We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really should be described as a family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went from 8th April to 15th April, as a 4 star, all inclusive for a mature couple. Was disappointed to find most clients where families with young children, meaning indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and evening entertainment was geared up and overrun with children.
Hotel room, food and staff where all excellent, rooms have ITV and BBC channels. But all inclusive drinks where not suitably organised, ie in the evening could only have all inclusive drinks in the main bar and not in the cocktail bar (which was away from noisy marauding children) Also the all inclusive wine was terrible, not good for a huge wine producing country like Spain, however we did complain and the management allowed us a better wine with our meals free of charge.
If it wasn't for the above problems, we would have rated this as a 4 star hotel.
Don't recommend all inclusive, room with breakfast or half board is probably best, as there is a Maxi Dia super market just outside of the rear of hotel and a number of small restaurant / bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4 floor, room 407, with views to the mountains, which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roylps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel has everything and more ....outdoor pool ,small outdoor, pool indoor pool,with life guards ,steam room ,sauna, football pitch ,volleyball ,table tennis ,mini golf ,play area ,all with security cameras throughout and security patroling..free .wifi throughout the hotel, arcade/games room ,small cinema room ,mini club room with Nintendo wii ,activity programme through day beach/pool towels ,iron ,ironboard ,hair dryer tv,,toaster microwave ,kettle, 2 ring hob ,fridge seperate bedroom ,balcony....all this is FREE with no extra charge ,no matter if u are self catering half, full or all inclusive...(beech towels is a 10 euro returnable deposit they change your towels daily and you get refund at end of your stay)...the rooms are clean and modern staff helpful and friendly
Night time entertainment is mini disco bingo and singer pArot show etc. ... Just what you expect there is football on tv in bar every night and you can also use snack bar if you want a quiet night
Happy hour in the afternoon and night 2 for 1 on drinks
There is a bit of a hill but it really isn't that bad u can cut the steepest part out by going through the indoor car park.
My 66 yeAr old mum and friend managed it ok and she has had an operation on her leg last year.
All in all this hotel had everything I will be going back next year
We booked direct with hotel on website well worth a look

Room Tip: There are some attic studio rooms that are very tiny have a sloping roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelaK680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is my third time with my family at the Benalmadena Palace, and i can only say that it has got better every year.
The hotel is situated in an excellent area with nearby attractions that will entertain all. our party had an age range between 15 and 60 and there was something to do for everyone. some people might say that the hill leading to the hotel is a minor setback but dont be put of as there is a nearby bus stop and a back entrance leading out right next to a supermarket which is extremely cheap.
To make a holiday experience so memorable you need to be treated very nicely and that treatment is exactly what you get from this hotel as you will never meet nicer people. Tad the entertainer was a great laugh and made every evening fun. also the kids entertainer Sandra who is very good with kids!.
The facilities excellent. these include; a games room, sand football pitch, tennis court, mini golf, mini club, outdoor pool, indoor pool and table tennis.
Every meal that we experienced at the hotel was to a high quality as although it is a buffet it is clear that all the food was served fresh and well cooked.
This time we travelled with eight, two in each room, so we had four rooms. i feel that the rooms we were given suited three people as it has two single beds and a sofa bed. it was very comfortable.
Overall Our stay was to a high quality as entertainment, staff, food and the rooms were fantastic, also great for its price!!!!

Room Tip: try for a pool view or upper floor, but not needed to have a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack123Pep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We ranged in age from 9 to 70, and everyone had a great time, especially the kids. The guys at reception were fantastic and checked us in to great apartments. All staff throughout stay were polite and friendly. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. The only negative for us was the shower that would be ok one second, then freezing the next and boiling hot the next. The other 3 rooms within our group all had nice showers though. Lots going on all the time for kids. Football, table tennis, archery, play areas etc, and they loved the disco bar. If you haven't got kids or want a night away from them, then you probably better off clearing off from the hotel and heading to Coco's, just down the road. Indoor pool was great, and even though the outdoor was very cold, it regularly had people swimming in it and is a very good size. Maxi supermarket is right next to the hotel and offers fantastic bargains. 60 cents for an amazing warm fresh long loaf, 50 cents for 5 litre bottle of water and decent red wines for under a euro??? Hotel is on a steep bank for a short walk, but is still within easy walking distance to pubs, restaurants, Paloma Park, Tivoli world and pretty much anywhere in Benalmadena (it's not that big). The cable car lift up the mountain is a must do. Selwoo Park was excellent, as is the crazy golf just off the main road.

Room Tip: Be polite and courteous to staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimadooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great holiday - hotel excellent, especially if you have children. Variety of food good, facilities good and very clean, hotel staff friendly and very accommodating. Good size apartments and lots to do for children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had booked this hotel for a fun week with our 13 year old football team, travelling to play different spanish teams around the area in April 2013. There were 36 of us, each child with parent and some siblings.Most parents paid a lot of money to be there, and expected more.
We were given rooms all over the hotel and on different floors. From the first evening we were hounded by the management,Hector to be exact, asking us to watch our kids, and keep them under control. Most of them were with us in the restaurant and entertainment area and were no louder than other children there of the same age. The whole week was a cat and mouse episode for our children, with security watching them every minute they were there, making it extremely difficult for all to relax. Other visiting children were in the same void, with a family group from London being asked to be quiet at the poolside,OMG, its a holiday!. I cannot fault the hotel as it was clean and well looked after, and as I work in facilities, commented on the cleanliness.Entertainment was fair, but time for late night revellers was enforced. Food was good as was leisure facilities, if we were aloud time to use them without beady eyes. There is a very steep hill to the hotel, which we nicknamed "heart attack hill", after one of our kids with asthma had an episode whilst climbing it. All employees, male, look like Ronaldo, or maybe it was the same guy with different roles. Close to many external restaurants and bars, and the beach.Good for taxi and bus.
Would go again if they sort out this issue of hounding young people on holiday.
PS. Laughed when we left, as a party of 18 stag do boys arrived from UK, god help Hector

Room Tip: Go for the top floors overlooking the pool, as the views are better, and the sun gets you in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Footballdad_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Start with the best, the food was excellent, and evening meal worked out about five pounds each ! you can't get a burger outside for this.
Everything went like clock work,no hassle, no extra charges in sight, room serviced regular and expertly. Good sized apartments with large balcony,bathroom fine with two showers ?
Hidden gem and not really advertised is the"Towel Service" pay 10 Euros per towel and you get nice big beach towels which you can exchange every day and when you leave ,take your towels back and your money is fully refunded.
Location could be difficult for severely handicapped due to 100MT hill from main RD but there are several ways round this, including a private path directly from the large supermarket ( when you fetch your wine and beer for your fridge )
A very comfortable feel when you are here including BBC and ITV TV and free news papers ,will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Pay for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAYUTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
1.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,975 reviews
1.6 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace

Address: Camino de Gilabert s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#4 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: $57 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Spa Benalmadena Palace
Hotel Benalmadena Palace
Benalmadena Palace Hotel
Hotel Palace Benalmadena
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing