We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good at the Goya Hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kross Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kross Hotel Goya
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not good at the Goya Hotel”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Listed as a 3 star but I'm not sure who rated it because it is well below that. We stayed there the 1st week of August 2011.
Very basic and uncomfortable beds and you can hear everyone entering or wandering around the hotel. I have been to Benalmadena a few times before and it's a nice area neighbouring Torremalinos and I would return to the area but never that hotel. We thought we had a bargain but really wish we had paid a little more and got a better hotel.

On the plus side the local eateries are good and walking from this hotel to the seafront approx 50 metres away is a really great family bar where the drink measures seem to be double or even tripple anywhere else I think its called Heladria or something like that but has yellow fascia so easy to recognise. Also once you get to seafront and turn right about 150 metres on the right is the "happenny bridge" Irish bar where good beer is available. A short distance away is the harbour where there are also great eateries.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    16
    12
    43
See reviews for
28
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

my partner and i went to the goya october 2010. it is a very old hotel but very clean. loved the spanish staff, they could not speak any thing but spanish . lol. no entertainment apart from when the spanish came at the weekend. pool was fab cause every1 that went there left. we stayed and had a nice time there . food ok. im not fussy would not go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon_twigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

If i had found the reviews on this hotel i would not have booked- however I thought its probably not that bad and if the food is not great there is ususally plenty salad- How wrong i was. The food was terrible - not much choice and everything in gravy - also no signs to tell you what the food was and when we asked the waiter he never knew either!! bad sign - the salad consisted of one tray of green lettuce and one of tomatoe's that had seen better days. We are not fussy people but this hotel was awful - AI finished at 10pm when the entertainment started - a ploy to get you to buy drinks - however the entertainment was as bad as the food - only thing i could say in its favour was the rooms were cleaned everyday --- Do not go to this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathfindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Upon arrival at the Goya hotel it looked like a youth hostel from the outside with disquistingly mouldy wooden doors and windows.When we entered the reception it was much of the same with a green reception area which looked like someone had been sick all over it.We were told that our room wasnt ready for us so we just left our bags in the reception area and went for dinner.WELL..... we wernt expecting luxury food for the price we paid but the food was abousolutely horrible,the hard rolls were the same all week and never changed,chips were like pieces of plastic,plus all the food had flies on and was just repeated again the next lunch /dinner.Walking up to are room we found several cups and plates on the floor which obviously hadnt been cleaned up for a long time as the food was rather mouldy.When we entered the room it was like a prison cell ,we were ment to have a family room but it was more like a postage stamp.We did have free aircon but it rarely worked as it was on a timer.
The pool wasnt much better with old pool tiles floating around and several hundred dead flies.The entertainment was poor but he was tryig his best.During night you could sit outside on dirty plastic chairs in the pitch black as they seemed to be cutting back on lighting as many night there were no lights at all !!!!!The bar closes at 10 pm which is ridiculous because people start pilling thier table up at 9.30 with about 30 drinks..
There is about 10 staff in the whole hotel and they all do different jobs so you find yourselfs waiting for a drink at the bar for 15 minutes before anyone returns to serve you.
The hotel is in a horrible area with dog/cat mess everywere you go plus if you try to get down to the beach it is impossible because you have to cross a very busy road where no drivers stop to let you go..
Overall I would not reccomend this to annyone not even my worst friend and will certainly not be returning to the Goya in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazamcbaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked this holiday lastminute with a travel agent...Why the hell they recommened this hotel I will never know...it was more like a hostel. The place was full of Spanish locals who let their kids run riot at riduculous times of the morning and late at night. Even though we paid for a weeks all inclusive holiday we had to eat out as the food was totally disgusting, I've never seen anything like it. The room was dull and depressing, the aircon was on a timer so not always available when needed. There wasn't a cot for out 19 month old to sleep in just a single bed without a guard to stop him from falling out, there were no highchairs for him to sit in at mealtimes (we didn't eat there anyway but thats not the point). They stop serving all inclusive drinks at 10pm, you have to pay after that. We didn't witness any evening entertainment just the same music CD continuously playing over and over again. The local streets were covered in dog mess and smelt terrible in the heat...Don't waste your money by going there...I'm totally gutted that we did!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meesh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenshaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I booked this hotel through teletext holidays for a five day short break for my husband and I and it wasn't cheap. The hotel food was inedible and we ate out even though we were fully inclusive. There was food available all day, however it was left in luke warm servers and the children helped themselves without using utensils. Alcohol was local which was ok but limited and finished at 10pm. The pool was ok but there was a limited amount of sunbeds and no shade except for a few tables and chairs under a tree next to the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful, but the hotel was busy, rooms weren't cleaned properly and we were given dirty towels. It was very hot and the air conditioning unit was controlled for a central area and only worked for a couple of hours twice a day. We were glad to come home.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank den82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We arrived at 11pm. We ( 2 adults and 2 children) were 'all-inclusive' and asked where we could get something to eat and drink. We were told the 'all inclusive' was from 10am to 10pm so there was nothing to eat or drink that night. Food was very repetitive, but there was plenty of it. We were glad that we had insisted that our booking form was amended to show that we required 2 rooms otherwise we would have been placed in 1 room. This happened to many of the other guests - even when there were 4 adults. The staff were very friendly and tried their best. There was no atmosphere because there were so few guests. The hotel is old and certainly not a 3* standard

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank not_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.9 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#37 of 45 in Benalmadena
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardines del Gamonal
1.2 mi away
Nexus Benalmadena Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kross Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kross Hotel Goya

Property: Kross Hotel Goya
Address: Arrabal Cortijo Mena s/n, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Kross Hotel Goya Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing