 1st floor entertainment noise at night !!

Self catering facilities very basic; microwave & a 2 ring hob with kettle, toaster & fridge so don't expect to be a culinary master in there !! We tended to just have breakfast in the room so didnt particularly matter

The hill.....yes, ok it's steeper than you'd like but really not a major issue here but a little tip is to get to the car park which is half way up and press the buzzer; you then walk through the car park and get the lift up from there !

Supermarket literally 5 minute walk done one path; yes OK on a slight incline and you needed your card to get through but nontheless easy enough. Supermarket was more of a larger convenience store but had everything you'd want with plenty of beers/wines/basic foods

Food at the pool was nice although a bit expensive but then again you are paying for convenience of not having to walk anywhere. Service was good too but drinks a teeny bit expensive (€3.10 for a larger beer) but during happy hours good value. Tip; they will ask you if your beer is for the pool; if you say yes you get a 400ml plastic glass but if you say no you get the full pint !!!

We went out a couple of times for lunch just down the road to Coco's where the portions are big and very nice so well worth going there, especially if you're a football fan as there is live football on all the time

Ate out every night, sometimes walking 15mins down to around where McD's is with a few nice restaurants especially the Italian and then down to the Marina a few times (approx €8 taxi) where there are a bit more upper class of restaurant

Kids entertainment very good - didnt use the kids club so can't comment but daily activities around the pool were good fun and no hassling if you didn't want to take part

Overall, very enjoyable holiday - would definitely go back !

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent 10 nights all inclusive, a family of four (11 year old boy, 5 year old girl).

The hotel is not exclusively all inclusive and some menu items are restricted for AI guests (Why couldn't I have the sticky ribs at the snack bar?! Why couldn't I have milkshake and slushes for the kids?)- be warned they are on display and your kids WILL want them. They will also want the 3 euros plus ice-creams as the small "baby" tubs you do get on AI just don't cut it with 11 year old boys and there are no ice lollies on AI at all). Also, the vivid wrist bands do not grant you service at the bar when pitted against someone with a 20 Euro note on display.

What stood out for us was the miniclub facilities and staff. Both were excellent- A big thank-you to Sandra, Ana, Laura, Nadia,Tadeo and of course Beny the mascot Tiger for making our daughter's holiday really special- the opportunity to make friends from different countries was an excellent aspect of the holiday for us. The pool was dutifully overseen by lifeguards and was safe for children. The inflatable fun and foam party were great for both kids. Our son really enjoyed the shooting and archery too (alternate days).

The best money I spent was on a one hour massage at 35 Euros; well worth every cent, wished I'd gone earlier and had more!

My reservations would be: if I had booked self catering the room size and facilities were not condusive to this for more than two people, we were squeezed as it was. There was a lack of storage for clothes and general nick nacks which would have made anything but sleeping and showering in the room difficult. Also, if I'd booked self catering I would resent not being allowed to consume my own food and drink by the pool. At 3.20 Euros for a soft drink, it would be a pricey self catering holiday. Also, please feel free to buy inflatable rings and animals but do not invest in an airbed/lilo as you will not be allowed to use it in the pool (although this isn't mentioned on the pool rules).

There is a supermarket close by but the hill is steep so do make use of the hotel minibus which can take you so far into town and pick you up by arrangement.

Room Tip: Our room faced out to see and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Got home today after spending 10 nights all inclusive with wife and 7 year old son. Fantastic holiday. The main thing that stands out is the staff. Everybody helpful and can't do enough to help. We asked for a sea view and got it at no extra charge. Even though we were All Inclusive the room had a fridge, toaster, kettle and hob if you did want to make anything yourself. When you first check in they ask for your credit card details. There is a €40 deposit to pay for the room and a €10 deposit for your towels. providing you don't destroy the room and return the towels, nothing is charged. The pool towels can be exchanged every day from reception so no need to pack your own. There is also and iron and ironing board and a hair drier so save on your baggage allowance and don't take these. Not everybody is on an all inclusive basis so some things are not part of the all inclusive package IE Slush drinks €1.95, cocktails (although they do have a cocktail of the day free so ask which one it is - changes daily) and some meals in snack bar. The local beer is San Miguel so this is all inclusive served in pint glasses (if not by the pool, then plastic). The animation team are great and a big shout out to SANDRA. She was fantastic and always went out of her way to make you feel at ease and part of the fun. Our 7 year old loved the Benny club, always plenty to do. The bar staff and waitresses were always friendly and polite (thank you OLGA). The hill is mentioned a lot and it is steep, my 7 year old loved running up it. If you don't fancy it, the hotel actually provide a free shuttle bus to take you into Benalmadena and bring you back. You can also walk half way up the hill and get access via the car park. The place is spotless, rooms cleaned daily and sweets left for our son. There is entertainment every night, Bingo, magic show, singers, dancers, karaoke, mini disco, reptile and bird show. The pool also has a bouncy slide pool party on Saturday and a foam party on Thursday is outstanding. I could go on but all you need to know is you won't go wrong if you book this hotel. THANK YOU

Room Tip: We were in room 212 at the back with a sea view. Nice and quiet. Sunny in the morning before going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BurscoughGrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here during July 2013, and booked six months in advance requesting two rooms next door to each other. this it turned out was not possible for the hotel to organise, despite the initial request upon booking and that I got a Spanish friend to call them (and hotel confirmed it was ok) 5 days before we arrived to check. Any how, not the end of the world.

Upon going to the pool on the first day the sun beds were packed in like sardines. No room to walk between many of them and all 'reserved' despite most not being used. pool and the surrounding area is far too small for a hotel this size, but probably ok for low season. we tried a couple more times at the pool during the week and only found it was a 'bearable' experience after 5.30pm. Other times we went to the beach. sunbed hire on beach very cheap (9 euro for two all day).

The Hill mentioned in many reviews is steep, but only short, so not as bad as many say. most nights I raced the kids up the hill, and it became a competition. Taxis from town/ Las Palmeras are cheap anyhow so could always get a taxi if you cant be bothered (5 euro)

Overall, the hotel is a typical holiday 4*...not an actual 4*
(I stay in 50+ international hotels each year for work, and this is NOT 4* standard).
However, its not terrible, and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Studios (in the roof) are big enough for 2 adults or possibly 2 adults plus 1 child. not big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hi me,my husband and 9yr old daughter have just arrived back from a 9 night stay at the hotel. We had a lovely time, especially my daughter who got to have a foam party in the pool(1 per week) and a bouncy slide in the pool(1 per week) the outdoor and indoor pools are excellent and very clean. With life guards at both pools. There's a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room indoors(free for anyone to use) the daytime entertainment is very good. The lead entertainer at night is funny, but the shows are a bit repetative. My daughter really enjoyed the karaoke that started at 11pm. The drinks can be quite expensive but look out for the happy hours. 1 in the afternoon and 1 between 9pm and 10pm. The beach is only 5mins away, but is very shingly. If you walk another 10 mins along the coast the stones are a lot easier to walk on. There's loads of different water sports. My husband did jet skiing, which was €45 for 20 mins. We would definately go back to this hotel x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed Aug 13 with partner and two kids - WOW ! Simply a fantastic stay. We had a one bed appt, all spotless with good daily cleaning. Two pools, well maintained with plenty of sun loungers to go round, and, important to note that the lifeguards were meticulous in watching over everyone - especially the kids, allowing parents to relax. Kids club was real quality. The kids were looked after in a safe and secure environment where they couldn't just wander in and out without being monitored or parents being notified. A distinct impression that these guys cared about giving a quality stay. Food was good and plentiful . . . Advance menu allowing you to plan if you were eating out. Nighttime entertainment was good though its impossible in any hotel to avoid the photo selling animal shows. In summary, I'd stay at this hotel again quite happily! A really good quality 4 star place !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
2.7 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Property: Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing